We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
286
103
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
103
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island suite family chalet sea life course dinner laid back spent nights paradise island private beach other islands reef team huts diving jungle adam nature resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I have been to Rimba 4 or 5 times now and am always blown away by it. It is great if you live in Singapore because you can be sipping a drink on the beach within 3.5hours of leaving SG (as long as customs is not too busy), which makes it a lot more attractive in travel terms than the other islands like Tioman, further north.

The accomodation is Kenyan style huts with palm frond roofs, nice comfortable beds, well maintained mosquito nets, big shower rooms and lovely patios to sit and watch the sea from. To be honest though you probably wont spend much time in the rooms.

There are a couple of hammocks at different point son the ebach to snooze the day away, a great house reef for snorkleing or doing a shore dive. The dive school is well equipped and the instructors are experienced and calm, while also having a good laugh the whole time.

The beach at Rimba can be a little rocky in parts, so if you fancy a more sandy swimming beach (but no reef) you can do the 15 min walk through the jungle to another beach on the island, the walk is great and so is the beach.

I have usually spent the majority of my time at the bar or lazing on the patio in front of it. It is without a doubt one of the funniest most relaxed bars I know (and I know a few!).

The other imprtant thing to note is that the food is fantastic, every meal throughout the day is different, tasty and filling and the saturday BBQ is just amazing.

So highly recommend this resort and hope to see you there!

P.S. since I was last there they have apprently added a spa as well.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Absolutely fantastic place to stay for a weekend away in paradise. The resort is basic but of the highest standard in every way from the beach hut style accommodation to the super friendly staff who never forgot our names or which hut we were staying in, to the island itself which is heavenly. I have never stayed somewhere where I have felt so welcome. The team who run Rimba are faultless. Transfers and taxis are arranged by the Rimba team which makes the trip from Singapore hassle free and easy compared with other island getaways from Malaysia that I have experienced. This is the perfect place to come to relax, chill out and have fun...

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortstops
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had the family chalet and they added an extra bed so our family of 5 could sleep in one house. The staff were amazingly friendly and the service was excellent. The resort is spotless, the teenagers had fun together. Snorkelling was great. Everything perfect for a wonderful holiday. We will definitely return. Spa is a must.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have been coming to Rimba Resort since 2000 and keep coming back at least a few times each year. It is the perfect getaway from Singapore. Beautiful sea view from each hut, tasty food (also catering to vegetarians if you let them know in advance), good service and super friendly staff. The management of Rimba Resort keeps upgrading the resort and now also offers diving and snorkeling trips and the latest addition is a spa with excellent massages on offer. It is a great resort to take kids. Rimba Resort is heaven on earth, a great place to relax and chill out.

Room tip: All cabins are similar except for honeymoon suite and family hut which are both more luxurious. If you want total quiet a night, choose a hut a little bit away from the bar.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kit h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at Rimba a couple of times with our two little children. The resort is the perfect weekend getaway from Singapore that can be reached on a Friday night. Transfer by minibus or private car can be organized through the resort and pick up location for the minibus is at Newton circus or at your place if you choose the private transfer. If travelling with children I would recommend the extra dollars for the private transfer as you can stay in the car at the SG and MY border checkpoint. When travelling with the minibus/van you need to get all your luggage out and queue at both checkpoints, which is very efficient on the SG side and can be everything from 10min to 3h (on public holiday weekends) on the Malaysian side. Total transfer time is around 3.5- 4h not factoring in extreme waiting times at the borders.
The resort even organized a separate baby life vest for us which felt a bit better during the night transfer on the boat. Thanks again Carly!
Food is amazing considering your are on a little island and everything needs to be shipped in. That explains why there is a daily changing but fixed menu - you can let them know your dietary needs in advance and they will try to factor that in. They organize a fantastic BBQ on Saturday nights which should not be missed.
The huts, all directly at the beach with a small terrace, are a bit rustic which gives it a bit of a safari/camping feeling. The standard huts come with cold water and ceiling fan. Mosquito nets are provided for all beds including kids or baby cots. We didn't have any problems with cleanliness in the huts, but due to thatched roof, sometime some small leaves fell down.
The 'Rimba Bay' has a nice house reef which ideal for a bit of light snorkelling and introducing the kids to Nemo, blue spotted stingrays and other small fish. Towards the eastern side of the bay there is sandy stretch of beach that is suitable for kids playing - the west side is a bit more rocky.
Diving is usually around the nearby islands and visibility under water is ok, but not really great. This is made up by the funny crew though.
The kids loved fishing using the little kayaks that are for rent and exploring the jungle path to the other side of the island which can be a bit slippery after rain. Don't forget to take some cash so that you can buy some drinks or ice cream once you reach the resort on the other side.

Room tip: Don't forget to pack one or two good books and some mosquito spray.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MH2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews