We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Tides Inn(Port Townsend)
US$166
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aladdin Motor Inn(Port Townsend)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manresa Castle(Port Townsend)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Fort Worden(Port Townsend)
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishop Victorian Hotel(Port Townsend)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Port Townsend)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborside Inn(Port Townsend)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
52
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Barb and Charlie made us feel at home. Great breakfasts, beautiful, clean room and bath. Lovely garden, nice neighborhood. Best B&B we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Barbara and Charlie are perfect hosts! Their home tastefully combines Victorian charm with modern amenities. The bed and bedding were wonderful and I had a great night's sleep. The location is also convenient, just a few blocks to a street with stores and coffee and then not far to walk into the main part of town. Plenty of parking on the street as well.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in the main part of the house. One has an en-suite bathroom while the other involves a walk down the hall. Both are nice, but be sure to ask which one you're getting. There is also a renovated carriage house outside. More modern but spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank issek1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Thornton House and from the moment we met Charlie & Barb, we felt like we were home. The location was perfect - quiet yet close to town with a beautiful garden created and maintained by Barb. Much to their chagrin, the deer like it too. We stayed in the cottage which was spotless and fresh and new. The bed was sooo comfy and the blackout curtains made a great night's sleep last well into the morning. The bathroom was spacious and had all the amenities - soap, shampoo and lotion - and was also spotlessly clean. Barb's breakfasts were yummy and Charlie's coffee divine - a special Thornton House blend made especially for them by a local Port Townsend coffee brewer.

Charlie and Barb have done a beautiful job of restoring this historic Victorian. The kitchen is the most inviting and welcoming room of the house and we spent lots of time picking Charlie and Barb's brains about what it was like to relocate to Port Townsend. Their knowledge of the town and its people and their enthusiasm and love for the place was infectious. We will absolutely come back to stay and HIGHLY recommend Thornton House. Thank you for welcoming us into your family, Charlie & Barb. Can't wait to see you again!

Lynn & Richard

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJS247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Thornton House in Port Townsend for our anniversary. We were very familiar with Port Townsend because we normally camp there during the Spring and Summer. However, an anniversary is special, and so is Port Townsend, so we decided to pamper ourselves and stay at a Bed and Breakfast. It is always nerve-racking to stay someplace new on such a special weekend, but we had read wonderful reviews of Thornton House. These reviews were absolutely accurate! Barb and Charlie are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We got cookies every night, a wonderful treat, tea in our room in the mornings. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. I can't say enough about the accomodations. The bed in the Carriage House was extremely comfortable, and I have to mention the "rain" shower, which was relaxing after a long hike. We now have a new tradition and are recommending Thornton House to our friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House, but I am sure the other rooms are just as comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Nicest owners on the planet! Charming Inn and tasty breakfast.
Spent a couple of hours wasting time on their balcony drinking their port, eating their freshly made bake goodies and watching the clouds float by.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the private bath and it was quiet, comfortable and convenient!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank not_enuf_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews