We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Davenport Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Davenport in downtown Spokane for a weekend. Remember this is an old building. My husband enjoyed looking at the historic pictures and plaques. We both appreciate the amazing original work and updates that have been done to preserve the old beauty. The bed is as good as you’ve heard. We may purchase one when we need a new bed. The location is fantastic for walking downtown to shop, dine and go to bars. It is nice they they have a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The employees were all fantastic. From room service to the in-hotel shops and restaurants to the front desk. All very knowledgeable and friendly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank R4954WGloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We have stayed several times over the years. While the property is elegant, the atmosphere has changed dramatically. We booked through Marriotts and the room stated it was a room with a city view. When we got to our room on the 3rd floor, our view was of HVAC. When I spoke with the reception desk, she said, that is just what it says about all rooms. Very disappointing. The rooms do not provide body lotion, soap to wash your face before going to bed. All there is is a pump of antibacterial soap that foams so much you can hardly rinse it off. What happened to the small piece of Bruttles peanut brittle that used to on the pillow nightly? Not what I expect from Marriotts Autograph Collection.

Room Tip: If you want to look at something other than HVAC, be sure to specify
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Traveler13116807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeDirector, Director of Front Office Services at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Traveler13116807,
Thank you for providing such valuable feedback in regard to your stay. I am terribly sorry that you had a less that impressive view while staying at the Historic Davenport. Being a Historic property, we have many configurations of the room type you stayed in and not all of the rooms will have the view you experienced. As far as the Peanut Brittle on the pillows nightly, we have encountered many allergies in regards to peanuts in our hotel so we were forced to take that in consideration in 2017. I will be sure to share your thoughts with the management team and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtsd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

This is a grand hotel that is beautiful with spacious elegant rooms and a grand atrium that is truly beautiful. The staff are welcoming with few exceptions. We were disappointed however at the Palm Court Breakfast. They divide dining into Breakfast in the area near bar and lunch in grand atrium. Today and yesterday we were told the wait would be 15 to 25 minutes and no one else was waiting to be seated and there were tables along the windows open and all the tables in the atrium reserved for lunch were open. Orders were not filled correctly even though the waiter wrote them down correctly. Maybe the holidays and two weddings left them short handed. Maybe try a place down the street for better luck.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank baybig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

My husband's annual Christmas party was here this year. It was a fabulous night with top of the line dinner buffet. We had plenty to eat with the food continuously being replenished all evening long. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was top notch with all the Christmas decorations. A beautiful night. Looking for a party venue check the Davenport out.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froglag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed in one of the Presidential Suites on the 14th floor. Amazing view of the city at Christmas time. Room was plush to say the least. So comfortable and relaxing. We chose to dine across the street at the Safari room in the Davenport Towers. Sorry to say the we were disappointed in this restaurant. We expected more of a fine dining atmosphere - this was not. For the price, our meal was mediocre. For breakfast we did dine back at the Historic Hotel and enjoyed the food. We will come back again but will come better informed regarding dinning options. We are also anxious to try the Spa amenities.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor and had a suburb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.7 km away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
1 km away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
0.2 km away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#13 of 46 in Spokane
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Family Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $217 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing