We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
40
56
15
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
56
15
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water street hotel shared bathroom third floor lots of character large windows outdoor deck up stairs top floor charming place overlooking the water an older hotel whale watching room was spacious old victorian modern amenities no air conditioning mary
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Who would have thought a hotel in the middle of the block would be nice?

This hotel has a very unassuming presence on the street as it has shops at the ground floor and the front desk is in a gift shop.

Once you get up stairs it is a different story. Our room had 11' ceilings with huge windows to outside and onto the main corridor. There was no air conditioning, but with the ceiling who needs it? I kept having visions of the hotel in its hey day with people entertaining in their drawing rooms opening onto the main corridor.

Unique and gorgeous.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We had a queen room with bathroom on the second floor, very comfortable bed, and even though it was above a main street and we left the window open, it was very quiet (and on Friday night). Pleasant staff. Coffee room down the hall provided a wake-up cup before we went out for breakfast at a nearby cafe. Old fashioned feel was pleasant, and walking distance to most things of interest. Good wi-fi reception in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelh2o2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

If you are wanting to stay in a Victorian style hotel, this is a good one. The hotel is in an classic Port Townsend Victorian building on the water front in the downtown core of Port Townsend. Built into the 1889 building in 1990, it is comfortable and has much character. If you are looking for modern accommodations, this is not the place for you, but if you want to try a hotel with vintage character, Water Street Hotel will suit you fine. There are some suites, some regular rooms with bath (shower) and some with bath down the hall. The bed was comfortable, air conditioning was provided by opening the window (but Port Townsend has fine sea breezes). Prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the rooms start at the top of a 31 step staircase, so it is not ADA.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I loved this hotel. I stayed here as a solo traveler and the price could not be beat. Plus the large windows and in room sink made it comfortable and feel like a fancy old world experience. Though the hotel had little vacancy, the shared bathroom didn't feel overcrowded (I never saw anyone else), and it was very clean as well. A nice quiet place besides the creaks and squeaks from neighbors you would expect in a place of this age. Really charming place... I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or send other solo travelers there. Conveniently located as well next to all the things to do. Distinct lack of ghosts despite the Victorian surroundings was the only let down for me :).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

My boyfriend and I had tickets to go whale watching, and he surprised me with a 2 night stay at this cute hotel!

It's great if you are looking for something unique. He booked a room with a shared bathroom. Was fun to walk through the hotel, look at all the different rooms, the history and architecture!

The gal at the front desk was super sweet! Not sure what he spent, but he made it sound like it was a great deal!

Room Tip: Check out the photos to find the perfect room for you! So many to choose from!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacigetzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews