We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair Accessible Suite”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

WOW! I had never been here before (my husband had) and as we were heading up the narrow, winding road, I thought "IS there REALLY a hotel up here?". What a beautiful location! Our room layout was fabulous for my husband, who is in a wheelchair, AND it was the MOST comfortable bed we had every slept in! I have attached photos of the layout of the room and bathroom that tells the story depending on your accessiblility needs. The grounds are hilly so we chose to drive from our room to the restaurant each time. Waking up and opening the drapes to see a deer laying in a sunbeam was incredible and the views are stunning. There is NO tv as they want families and couples to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the hotel and get involved with the many activities offered....hiking trails, biking, horseback riding, volleyball, fishing, kayaking, etc. My only regret was that we arrived late to check in and were only there for one night. This was so beautiful and remote and I would love to go back and spend a few days and truly experience all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahfromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have been coming to this special place for more than 10 years. It's beautiful, the staff have always been very nice and helpful and the food is great. The food in Wolf Creek has improved, but I would like to see more wines available by the glass. I am writing this review because I feel like I must let couples know that it isn't (or wasn't when I was there) very quiet. These things are also not the Lodge's fault, but the parents of the children that are staying at the lodge. We were woken up by children running in the hall and talking loudly. When by the pool, kids were allowed to scream repeatedly. Only once did I see a parent explain to their kids that no one wants to hear them screaming. I'm not opposed to kids having fun and getting loud, but these kids were screaming. I went to the other pool, where I thought it was designated as the quiet pool, but apparently that is no longer the case. Not only were kids screaming, but people talking loudly on their cell phones and one lady was playing country music for all to hear. While the Lodge has a no cell phone sign before entering their restaurant, there were still people getting phone calls and talking on the phone. One table with two kids were watching videos on their phone without headphones. I cringe that this type of behavior is becoming the norm and that society is getting used to it. Maybe this is just the climate in the summer, but I do look foward to relaxing by the pool and laying in the sun. Peace and quiet may be a little hard to get here during the day outside at the Lodge. If only they didn't have such beautiful pools and killer views!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MValleyLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. Summer time can get a wee bit louder with children present. After school is back in session, such as today, the resort is very peaceful and a fabulous time to be here. Bright, warm sun; blue sky; chirping birds; grazing deer, etc.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We planned a last minute trip to Sun Mountain Lodge after the weather in Whister turned. I loved everything about this place. The rooms were clean, spacious and VERY quiet! Although the Lodge was full, it never seemed crowded and was always peaceful. Our kids loved the pool and hot tub. They also liked the game room which had pool tables, ping pong, etc. Plus you could check out other games. Another bonus was NO tvs in the room! The views were spectacular and there was so much to do-right out the door. We played tennis, hiked, mountain biked and just had a relaxing time.
Two improvements I would like to see----1. More cardio equipment in the work out room-at least one more treadmill and eliptical (also two of the mornings there was no towells or disinfectant)
2. More variety on the bar and grill menu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkowala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Husband and I had a great time! We were in the Mt. Robinson room, AWESOME King size bed, fantastic VIEW and best of ALL a jacuzzi tub with a view!! The staff was great!! We decided on Sun Mountain Lodge to get away from the city life, looking for a quite place AND WE FOUND IT!!! We did the cowboy dinner, riding a horse 40 minutes to the Homestead was a great adventure (first time on a horse) and dinner was BBQ steak or chicken and it was perfect!!!. The dining room had great food but must say a bit pricey to eat there (in my opinion) every night your there. The wolf creek bar had great food as well, and at half the price. Jocelyn in the bar provided GREAT service, always upbeat and ready to serve you, even after a 10 hour shift! We were sad to hear that she wouldn't be there for our last day. The only negative thing that we ran into was our first breakfast there and our waiter was NOT friendly, I ordered fruit, crossant and yogurt, I assumed that the yogurt was one flavor and he brought out Peach flavor (I don't like peach) so I chose not eat it, the next day I learned (from another waitress) that we had choices for the yogurt REALLY?????.. With that said, if the yogurt and the server we had at one meal in 4 days was the only thing bad then you know it was a great trip!!!!
We will certainly be back, would love to come up that was for winter!!! See you soon Sun Mountain Lodge!...
**** One request, the money that people spend on the Mt.Robinson rooms you might rethink about the bottle of wine that is in the room at check in and have it in there for FREE!!!!****
**** Nice touch to have music playing in the room as we enter and a nice hand written note****

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacyburas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just had another great mini-vaca at Sun Mountain Lodge. I was there years ago and decided to give myself a treat by staying in one of the Mt. Robison rooms. The hotel is top notch. Everything is spotlessly cleaned. Trust me I looked.
I remember the restaurant serving better food. We ate at the Wolf Creek Grill for dinner and the main dining room for breakfast. It tasted good but I just remember it as outstanding in earlier times. The staff was disconnected yet courteous but it seems that customer service personnel are like that all over Winthrop, especially at the end of the summer season. Great stay but eat in town if you can.

Room Tip: If you can splurge the Gardner and Robinson rooms have awesome views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
5.8 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
5.9 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
417 reviews
5.5 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
6.3 km away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
166 reviews
6.1 km away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $209 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort For All Seasons Inspired by the enduring beauty of nature, Sun Mountain Lodge reflects harmony with its surroundings down to the last detail. Whether you’re looking for refined elegance or a rugged wilderness experience, a place to come together with the family or a romantic getaway, thrill-of-a-lifetime recreation or quiet reflection, or perhaps that rarified place where business and pleasure do mix, Sun Mountain Lodge is poised to exceed your expectations. Guestrooms feature either stunning views of the North Cascades or sweeping territorial views of the Methow Valley and the National Forest. All of our guestrooms are tastefully appointed with original artwork and hand-crafted wood furniture made by local artisans. A reverence for creating delicious food underscores every aspect of the dining experience at Sun Mountain Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing