We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexander's Lodge(Ashford)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
9
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue holecamp hosttent campingpicnic tablesthe riverflush toiletsloophostsbundlewatersignsprivacysitecampgroundwomantrees
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This is a dry camping State Campground, dry meaning no RV hook-ups. Water is available but you have to haul it from the roadside. Pit toilets are the primary bathrooms which make it less desirable than more developed camp sites.

Now, the reasons we love La Wis Wis, two rives run through or by the campgrounds with easy access from all campsites. During fishing season, there are ample places for young and old to try their hands at catching a trout. The campsites are normally spacious and private. The rocky riverside adds real character to the place and is a pleasing spot to plant a lawn chair and relax to the rushing sound of melting glacial water.

Reservations are highly recommended as many have found this great spot that used to be a place you could always get a campsite at. The town of Packwood has several small grocery stores and outdoor supplies. It is a short two or three mile trip by car.

This is one of our favorite places to camp and almost always has good weather.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Skipper3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Wonderful Place to get away. Get easy hikes to explore in the area. Usually stop on our way to the beach or on the return trip. This time stopped after a day at Mt Rainier for a quick hike to Blue Hole.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank eiger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Our campsite was cozy and surrounded by forest. Nice and private, just adjacent to the river and close to the bathroom. The bathroom is basically a hole in the ground. It's gross, but it didn't smell. No water, so be prepared. We washed our dishes in the river first to conserve our water then brought them back to camp to wash them with soap and water we had stored. Be prepared for rain of course. It's Washington after all! Overall..this is one of the best campsites we've ever been. We were at campsite 29 in the far loop. I forget which letter. Sorry. You'll see it on the map on La Wis Wis's website.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxineEntropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

La Wis Wis was a great campground and the camp host's worked very hard to get people into camp sites. Centrally located to all kinds of activities at Mount Rainier. Packwood is a small town close enough if you need camp provisions. We did not make the hike to Blue Hole, but we walked the short trail and explored the side creek that ran into the Ohanapecosh River. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

La Wis Wis is just what the doctor ordered. Half way between Mount Rainier and Mount Saint Helens east side this campground is amazing. Pit toilet only. Water available. Make the trek up to Blue Hole and jump in, if you dare! Try to get a camp site on the river, if you can. Reservations possible.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank ThereBeBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews