We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Wis Wis Campground
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Randle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cowlitz River Lodge(Packwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Packwood(Packwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crest Trail Lodge(Packwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellspring(Ashford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Randle Motel(Randle)
View Hotel
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
9
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp hosttent campingpicnic tablesthe riverflush toiletshostsbundlewatersignsprivacysitecampgroundwoman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here in my 23ft. travel trailer. There are no hookups and no dump station.

Cell phone reception is absolutely nil if you have AT&T, and that includes pretty much anywhere in south Mt. Rainier National Park. Not even at the visitor center, and there's no wi-fi there, either. They have a pay phone that's it.

The campground is beautiful, right along the Ohanapecosh River. The grounds are well-kept and the campsites are spacious.

We visited mid-week and in mid-June and there were only a few campsites occupied. I'll bet this place gets busy on the weekends and/or later in the season. It is just a few minutes from the Mt. Rainier NP entrance. There is no gasoline available past Packwood, WA if enter that way, so make sure you gas up there.

The campground hosts were pleasant and helpful. They sell firewood for $5 a bundle, but they're kind of small. One more good sized piece would have made it worthwhile.

The roads through the campground can be narrow. I wouldn't come here with anything very wide or long.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank HuntCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

La Wis Wis Forest Service campground shows its age. I believe it was first established in 1937, as that is the date on the blueprints of the Forest Service building that is ostensibly being 'renovated'.

Situated between the Ohanepecosh and Cowlitz rivers, it is dominated by towering, old growth firs and cedars. Strange to say, some giant trees have been cut down, with huge sections of tree trunk left to block access to campsites. We were told that some trees had 'root rot' and that's why they were cut down. But I wish if they'd done that they'd continued the task of cutting them up completely. As of now, many sites are unusable because there's big (and I mean BIG) rounds of fallen trees littering the campsites. We counted the rings on one and got to 150.

Campsites are small, unlevel, with very little room for both a vehicle and a camper. Don't even think of bringing your RV in, the roads are narrow, twisting, (sometimes going through a narrow gap between Very Big trees,) one way and if you can find one site/parking spot large enough, the traffic flow is backwards from the direction you'd intuitively back up in. Meaning, traffic flow is counter clockwise and yet the only way to get into the site is by driving clockwise. Let me repeat that, your RV is not going to fit. We had problems finding a site large enough to accommodate our tiny 17 foot trailer.

There are several pull throughs but again, they are 'backwards', meaning your camper door is going to open on the road, NOT the campsite. It's almost as if someone with no trailer experience whatsoever decided, we are going to make the road one way...and he got it backwards. No, you're not going to be able to find a spot to turn your rig around, either.
Most of the campsites have strategically placed posts or giant boulders preventing you from driving or parking in the campsite. It appears to me that the campground was created when people tent camped. If you are tent camping, it's great.

Most sites have little to no privacy. The river side sites are all reserved online, the interior and less desirable are walk ups. There's a strangely large number of "multi use' sites, designated by two tables but still, only enough parking for one vehicle and it better be a small one.
There is no map available. Loops blend into each other without any notice or signage.
Hatchery loop is unsigned and is so very strange. You literally park your camper on the road. We had reserved H11. On the map it looks great, but in reality it's just a pull off the road site, step over a large log and there's a table. No room for anything!

"A" loop has a bathroom with flush toilets and cold water sinks. All the rest are vault toilets. The camp staff keeps the toilets clean as a whistle. The camp hosts were very responsive and helpful, let us change our reservation to the only site we could find that allowed us to park our camper off the road.

There is NO dump station. One is advised to go to the Packwood RV park in town, but when we went there, there were three signs on the hard to find office: a neon 'OPEN" sign, a door sign that said "Back at 10 AM" (it was noon when we got there) and then a note saying we'll be gone for a week." But there's a large RV park west of Packwood that used to be a 1000 Trails but is now something else, that will allow you to dump for a fee.

Now that I've scared you, if you are a tent camper, this is the campground for you. Not having to put up with gigantic road boats or fifth whales make this a tenter's campground par excellence. It's quiet, clean, and if you can, do make the short hike to Purcell Falls. It is steep and very technical. Not handicapped accessible, not at all. In fact one woman asked us if we'd been to the Falls, and when we said yes, she asked if it was accessible to little kids? No way, no way in heck would I allow a toddler there. It's too risky. Roots, slick rocks and mud will send you into the sluice if you're not careful. But if you're a reasonably capable adult, it's worth the work to see the falls.

I did not see a single handicapped accessible site, although many of the sites have a ADA style picnic table.
Many of the picnic tables were solidly planted in the dirt with the fire ring so close that you are going to burn your clothes if you sit next to it.
No electricity, no water save at spigots, and no dump station. but otherwise, if you're a tenter, you'll like La Wis Wis.

Room Tip: Tents fit perfectly. Bring lots of DEET.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SeattleMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This is a dry camping State Campground, dry meaning no RV hook-ups. Water is available but you have to haul it from the roadside. Pit toilets are the primary bathrooms which make it less desirable than more developed camp sites.

Now, the reasons we love La Wis Wis, two rives run through or by the campgrounds with easy access from all campsites. During fishing season, there are ample places for young and old to try their hands at catching a trout. The campsites are normally spacious and private. The rocky riverside adds real character to the place and is a pleasing spot to plant a lawn chair and relax to the rushing sound of melting glacial water.

Reservations are highly recommended as many have found this great spot that used to be a place you could always get a campsite at. The town of Packwood has several small grocery stores and outdoor supplies. It is a short two or three mile trip by car.

This is one of our favorite places to camp and almost always has good weather.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Wonderful Place to get away. Get easy hikes to explore in the area. Usually stop on our way to the beach or on the return trip. This time stopped after a day at Mt Rainier for a quick hike to Blue Hole.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank eiger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Our campsite was cozy and surrounded by forest. Nice and private, just adjacent to the river and close to the bathroom. The bathroom is basically a hole in the ground. It's gross, but it didn't smell. No water, so be prepared. We washed our dishes in the river first to conserve our water then brought them back to camp to wash them with soap and water we had stored. Be prepared for rain of course. It's Washington after all! Overall..this is one of the best campsites we've ever been. We were at campsite 29 in the far loop. I forget which letter. Sorry. You'll see it on the map on La Wis Wis's website.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxineEntropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews