We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A great choice for our 1st visit to Port Townsend. Charlie & Barb are superb hosts, and it felt like we'd made good friends by the time we checked out. The location is perfect as easy to explore all activities in the historic district. Charlie steered us to great dinners at Silverwater & the Fountain Cafe; but we can't say enough about the delicious breakfasts we had at Thornton House to start each day. We stayed in Sarah's room, but got to peek at the other 2 rooms as well, & would be happy to stay in those as well. We'll be back!
Susan and Troy from Tacoma, WA

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

It goes without saying from reading the other articles, but Thornton House was an amazing place to stay. The hosts were incredibly friendly and quite amazing cooks. The morning breakfasts were truly gourmet. Every amenity was covered during our stay. They have chocolates, wine at night for their guests, soda, cookies/brownies or some other treat and tea's 24/7. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Port Townsend.

We stayed in Sarah's room with the private bath. Very nice, well decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Barbara & Charlie - We love you and always remember you and your warmth and great hospitality. The breakfast was wonderful and the coffee awaited near our beatiful room in the morning was so thoughful. the room and ensuite were nice and clean and we just were sorry to stay only 1 night.
Thank you.
Zehava & Izhar

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First off, Charles and Barbara are the nicest, kindest people you'll ever meet. We felt so incredibly welcome. And we were completely spoiled by the wonderful breakfast every morning. Barbara is a fantastic cook and the table was always beautifully set. The rooms were immaculate, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms the first night and then moved to the private cottage in the back for the rest of our trip.

There are quite a few different sitting areas throughout the house and garden to choose from and the garden is just as beautiful as the house. It was clear to us that the B&B is a labor of love and it's evident in everything they do. They go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience our stay was. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d-grap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I were looking for a last-minute getaway for the 4th of July weekend. Thornton House had a room available and I'm glad they did! We stayed in the Garden Room and it was perfect. Every morning the coffee was sitting outside our door just waiting for us to enjoy on the balcony in the morning sun. The bathroom is down the hall which sounds like a minus, but I assure you that it was never an issue.

The breakfasts were delicious! Our first morning we ate a rainbow chard frittata which was fabulous. The conversation around the table was great and the hosts are amazing. They were warm, friendly and helped us plan some excursions. We are very busy with work and don't take a lot of time off. Thornton House took us to 100% relaxation immediately and it was a wonderful getaway - We'll definitely be going back!

Details-

The bed was VERY comfortable and the sheets were high thread-count

The room and bathroom was IMMACULATELY CLEAN

The location is about a 10 minute walk to Water Street and a 2 minute walk from the Farmer's Market.

People will say hello to you on their morning walks from the street when you're sipping coffee on the deck. It's very friendly there.

There will be tasty cookies and port waiting for you when you are ready for bed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
7.2 km away
Amber Lights B & B
Amber Lights B & B
#5 of 16 in Port Townsend
80 reviews
0.5 km away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
417 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Port Townsend
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
#9 of 16 in Port Townsend
50 reviews
1.8 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
181 reviews
0.9 km away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1132 Garfield Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast is a spacious three bedroom guest house in the heart of Port Townsend’s Historic Uptown District. The original 1885 farmhouse has been carefully restored to reflect the ambiance and charm of a by-gone era. Every effort has been made to retain the original character of the farmhouse while providing present-day amenities and comfort. Newly renovated historic cottage with king bed and private bath with rain shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornton House b&b
Thornton House Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing