We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amber Lights B & B(Port Townsend)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Worden(Port Townsend)
US$188
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishop Victorian Hotel(Port Townsend)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Port Townsend)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Consulate Inn(Port Townsend)
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
52
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I were looking for a last-minute getaway for the 4th of July weekend. Thornton House had a room available and I'm glad they did! We stayed in the Garden Room and it was perfect. Every morning the coffee was sitting outside our door just waiting for us to enjoy on the balcony in the morning sun. The bathroom is down the hall which sounds like a minus, but I assure you that it was never an issue.

The breakfasts were delicious! Our first morning we ate a rainbow chard frittata which was fabulous. The conversation around the table was great and the hosts are amazing. They were warm, friendly and helped us plan some excursions. We are very busy with work and don't take a lot of time off. Thornton House took us to 100% relaxation immediately and it was a wonderful getaway - We'll definitely be going back!

Details-

The bed was VERY comfortable and the sheets were high thread-count

The room and bathroom was IMMACULATELY CLEAN

The location is about a 10 minute walk to Water Street and a 2 minute walk from the Farmer's Market.

People will say hello to you on their morning walks from the street when you're sipping coffee on the deck. It's very friendly there.

There will be tasty cookies and port waiting for you when you are ready for bed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We visited Thornton House for just one night and had a wonderful time. The hosts are incredibly friendly, but not too much so. The grounds were beautiful and our room was very nice. We were in the Garden Room and it was a nice size room, nicely done, but not too frilly in an overly Victorian sort of way. The private bathroom was just down the hall, recently redone, modern and really lovely. The breakfast was delicious and they accomodated my gluten intolerance beautifully. She even made special gluten-free muffins that were better than any I've ever had - seriously. We'd stay there again any time we're headed to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waxwing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I couldn't agree more with the other reviewers. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was beyond comfortable, quiet and private. Barbara's breakfasts were fabulous (I still want that waffle recipe) and Charlie was so much fun to chat with. They truly made us feel completely welcome and like one of the family. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sushiqueen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Thornton House is a simply wonderful B&B that will make you want to be sure to include Port Townsend, and Thornton House, into any future plans you have for a return visit to the Olympic Peninsula area. One stay is not enough. Charlie and Barbara are gracious people who make you feel right at home in their home, and the breakfasts they create in their large kitchen are just wonderful too. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our too short visit to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe_vansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

A large home with 19th Century charm not far from the main hub of PT. We used this night in PT as a launching off point for a tour of the Olympic peninsula. Barb and Charlie made us feel welcome immediately offering a quick tour of the home (that includes a nice outdoor deck for an evening drink or quiet read) upon arrival. We stayed in the Garden room - lovely, comfortable and a bathroom located an easy, well-lit walk down the hall with an enormous tub and modern shower. (The other rooms have private baths so there is no shared bathroom) In the morning, we awoke to a pot of coffee in the hallway and a lovely breakfast of fruit, bacon, eggs, and delicious applesauce-pecan muffins my sweetie is still raving about. We enjoyed chatting with Barb and Charlie before continuing on our trek to Hurricane Ridge. They even packed up the extra muffins which we enjoyed one day at Lake Crescent and the next at Lake Quinault. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden room lovely, private bathroom down the hall
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluntrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews