We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Poorly Managed”
Review of Hunt Club Farm

Hunt Club Farm
Ranked #19 of 139 things to do in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Hunt Club Farm is a 28 acre family-owned farm nestled in the heart of Virginia Beach, Virginia - just five miles from the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At Hunt Club, we provide agricultural-based education and entertainment. Whether you're looking for something different to do with your kids, a seasonal festival or a place to host a birthday party or other special event - Hunt Club Farm is the place to be!Hunt Club Farm's petting farm is the only petting farm in Virginia Beach. Here, locals and visitors have the opportunity to pet and visit a wide variety of farm animals, including llamas, donkeys, cows, sheep, goats, chickens, turkeys, peacocks, ducks, geese, pheasants, miniature horses, rabbits, pot belly pigs, cats, dogs and more. We also offer pony rides in our petting farm.For our guests who have four-legged children, our petting farm is dog-friendly, so long as your dog is on a non-retractable leash and is well-trained and non-aggressive.Hunt Club Farm features several special events during the year including a Halloween Festival, Fall Harvest Fair, Community Weekend,Winter Wonderland and Easter Egg Hunt. We also host a summer farm camp and field trips throughout the year.We also have plenty of space to help you throw a barnyard birthday bash, corporate party or family reunion. Our team of event planners will help with catering, staffing, decorating - anything you need - for any kind of group of event.Hunt Club Farm is sure to be a fun-filled outing, so come out and meet all the friends waiting to see you and have a great time!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We took our 2 grandchildren to what seemed like it would be a fun day. The parking was managed well until it was time to grab the stroller and walk across the pasture with the multitude of other families. Dodging the cow pies on our walk and stroller push was the 1st clue. The bounce house area was fun for our 3yo. Not too crowded and the attendants managed the attractions well. My son purchased a lemonade in this area for $7 for what turned out to be a powdered drink. Rip off. The petting zoo animals were overfed and uninterested in the cups of feed we purchased. Lastly, we got in line for the hayride. The first wagon was filled and we were told the 2nd wagon was reserved for a birthday party. They are on their way and the next ride would be in about 15 minutes. 25 minutes later, the party shows up while the already boarded passengers and people line waited (minus those that gave up). We would have gone for the ride and been back. Lack of communication between staff member caused many unhappy families on the wagon and in line. This place is ripoff. Don't bother.

Thank Exit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pony rides"
in 40 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 60 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 11 reviews
"pumpkin patch"
in 9 reviews
"hay ride"
in 8 reviews
"baby goats"
in 6 reviews
"corn maze"
in 5 reviews
"easter bunny"
in 4 reviews
"egg hunt"
in 4 reviews
"farmers market"
in 3 reviews
"year round"
in 7 reviews
"fun place to visit"
in 5 reviews
"year olds"
in 6 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 8 reviews
"season pass"
in 3 reviews
"great for kids"
in 4 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had our daughters 1st birthday party there. Everything was good until some man and his wife came over to our private party and started to threaten all our guests because we wouldn't let his daughter ride the pony. We notified our coordinator as well as what they called their security staff. We were told that WE should have called the police. Odd, I thought we were on YOUR property. It almost ruined everything and left my family and friends feeling extremely uncomfortable for the rest of the party. I will NEVER take my family there again for anything...

Thank RP2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandiVogel, Owner at Hunt Club Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

HI! I am so sorry to learn about your experience at your daughter's birthday party. While we can't control the behavior of other guests on our property, I am very sorry for experience with our staff. I will look into this more and make sure that our staff handles such situations better. It doesn't makes sense for you to call the police because we have police officers on staff every weekend during the fall. Again, I am sorry for your experience and promise to get to the bottom of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

After reading the reviews, I purchased a groupon and we visited Hunt Club while on vacation. Got there around 1, no pony rides. They put them away. No hay ride it wasn't running that day. Dead duck in the duck pen. It's a small area with about 6 pens of animals. Chickens, ducks, a pig, a zebra, llamas, goats, a couple of peacocks, a turtle, and an aviary cage thing to walk into, full of parakeets. That's about it. You can only feed or touch half of those animals. And all though the only/date stipulation on the groupon was an expiration date of 10/31/17, they told us that the groupon wan't valid for use the day we went. We worked something out that was semi satisfactory, but was still a waste of money. My kids are 3, 7, and 12. The 12 yr old hated it, the 7 yr old was scared of the animals after a couple of them were a little too aggressive, and the only thing the 3 yr old liked was the baby goats. The best part of our visit was finding a really cool praying mantis outside the entrance.

Thank Sunshine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is a great outing for all kids up to 14 yrs. When we were there, they had hay rides, a petting zoo with everything from Turkeys to goats and some of the coolest infalatble recreation obstacle course like things for the kids to expend alot of energy on.

Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Hunt Club Farm is only a few miles from the oceanfront and worth the trip. There are multiple kinds of animals you can go and pet. You can also feed many of them and they are very gentle. I would recommend this Farm to anyone who loves animals.

Thank Amber678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt Club Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hunt Club Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing