We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve & Karen K”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A family wedding is what brought us to stay for four nights at the Colonial House Motel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our lovely hosts Andrea and Alan and found that they really made our stay exceptional being a party of 16 over the four nights we stayed. We loved the surroundings, the decks where we could sit to have a quiet drink and catch up or a gathering at one of the rooms for a barbee dinner. The young ones age 18 - 21 year olds appreciated the pool and spa due to the hot weather and cool evenings. Our rooms were very clean, and service every day and the beds were oh so comfortable. On a daily basis we were treated with homemade baked cookies, something which I really appreciated (especially the shortbeard). Therefore i have and will continue to let friends and family know that this is the place to stay while in Kerikeri. Thank you so much Andrea and Alan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you so much Steve and Karen!
You were really wonderful guests and we loved having you stay with us.
Maybe you would like to visit the beautiful Bay of Islands again and come and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

As a Sales Rep covering the North Island I see a Motel room or two with my job. Colonial House Motel is where I prefer to stay whenever I'm in Northland as the surroundings are simply idyllic. Sit on your own porch at sunset watching Fantails & Tui's swooping amongst the mix of native & tropical plants. The new pillows are IMHO amongst the best you'll find anywhere!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jangus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you Jangus_12 for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed for three nights and were a little dissapointed at the standard for what we paid per night. The room was adequate enough, with the beds being clean and comfortable but the shower stall and kitchen could have been a little cleaner. Sky TV was fine as long as you were prepared to pay for some channels. Overall just pretty average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Hi 1811027Gary, thank you so much for your comments, they were most helpful and constructive.
No, we are not your average motel – we are not the normal concrete block, tarmac and utilitarian furniture motel. We have wooden cabins set in lush subtropical gardens, extremely quiet and relaxing (you awake to birdsong), gravel driveways and not one piece of “conference / office” furniture to be seen!
We strive for cleanliness everywhere; we will endeavour and make every effort to do better.
Again we are not your average motel – we have a SKY decoder in each unit which offers our guests 50+ Channels of TV (including 6 Sports Channels, Disney, Discovery, History, National Geographic, Animal Planet, Heartland, Cartoon Network, UKTV, plus at least 36 other channels (the exact number varies by month)). Our guests cannot purchase any channels. We pay a premium amount each month for this SKY Guest Select package plus the SKY Sport package for each unit. How many other motels offer their guests this level of comfort, tranquility and facilities at 3 Star Plus prices? Not average!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We found our hosts exceptionally welcoming and friendly after a long drive. The atmosphere was immediatly relaxing and homely - in the best sense of the word! We enjoyed our stay immensely and found that there were pleasant details and good quality touches. The place was orderly and well kept and very peaceful at night. The service was of a rather higher standard than we had expected and we felt well looked after. We would definitely recommend this motel to friends and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here in November for one night to attend a function. We were advised by some locals after booking that it was run down. I assured friends that I had read reviews and we decided to stay here because of them. Upon entering the property we discovered it was a bit messy, plants over grown, gravel driveway etc. We found the reception area and were greeted by the owner (Alan?) We checked in which was a painfully slow process in a tiny little unkept room with mess everywhere, it really put me off. Eventually we were shown to our room which was a walk through the pool area through the gates all of which were in unkept condition, I was dreading seeing the room. The room itself was clean and the beds were comfortable. The lighting, mirrors and power sockets were hopeless in the bedrooms for getting ready for a night out, but we got there eventually. The second bedroom smelled strongly of mildew and effected sleep. The shower in the bathroom has a curtain and the water is supposed to drain into the floor but water goes EVERYWHERE and makes a huge mess, we had towels on the floor so as not to stand in puddles and it felt discusting under our feet, and no shelf to place makeup bags, shampoo etc. Overall, to be honest I would definately not stay here again, it just felt wrong.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Many thanks for your review.

Since our purchase of the motel we have continually been making upgrades. Clean, tidy and a good night’s sleep were our first priority for our guests. The units’ exteriors and patio balustrades have been repainted (your poolside cottage balustrade was not completed due to incessant rain for two weeks – it now looks wonderful!).

Yes indeed the gardens looked messy. We had been unable to tidy for many, many days because of the inclement weather and for this we apologise! We do not apologise however for the gravel driveway which is part of our country appeal and reminiscent of colonial times – a tarmac drive just wouldn’t be right here!

We offer our guests hospitality on check-in (normal, light or soya milk / homebaking or chocolates / beverages etc.) which does delay the process and can be extremely frustrating if one is in a hurry. We are also renovating the reception area and since your review have ensured that we clear away more assiduously. Sorry for that!

With regard to the wet room, it has been designed for disabled access and also the shower water pressure is extremely high (which most people love) but can cause great puddles if the showerhead is not directed downwards! Your comments regarding the lack of shelf space are spot on and we are trying to address this issue by getting identical shelving to match the existing décor.

The cabins are nestled amongst lush foliage and had you advised us that the second bedroom felt damp we would have immediately installed dehumidifiers to rectify this problem.

It is really a great pity that you stayed only one night and had to rush off to your function, otherwise you surely would have succumbed to the charm of nature, and to the quietness and tranquility of the well-established, beautiful subtropical surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.5 km away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.8 km away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
1.2 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
467 reviews
0.7 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
3.6 km away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kerikeri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kerikeri
#5 Family Hotel in Kerikeri
#5 Business Hotel in Kerikeri
Price Range: $121 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free unlimited WiFi. Netflix and 50+Digital channels. Super new quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool and lovely hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Motel Kerikeri, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing