We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveller rating
235
442
305
137
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
442
305
137
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areasea viewbeautiful locationbit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbaypaihiadeckwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Ok, it’s old. But what really is not acceptable is the mold in the bathroom, the only washbasin is located in the kitchen and non in the bathroom, the lock at the balcony door is broken, the whole room smells funny. This is NOT what I would call a 4 star standard.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mondelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Room 223. When we arrived we were given envelopes, but without room keys, so not a good start. The bathroom had old tiles and dirty grout, with tarnished and old fittings. It was too hot to sleep, due to lack of air con. Breakfast was just a typical hotel buffet, which could have been anywhere in the world. We were treated as second class guests as we were part of a tour group, made to sit at group tables for meals, and no mini bar in our rooms. We booked in advance a lift into town on the Hotel shuttle, and waited and waited some more, then they told us that they had forgotten to look in the book. A sea view is no substitute for poor service.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank iris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Very good hotel very well run apart from ensuring pool rules are adhered to. Having kids and an adult climbing the rocks and jumping and diving in did not help us have a relaxing enjoyable pool experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We booked 2 twin rooms. Upon check in we're told they only had double rooms. Big issue with this as we were travelling with a friend and his Mother. Result? They had to share a very small double bed.
The room we had (212) was very tired and dated. No aircon, chipped paintwork on the walls and the doors. Really grotty.
Copthorne, you really need to update this place. It's dreadful!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Doolally69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Really lovely hotel sitting next door to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds - really handy for when you want to visit the Museum and Treaty Grounds (recommended).
Great service from the hotel - a shuttle bus ferries clients to/fro the waterfront at Paihai where you'll need to be for all your trips out and around the bay.
Hotel grounds - beautiful, lawns wrap around the hotel and there's a lovely small stretch of beach. Hotel has its own lovely pool too.
Our double room on the ground floor was lovely - everyone has its own small outdoor terrace and we were facing East - enjoyed beautiful sunrises.
No air-con in the room - a ceiling fan and a standing fan had also been provided for us.
Small kitchenette area and bathroom - both OK, perfectly good for what we wanted/needed.
Safe deposit box - which is always welcomed by us.
Bar/restaurant; we attempted to sit outside for an evening meal but once the sunset we came under attack from bugs so retreated to the cooler bar area inside.
Food - we had roast lamb - was excellent, really lovely.
A very nice hotel for Paihai.... you can walk it into 'town' along the waterfront - quite a nice walk - about 30min slow stroll...very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews