We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deer Harbor Inn”
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Reviewed 25 July 2016

It was a nice, quiet place and easy accessibility. A very trusting environment and the owners were very kind. Definitely would return and there is even a nice restaurant on site. We came in late and they fixed a meal when the place was closing.

Deer and bunnies abound on the property and berry bushes are plentiful and the berries delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paw2641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016

We were looking for a place to get away from the maddening crowd. We found it in our stay on Orcas Island for three nights at the Deer Harbor Inn. We just had a room in the lodge, not one of the cute little cabins. It was very comfortable and clean. Pretty view and nice decor. The landscaping could use a little work, but you can't beat the constant run of deer and huge rabbits that come through. Maybe they wouldn't be as comfortable coming onto the property if it had grounds-keepers everywhere. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub a couple of times. Never got to use the onsite restaurant, which is highly rated but only open in the evenings. We drove around the island each day and enjoyed cafes and restaurants all over. Could use more food in the breakfast refrigerator. It had 2 orange juices, two small yogurts, 2 breakfast bars and a cookie bar. They also could use a small microwave. I would recommend this to my friends and to couples who need a short get-away. A yes, there was no phone service and only a small TV. Nice to disconnect from it all!

Room Tip: The best views are in the front of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed in the Lodge (Room 4) for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The room was comfortable and large enough for 2 people. We appreciated the breakfast snacks that are provided since the restaurant is only open for dinner. Our room wasn't serviced the second day for some reason, so no refill on the breakfast snacks ;-(
The surroundings are very serene, the wildlife is right outside your window and the location is beautiful. We had a downstairs room, so we could hear people upstairs in the morning, but it wasn't really a problem. I would probably try to reserve an upstairs room next time though. We ate dinner at the restaurant on night 2. It was great to be able to just walk over, enjoy a bottle of wine and not worry about having to drive anywhere. The food was very good but a bit pricey for what we got. Service was great, so that helped make for a nice evening.
The hotel is rustic, so be prepared for that. However, it is lovely and cozy and just what we were looking for. The island is very easy to get around and we got in some great hikes, so it was a great trip overall.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in the Lodge or private cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Orchard cabin #1 was clean, well-appointed, cozy and surprisingly spacious, inside and out. Front deck was large and had dining set, back deck also large enough for hanging out. Nice hot tub (a little too hot for us). Inside, plenty of space and light (lots of windows!) Very comfy bed. Log furniture and gas fireplace added to ambiance. Completely quiet, pastoral and relaxing property. Hosts were friendly and helpful, but very unobtrusive. Other cabins are far enough apart that we had plenty of quiet and privacy. Bunnies and deer always grazing nearby. We loved this place!

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have ocean view, but front a very charming meadow with old orchard trees, bunnies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SummersPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Visited Orcas Island with a groupon. Stayed in a lodge room and was very nice. All we needed as we spent our time seeing the island. Took 7 hours to get there from Victoria (Canada) so had dinner in the on site restaurant. Was very pricey but sat on the deck and enjoyed the view, weather and wildlife. (Deer and rabbits) Would recommend for anyone wanting to be away from noise, but I would prefer to stay closer to town, although the drive to town was not long. Did not see any staff, but did not need to.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gailmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
10.0 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
10.3 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
1.6 km away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
10.7 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
13.2 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range: $233 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing