We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Closings, August 2014”
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 20 November 2014

It was the best of times at the Sea Gull Inn...it was the worst of times at the Cavalier Oceanfront. We chose the Cavalier hotel for the 2nd half of our 6-night VA Beach vacation based on a 3rd-night free special on a Virginia travel website. Although the Cavalier was higher-priced than our usual choices, the special put it within our budget. We did not know that the Cavalier Oceanfront was due to close, or that management was cutting corners. When we arrived, the cement & tile floor outside was stained and dirty, with an over-flowing trash container--a bad sign. We had to wait a long time, standing by the elevators, for a cart to become available to load our luggage--no Bellboy to help. The eighth-floor room was decently comfortable and clean enough. Although the mattresses were so soft on the sides that they were unstable and our son rolled right out of bed--something he hasn't done since he was little. But to step outside the room into the hot, humid, and stale, un-airconditioned hallway was to start sweating and choking for air. There was dust in the fingerprints in the dust on the glass console table. An employee had left a storage room door open and the room inside was absolutely filthy. Outside on the patio the planter's were over-flowing with cigarette butts and trash. The pool was filled with sand and was not cleaned at any time during our stay. There was no food available on-site anywhere after 2pm, when the lunch room closed. One could buy a very small, flat coke at the bar for a high price. There are snack vending machines in a dingy hallway off of the lobby. The gift shop was permanently closed, so no luck there, either. We had used the Valet parking service--a mistake. When we went down at 4:15pm to go out (with plans to meet friends at 5pm) the only Valet working was on half-hour break. Management had no idea where our car was. We split up and searched the two distant parking lots (the lot at the old hotel and the church parking lot) to find our car. All the mess and inconvenience contributed to a poor experience. We should have continued our stay at the Sea Gull Inn, which closed this September. Their website advertised the closing, but we didn't experience any cut corners at the Sea Gull. The restaurant and pool were running properly and keeping long hours. The owner, who owned the building from the 1960s, was often present on the property. Rooms and public areas were kept clean and comfortable. The Sea Gull was a motor-inn type motel, so one didn't expect the amenities of a hotel. Yet we enjoyed it immensely. Management had a good approach to closing, maintaining standards until the end. Congratulations to the Sea Gull Inn for going out in style. Shame on the Cavalier Oceanfront for not advertising they were closing and for not maintaining the premises.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2014

This hotel is now closed for at least 2 years while developers either renovate or rebuild it.. There is a liquidation sale going on for some of the contents of the Cavalier on the Hill and for this Cavalier hotel as of October 2014.

While walking around during the liquidation sale, they let anyone roam around the kitchen. It was filthy. The floor, the sinks, the mop water basin, etc. I also went onto the 8th floor where there was a janitor's closet open. That also was also filthy, even the walls. Considering these two places should be the cleanest in the building, I hope it was not like this when it was open.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank globaltrekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My family has stayed at the old Cavalier hotel twice, the first time was wonderful and we couldn't wait to come again, unfortunately the second time was a disappointing experience.

On our second visit, we had to change rooms twice, the first time because the air conditioner was broken and stuck on full blast - the room felt like a freezer and we were quite literally shivering under our blankets (mind you this is during the hot summer outside). Our second room had a leak in the closet that soaked the carpet. Third room, fortunately, was fine.

Its a short walk to the beach but unfortunately a long hike to the boardwalk. My family prefers the beach over the boardwalk (unlike me), so that was fine enough, but if you favor the boardwalk you'll want to choose another hotel.

One thing the Cavalier does best is the food - breakfast every morning was delicious. My family also love the steak dinner the hotel offers on special occasion - possibly the best New York Strip steak I have ever had.

I love the design of the hotel, the historical pieces you see here and there (like fallout shelter signs).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Very unpleasant personal, dirty rooms, moldy bathrooms, garbage cans not emptied for days, elevator unbearable odor, filter in A/C was health hazard to the point we didn't use it. Read tip below 4more

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cavalier for 4 nights in August 2014. We had an oceanfront room with a king size bed and a balcony overlooking the beach on the 5th floor. Our room and bed were comfortable, the AC worked great, we had chairs on our balcony to enjoy, and enjoyed our jetted tub (More suitable for one person). The free breakfast offered included cold and hot cereals, fresh fruit, mini muffins, pancakes/waffles, milk, juice, coffee, etc. It was O-K for it being a continental breakfast. The pool was nice along with the outdoor bar and seating, and is right along side the walkway to the beach. The hotel is just north of the beginning of the Boardwalk on 40th St. In my opinion, there were more families and older couples staying at this location and it was nice and quiet. My boyfriend and I are in our late 20's but enjoyed the time to relax. Our "balcony" neighbors (Balcony is semi-private) were friendly as well as the hotel staff throughout. The hotel is clean and it appears they have done some updating here and there. We like to travel to different locations, but we would definitely come back to the Cavalier! :)

Room Tip: Corner suite is more private. When you choose oceanfront, you get the sunrise right in front of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mschristine329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,060 reviews
20.2 km away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,194 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 km away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,005 reviews
3.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: 4200 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2667
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $388 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing