We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
52
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

It goes without saying from reading the other articles, but Thornton House was an amazing place to stay. The hosts were incredibly friendly and quite amazing cooks. The morning breakfasts were truly gourmet. Every amenity was covered during our stay. They have chocolates, wine at night for their guests, soda, cookies/brownies or some other treat and tea's 24/7. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Port Townsend.

We stayed in Sarah's room with the private bath. Very nice, well decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Barbara & Charlie - We love you and always remember you and your warmth and great hospitality. The breakfast was wonderful and the coffee awaited near our beatiful room in the morning was so thoughful. the room and ensuite were nice and clean and we just were sorry to stay only 1 night.
Thank you.
Zehava & Izhar

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First off, Charles and Barbara are the nicest, kindest people you'll ever meet. We felt so incredibly welcome. And we were completely spoiled by the wonderful breakfast every morning. Barbara is a fantastic cook and the table was always beautifully set. The rooms were immaculate, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms the first night and then moved to the private cottage in the back for the rest of our trip.

There are quite a few different sitting areas throughout the house and garden to choose from and the garden is just as beautiful as the house. It was clear to us that the B&B is a labor of love and it's evident in everything they do. They go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience our stay was. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I were looking for a last-minute getaway for the 4th of July weekend. Thornton House had a room available and I'm glad they did! We stayed in the Garden Room and it was perfect. Every morning the coffee was sitting outside our door just waiting for us to enjoy on the balcony in the morning sun. The bathroom is down the hall which sounds like a minus, but I assure you that it was never an issue.

The breakfasts were delicious! Our first morning we ate a rainbow chard frittata which was fabulous. The conversation around the table was great and the hosts are amazing. They were warm, friendly and helped us plan some excursions. We are very busy with work and don't take a lot of time off. Thornton House took us to 100% relaxation immediately and it was a wonderful getaway - We'll definitely be going back!

Details-

The bed was VERY comfortable and the sheets were high thread-count

The room and bathroom was IMMACULATELY CLEAN

The location is about a 10 minute walk to Water Street and a 2 minute walk from the Farmer's Market.

People will say hello to you on their morning walks from the street when you're sipping coffee on the deck. It's very friendly there.

There will be tasty cookies and port waiting for you when you are ready for bed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We visited Thornton House for just one night and had a wonderful time. The hosts are incredibly friendly, but not too much so. The grounds were beautiful and our room was very nice. We were in the Garden Room and it was a nice size room, nicely done, but not too frilly in an overly Victorian sort of way. The private bathroom was just down the hall, recently redone, modern and really lovely. The breakfast was delicious and they accomodated my gluten intolerance beautifully. She even made special gluten-free muffins that were better than any I've ever had - seriously. We'd stay there again any time we're headed to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waxwing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews