We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamar Resort Inn(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
19 Atlantic Hotel(Virginia Beach)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$149
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$229
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
36
26
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
26
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathrooms and showersdog friendly beachshore linehot waterbeach frontprivacyboardwalkoceanmosquitoesnavytrashsoap
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We arrived on the Sat night before the July long weekend. Site was nice and large near the beach. Only issue I had was Fire pit was far behind us and privacy in front were our trailer was parked had no privacy. Other then that a very nice site and large.

So we received a letter that there was a naval training base beside the park and you would here they training. They advised it would only last util 10pm some times a little later. On our third night their we had the helicopters flying over our trailer until 2 am. Fliping them the number one Canadian salute probably didn't help, cause i'm sure they had info red cameras to see me flip the bird everytime they flew over us. (which was usually every 5-10 min. 2 of them to be exact.)
During the day we could hear the F-18 flying from the Ocean to the landing based in town. Full down thrust sounded like Thunder and training for that started from 8am to maybe 10 pm at night. Was cool to see them come in but a little annoying after a while. I guess if you live there you get use to it.

I probably wouldn't go back due to the drive from Canada took us 26 hrs due to traffic. But that is a different story.

If you live closer go and enjoy the beach/ and relaxation.

Thank you

Happy Canadian Camper

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SDG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This state park gives you access to the beach, which is much quieter than the actual Virginia Beach. It is convenient to plenty hotels and restaurants and has an awesome campground with many spots close to the beach. The visitor center has some neat displays and has several fish tanks that my grandson found interesting. There is free wifi at the visitor center so there a tables outside that you can use to take advantage of it. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Numerous people walking to and fro thru my the middle of my site.very unsettling experience ....no parking for campers to visit campstore to buy firewood bundles as u r not supposed to bring firewood..thats too heavy to walk or bike back to site due to overfilling day trippers paking is extremly limited.....bathrooms are very messy between daily cleaning....several camp host volunteers making snide remarks about waliking from sites instead of driving because were young....yet what she didnt know is I have rheumatoid arthritis ,it was a rude and uncalled for comment.....hoards of people are raiding the shore at dusk with large drag nets and taking everything they catch as there is no patrol
....sad whats happening there

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank campingkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip to Va Beach. On both occassions we visited First Landing and loved it. The bay is so safe for smaller children and the beach is clean and beautiful. There is a nice area to shower off when leaving the beach and the restrooms are well cared for. The sunset is absolutely gorgeous and it's nowhere near as crowded as Va Beach. Day admission to the park was $4.00 per car, which is less than parking near the boardwalk. Plenty of parking with a very short walk to the water. They also have numerous nature trails and an obervation deck. Love Love Love this park and plan to go back every year. Cons: No lifeguard, no hot food options within the park. Still give it 5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dorrenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After staying for one night at Kiptopeke State Park, we came here for our second night of a weekend trip. While Kiptopeke was lovely, it had one problem: no dogs on the beach. First Landing, on the other hand, was a great for dog lovers.

First, the sites. On a Saturday night, we had our choice of a few different tent camping sections and picked section B. The tent-only sites with no electric or water tend to be closer to the highway, so if you want a site closer to the beach, you need to pay for an electric/water site. The advantage, though, was that these tent-only sites were well shaded. They varied in size, but we found one (B2) that was extra private. We were bordered by trees on three sides, and the site had a nice flat spot for our tent. There was a small pond on one side, and we were visited by a pair of Mallard ducks who seemed quite used to people. We named them Rachel and Filbert. A red fox also visited us that night, but our dog warned him away. The only drawback for these sites is the noise from the highway.

The bathrooms were clean (with soap and hand dryers), and there was also a "slop sink" area for washing dishes. Campground B also had plenty of water taps.

The beach extends the length of the campground, and there is a well stocked campstore and a visitor's center in the middle, which provides access to the beach via a boardwalk. You can also walk over the dunes at certain points along the beach to get to it. The advantage of using the boardwalk by the store is that there are bathrooms, showers to rinse off, and the store if you get hungry and want a snack.

On a Sunday, the beach was pretty busy, but not unbearably so. The best part, for us, was that dogs were allowed on the beach during the day. No one seemed to worry much about dogs being on a leash, so our dog (and many others) enjoyed playing and swimming.

The camp store has RV and camping supplies, firewood, bait and fishing tackle, snacks, souvenirs, and more. We saw a few people fishing towards dusk, and they seemed to be catching a lot (mostly spot).

First Landing is located in Virginia Beach, so the advantage is that there are stores, restaurants, and gas stations nearby if you need supplies (as opposed to Kiptopeke, which requires you to cross the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and has fewer amenities nearby). However, it feels less secluded as a result and, as I mentioned above, there's noise from the highway. Overall, though, this is a great way to enjoy the Chesapeake Bay and its calm waters for swimming.

Room Tip: Pay for a site with water/electric if you want to be close to the beach; or choose a basic tent-only site for shade and privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jordynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews