We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK sleep but customer service missing the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK sleep but customer service missing the mark”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here for a weekend.

Highs:
- Good location with amenities close by (but not if you were using the airport, which is quite a distance away).
- "Euro" mini-suite design with a semi-divided seating area with huge corner sofa.
- Free parking, unlike hotels closer to DC.
- Comfortable bed. Mini Fridge.
- Quiet.

Lows showed a lack of customer service caring:

- Free continental breakfast to 11:00 AM allegedly, but I got there Sunday at 10:30, and they'd already cleared everything away. Not nice.
- TV channels were set up wrong. "PBS" was actually the digital feed of PBS Kids. "Discovery Channel" was actually an automotive channel owned by Discovery Networks. Whoever set it up obviously didn't care, and neither did management, obviously. Very sparing selection of channels otherwise (not even the History Channel).
- Due to recent freezing rain, the parking lot was quite icy. They salted the walkway, but didn't bother with the driveway right in front?

Other issues:

- Internet was somewhat slow with weak wireless connections (though not terrible), and there is no wired option in the room.
- Impossible to keep an eye on the TV while working at the desk, as it is around the corner from the sleeping area; but since there's no wired connection, there was no reason to use it anyway.

Better choice in my opinion: Doubletree.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidStarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    108
    44
    21
    16
See reviews for
141
60
37
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Hyatt Place in Sterling gave us everything we wanted and needed with the standard amenities and a comfortable king-size bed. Two things stand out: the first is the unique floor plan. A divider wall separates the bed from the entrance area. In the entrance area is a comfortable wrap-around couch, a wet bar and granite counter, a work desk and a closet area with a large sweater drawer. The bathroom is immediately off the sleeping area. This junior suite arrangement allows a person to convene a group for coffee or for one of the couple to read on the couch while the other is in the darkened sleeping area asleep. What meant the most to me in the end, though, is that 15 minutes after I checked out I realized that I had left behind on the coffee table a folder of important papers. I called Matt at the front desk, who promised to run upstairs to "rescue" the folder before the maids cleaned the room and disposed of trash. The very good news is that the maids had recognized the importance of the folder and had put it aside for safe-keeping. Matt easily retrieved the folder, and shortly thereafter I picked it up from the front desk. So, thank you Matt and housekeeping staff for helping to end our stay on such a positive note. I will definitely return! The only reason I'm not rating the hotel "5" is that it is currently undergoing renovation, which very slightly inconvenienced us. Of course the renovation is good news for future travelers!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a floor that is already renovated or on which the renovation has not yet begun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Our second stay here - by choice. Comfortable bed, quiet room. We stayed on the top floor - #6 this time and could hear nothing below us. Decent continental breakfast included with cereal, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bagels, etc. from 7:30 - 9:30. Free shuttle to Dulles airport. Staff very accommodating. You can order some pre-prepared food and beverages 24/7 by the reception desk which is particularly nice even though this is not one of the high end Hyatts. When my husband had a glass of wine ($6.50), I asked for and got a 1/2 glass of wine and was not charged for it. A nice touch. A bowl of fresh apples is always available. The price for a double room (queen sized bed) was $66. plus tax. which seemed very reasonable for the outer D.C. area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The hotel is undergoing major renovation. If you want peace and quiet - stay away. Call ahead to see if they are done with the renovation. We stayed there for 5 days and the only days we had peace were on xmas and day after. The constant drilling and banging and dust and smell of paint, glue, latex was terrible. When I called to ask them about the drilling - the man at the front desk said, "you are more than welcome to leave." Oh wow! I cannot believe this is Hyatt. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I typically stay at the Lansdowne Resort when traveling to Virginia but it was booked as well as other hotels in the area. This was the only hotel available for my stay.

Things didn't start off well, I had a late flight and called the hotel to let them know I'd be late but to hold my room. When I got to the hotel my reservation had been cancelled as a 'no show'. After a very long flight that had been delayed this was not welcome news. Because they'd given away my original room, I was assigned a room in a construction floor. The hallway had plastic on the floors and it was obvious the room across from me was undergoing major work. Just seems to be my luck, always construction around me.

On the plus side the room was really big with a very large flat screen TV, I'd say in the 42" to 45" range. The room had a little wet bar with refigerator, sink and coffee maker. This would be great for anyone traveling with a larger party.

Another downside was the lack of room service. This is important for me when business traveling since I don't always like to eat out. They had some express 24 service but there wasn't any information in the room on how to use it, they referred you to the concierge who was always busy. I did order breakfast one morning and it was horrible. The scrambled eggs were overcooked and rubbery, the bacon was also rubbery like it was microwaved. I didn't eat here much. The continental breakfast looked ok with bagels, toast, fruit and yogurt.

I wouldn't stay here again if I had a choice, more of a 4 to 5 star hotel person.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
6.3 km away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.0 km away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
2.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Cir, Sterling, VA 20166-6507
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price range (per night): $125 - $294
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing