We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
82
89
31
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
89
31
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie theaterprincipal's officenorth shorelight fixtureshigh ceilingsrestaurants and barsmain restauranttiki loungesaltwater poolfun placeoutdoor seatingtotsoriginal artworkpedestal sinkplaces to eat and drinkgreat beermultiple bars
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Very clean and well upgraded to a modern hotel. Love their doors. Service is at arms length in any building. Definitely more charm than the large chain hotels, but can't compare to our favorite McMenamins Edgefield in Troutdale, OR, which we would do as a destination. McMenamins Anderson has modern facilities, great for family with kids. The pool is not as charming, just a regular pool, no charm.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R, Manager at McMenamins Anderson School Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Greetings Travel2Food! Indeed, the Edgefiled is a great expansive destination property, I am so glad we can shine in their comparison. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and can't wait to share it with the team. We look forward to having you back here with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Our first visit to a McMenamin's hotel and it was a super one. What a fantastic job they've done with the old Bothell Junior High/Anderson School. Top notch.

The square in the middle of the building complex is superb...and it was made even better that we just happened to be there for a couple of days during some of the best May weather in the area's history. Plants and trees everywhere. Loved the ambience

We ate in the Tavern on the Square and the North Shore Lagoon and the meals were outstanding.

Would definitely go back.

The negatives:
Pool light for reading in the room.
No counter space in the bathroom.
Poor light above the sink.
Coffee cups in the Tavern on the Square are short and have wide "mouths" and don't hold the heat. Taller, narrow mugs would be much better.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R, Manager at McMenamins Anderson School Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hello eraser! Thanks for such a splendid review, I am thrilled you had such a great time visiting us, and indeed this time of year the weather is absolutely divine and everything is blooming. (Compliments to Riz and Michelle our Gardens Manager who work magic year round on our grounds.) Next time you are back staying with us, we will ensure you are in a room with extra table space in the bathroom and we can up the wattage of the light bulbs in the room. Till we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We were impressed with our rooms (2). They were large and sported everything we needed. The bathroom was nice with a good shower. We really enjoyed the saltwater pool. Saltwater makes the water more antibacterial with less chlorine! Our breakfast was fantastic, though a mite pricey. We LOVED that we could have gluten free eggs bendict!
We opted for dinner elsewhere due to choices and cost and found a fabulous Italian restaurant nearby. We will definitely return to stay again!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard were great!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BakerStreetInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R, Manager at McMenamins Anderson School Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi BakerStreetInn! I am so glad you had such a great stay with us. I too really love the heated and salted pool here as it is a rare thing to find. The nice thing about our location, if none of the three restaurants we have here on property are what you are in the mood for - there are indeed some great options in the surrounding area. Thanks so much for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We stayed here with other people to celebrate a birthday. There really should be a way to review the overall place separately than the hotel. Some people may just come for drinks, some may spend the night...

The grounds are neat- the gardens are lovely, the fire pits are great, the multiple bars are cool, the service was bar-like (busy and hurried when interacting with staff, long waits). Don't expect too much and things might be fine. Relax and enjoy the fire pit.

The hotel: McMenamins always have a hippie vibe. Some people like that. Renovation of the school house is such an awesome idea and the building is really cool, but because they're going for that retro- 70's thing with folk art and all that, it feels like its dirty and needs renovation, despite being basically brand new. Kinda like you walked into someone's basement rec room that's covered in 40 years of dust. It can't have 40 years of dust laying around due to recent remodeling, but it sure feels like it does. The finishings are very cheap, like the flimsy shower insert and possibly thrift store furniture?, which is fine if that's what it took to get the project going, but it feels incongruous with the restoration of an old brick schoolhouse. We were ready to go home and shower after staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EndofNinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R, Manager at McMenamins Anderson School Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Greetings EndofNinth. We so appreciate you taking the time to share you experience and feedback from your stay with us. Our hotel rooms are indeed unique in their decoration, lighting and atmosphere with a strong focus on the warm wood finishing and eclectic artwork. I am sorry it gave you the wrong vibe and feeling. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the amazing gardens and bars/restaurants of the property. If not in our hotel, we look forward to having you back here to enjoy some drinks by our courtyard fire pits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Actually iam writing as iam sitting in this restaurant. Got here hour and half ago and still waiting for my food to arrive. Took awhile to get our order while our kids already ate. Got my order wrong twice. Bad service and not impressed at all

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R, Manager at McMenamins Anderson School Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hello Nina. I am distraught to read about such an awful dining experience you were having at the Northshore Lagoon. I so hope things turned around for the best by the end of your time there. I have reached out to you personally as there is some more feedback we hope to get from you. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews