We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
M5949DDmichaeln
Herndon, Virginia

This is the best kept secret on the beach

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Sept 2022
It was easy to book and it was easy to check in and check out. Room was clean, common areas were very well kept. Parking was great. Rocky, Tina, Rosemary, Ryan and Vicki (ViCki) were the best. The GM, Bob, is phenomenal and takes a personal interest in his guests, knows his repeat customers and always goes 1000%. All of the staff is very capable and very engaging.

We were down on the most crowded "beach days", Labor Day, of the season. Gotta get that last minute beach fix in, plus we had business at CNU. Rosemarie and Tina made it happen, we got a great room and the rest was just as good. Vicki was very polite and accommodating a few minutes after the breakfast area closed and let me fill my thermos with piping hot coffee (fresh)... The say was all around a success, beach entertainment was great.

My advice is stay at this hotel, stay away from the "H" on 31st - it does not have the service that Bob and his staff provide. BEST KEPT SECRET ON THE OCEANFRONT.
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: All the rooms are great
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Warren, General Manager at Comfort Suites Beachfront, responded to this review
Responded 8 Sept 2022
I am excited to hear you enjoyed your stay; please continue to come see us! I will let the staff know how impressed you were with their efforts!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
    S$364
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$398
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Embassy
    S$744
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$400
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton
    S$448
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Pool
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$300
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$234
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Delta Hotels
    S$471
  • Algotels
10.7 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Exterior Rear
S$302
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Virginia Beach Norfolk
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$127
  • Booking.com
18.3 km from Comfort Suites Beachfront
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
768
264
96
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
264
96
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk the penthouse corner suite breakfast room separate bedroom every morning parking garage living area breakfast bar breakfast staff beach view family vacation hot breakfast neptune festival free breakfast mini fridge off season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2022

I read *a ton* of beachfront hotel reviews and IMO they all seem to have a similar number of pros & cons. Once we arrived in VA Beach for the first time I could see why... It's just old hotel after old hotel facing the beach (so basically lots of amazing views from very run-down hotel rooms). I think getting a "good deal" barely exists and getting a really good hotel means spending 1-2 months rent. So my review will hopefully help you decide if Comfort Suites pros and cons work for you or not, compared to the meh experiences of other reviewers from other hotels. *shrugs*

Pros: Great friendly staff. Even though parking can be tight (in many VaBeach places) staff escorted us to open spots when we arrived back late at night. Plenty of seating in the room. Very comfortable bed. AND this hotel was located in a less busy spot on the beach, so getting a good spot to set up ocean-side for the day was a breeze. I didn't have the free breakfast but others seemed to like it. Pool.

Cons: So run down - stained furniture, heavy door to patio that would get stuck, grime built up on the on/off switches. Everything just looked so old and used. Noisy - could hear music constantly from multiple locations within a half block (including the pool area). Not great water pressure in shower, and no good places to hang up wet beach gear to dry. And gawd I paid an awful lot for this place.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellesJ584CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Warren, General Manager at Comfort Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Thank you for your thoughtful insights. We have recently come under a new management team and started renovations. Salt air wreaks havoc on Beachfront hotels; but, we are actively engaged in remediation efforts. In regards to the music; not much we can do (it's the blessing and the curse of Virginia Beach) I'll definitely look into additional shower hooks and water pressure. I apologize that your stay was not the stellar vacation you deserve and I certainly hope you return and give us another chance to impress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2022

Everyone we encountered was super friendly, which is rare nowadays. Rosemary at the front desk went above and beyond to ensure we had a great trip. Johnaton was very attentive and went out of his way to always greet everyone! The breakfast was right on the spot. The pool was warm, clean and loved the decor. Older hotel but clean with a great location.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Warren, General Manager at Comfort Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to provide one of a kind customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

We vacation in VA beach every year around this time. I love this hotel. It is my favorite in the area & is my choice whenever I come to the area but this year was the best! The new staff is incredibly nice. We were greeted by Maya and Tanisha at the front desk. They had their smiles ready & were very helpful. When we got up to our room the air conditioner was not working. We immediately called down to the front desk & they sent up “Too Tall” - Millard. He was the nicest guy. He fixed the problem, apologized and told us if there was anything else just call for Too Tall and he would come & he did. We had a issue with our refrigerator but he responded & made it right. All of the employees are very nice. They speak & wish you well, introduce themselves and check on you when you pass them in the parking lot or hall. We also had encounters with Tanisha during check in she offered the 4th floor to freshen up while we waited for our room to get ready, later immediately sending To Tall to help with our air and making our reservation for our next stay. Jersey who told us about activities happening at or near the hotel. Rocky the parking lot attendant who was always cordial and Bob the general manager. Bob was so accommodating & gracious. His employees seemed very happy which was reflected In their responses to us. The breakfast was on point! Hot and always being replenished. The ladies there were very nice also. Someone requested Turkey sausage & they served it to them personally because it was not on the bfast bar that day. The only issue we encountered was the elevator broke on the Saturday we were there. But the hotel was full during our stay so we weren’t bothered by the elevator while there. We just timed our coming & going appropriately. Bob apologized profusely to those who complained. Also there is a $10 a day parking fee which is new but we are okay with it as long as our cars are safe & we have a place to park. The parking is tight though. The view from the balcony is beautiful. We hope to see you all next year during our VA Beach Vaca!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I6815RTdanielled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Warren, General Manager at Comfort Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2022

Thank you so much for your kind words. I always love hearing that my staff delivers first class customer service. I can not wait to see you guys next year. In fact, why wait? Come see us this Winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed our stay. Upon registration Bob, Rosemary's and Ms. Carol greeted up with smiles and geniune greetings. They were helpful with places to eat meals and their recommendations were on target. They didn't mind answering questions and were very familiar with the local area. We look forward to returning next year. BB and Crew

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank belindalA8060KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Warren, General Manager at Comfort Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Funk Fest is always a fun and Busy time. I'm so glad you chose to stay with us and sincerely hope we see you every year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel in2022. The breakfast wss well managed and nice selection. Facility is kept pretty clean. Management is very cooperative. Good location. Rooms are nice. Rocky the parking supervisor is great. Has personality, helpful. The desk people were all very attentive.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Warren, General Manager at Comfort Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2022

Thank you for recognizing my amazing staff. We all take a lot of pride in our world class customer service and we can't wait to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews