We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit cramped inside, but good food”

Wally's Chowder House
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2018

It was a bit tricky to find at night, the GPS of less help than a general map (old school!). One goes up steps to get to this restaurant that feels like you're up on a hill, but surprisingly I didn't notice there being a view. Perhaps that was because I was hungry, perhaps because it was cramped-even a bit claustrophobic due to low ceilings and tables close together, perhaps due to being blindsided by an argument, or maybe all three of the above.

It was towards the end of the evening, so fortunately it wasn't overly crowded. The food was delivered quickly, piping hot, and comparable to other seafood restaurants of the "fish and chips" type. My crab melt was similar to one that I make at home: average crab-not sweet and cheese doesn't dominate. My companion had the clam chowder, which looked to be loaded with ingredients as opposed to mostly cream.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brifd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

The food and atmosphere at Wally's is very good and we don't take the time to go there enough.
The only thing I wish they had was an allergen menu.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank birkebaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

As everyone say the chowder, the fish n chips n so on you'll like it too! Parking is tight but around the block is no problem but worth the wait!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank bebotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The place has a good atmosphere and the food was amazing! Best clam chowder ever!
They had live music and I had an amazing time with husband! No doubts I’d come back anytime

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Abhvfhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We are traveling to China and had a night in Seattle. Found this on Yelp! Excellent from the beginning! So cute from the outside and walking in didn’t disappointment. Just cozy feeling. The service couldn’t be better, and the food was delicious. The chowder was some the best I’ve had. Had a combo plate. Loved the coconut prawns, scallops and cod! So fresh. Portion sizes were very good! 3 couples and all were happy and satisfied!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jcogolfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wally's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing