We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$164
View deal
Booking.comUS$164
Hotels.comUS$164
PricelineUS$164
TravelocityUS$164
Agoda.comUS$164
Trip.comUS$174
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
227
55
13
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
227
55
13
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef's tasting shenandoah national park next morning small bottle of champagne washington suite skyline drive swift run gap crab cakes included breakfast wonderful stay bed was comfortable pairing charlottesville cottage fireplace hosts accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2022

We had a lovely stay at the Inn, and a remarkable dinner in the restaurant.
We enjoyed the 10-course Chef's Tasting Dinner, and we highly recommend it for an enjoyable evening. Don't feel as if you must eat every last morsel. The wine is paired with the dish. Simply enjoy.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank Peg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2022

I was responsible for organizing an annual dinner for an organization that I belong to. Dinner was for about 28 people and we chose the Lafayette Inn. Alan was a great help in making the entire process simple, straightforward and efficient. A real plus was the fact that the Inn has a number of rooms so several of the couples chose to book a room so they wouldn’t have to drive home through the mountains after dinner. I can’t speak specifically to the quality of the rooms but those couples that were staying seemed to be quite impressed and pleased. The dining room was set up beautifully, and everything was punctual and efficient. The staff was attentive and couldn’t have been better. Food was well-prepared and presented. Everything came off without a hitch. I would absolutely book here again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank F5294XHrobertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022
Google Translation

Our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

The owner and Chef, Alan, was very prompt with responding to our questions prior to our stay and very accommodating during our stay. We had a group of about 30 people for dinner and the service was outstanding. Our meals, both Saturday night and Sunday morning were quite delicious, and I highly recommend Lafayette Inn for meals and lodging. During warmer weather there is a wrap-around balcony that is perfect for relaxing late afternoon.
If you have never been to Standardsville, I recommend you tame the walking tour of historic building, which are numbered. A brief history is available on a smart phone by going to "Standardsville" and clicking hot link. The first building (Courthouse) on the first Historic site is behind the Lafayette Inn. Also, you should read about the building of the Shenandoah National Park, specifically about the displaced homes.

Room tip: Wilson Room access is a set of stairs that turns, so I would not recommend this room if you have difficulty walking. Nice views.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannylJ6470VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2022

We are delighted you had a wonderful visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2022

When we arrived at the Inn, we found a sign on the door that said dinners were only weekends and we arrived on a Tuesday. We stepped inside the foyer out of curiosity and were met with the innkeeper. He said he only had one couple staying at the Inn who had reserved a table so he could accommodate us if we'd like to stay. YES, please! Other choices were fast food, pizza, or Mexican and it was my 72nd birthday. First we had cocktails. My husband ordered the flank steak and I had the steak stack. Both delicious with a professional presentation. I had the crème Brule cheesecake, which was divine, and my husband had the pineapple upside down cake served warm. It was a cold night and the innkeeper lit the fireplace which was behind our table. We were very impressed with this excellent service since the innkeeper was server, bartender, and chef all alone. We were told he has a full staff on weekends, so if you're near the area, you'll want to sample the fine cuisine served there. We are grateful for being allowed to stay when the restaurant is normally closed on Tuesdays.

Room tip: We did not stay at this hotel.
Date of stay: March 2022
Thank NancyLee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2022

It was my pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2021 via mobile

The Inn was perfect. We stayed in The Wilson and it was a great size with perfect amount of privacy. The bed was comfortable, room clean, champagne was left in our room for us and everything that we needed to be comfortable for the night was there.

The breakfast the next morning was delicious! I had the omelette which was perfect and my husband the French toast. He is a big foodie and especially breakfast person …. His words “ by far the best French toast I have ever had”. He said he would go back again just for the food.
Needless to say, we had an overall great experience.

My only recommendation would be that the water needs to stay hotter longer as my husband used it all before I got to the shower. That or take a shower together.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank D9630GVsusannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

Thank you- We look forward to having you visit again. (Sounds like you have a solid plan for the shower BTW) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews