We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered-plus the horseback riding was fabulous!”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Room was comfortable and cozy. We enjoyed ourselves outdoors most of the time hiking and horseback riding. The stables are run by a top notch horse couple who provide excellent care of their herd as well as their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the love, Mike! We really appreciate hearing from you, and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Sun Mountain Lodge is located in a beautiful setting. The rooms are clean and average. No tv or fridge. It is fairly expensive. The food is also expensive, small portions, and limited choices. There are plenty of walking trails and wildlife that surround the lodge.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank RuthAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi RuthAnn,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us your review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful setting and rooms at Sun Mountain Lodge. We appreciate the hoenst feedback regarding our prices and we'll pass it along to our team to review. We hope you come back for another visit soon. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Just a gorgeous room with a beautiful view and a wonderful Jacuzzi bath that was perfect after a day on the trails. On our private balcony we could see a family of mule deer just feet away. There's lots to do here but I think it would be a really good place to just cocoon as well.

We were in the couples building I think.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank networkedrobotics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thanks so much for the fantastic review! We're so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Sun Mountain and we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We had two nights here and we thought it a beautiful lodge. It's situated at the top of a hill with very little in the way buildings anywhere near. We didn't really get the most of the views because of the smoke from wildfires. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped. The aircon was efficient and not overly noisy. There are lots of different areas to sit and read, play games etc. There are two pools one near the lodge main building and another near the rooms away from the main area, we sat around the latter all day with no-one else there. The lady on check in was very friendly and welcoming, most of the serving staff were efficient and friendly but a couple were rather off hand. I can understand staff getting flustered when it's busy but we had an afternoon snack when it was quiet and our server was surly. We stood at the desk waiting for a table for breakfast whilst the person at the desk ignored us and another couple until we spoke to her. We ate here both nights and at breakfast and the food was pretty good on the whole and there were local craft beers and local wines which were good. It's a real oasis of peace and tranquility set in a pretty valley. We would love to have been able to appreciate the beauty of the area without the all pervading and view obscuring yellow smoke haze.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Jonathan,

Thanks so much for giving us your great review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sun Mountain Lodge. We're sorry about the wildfire smoke during your visit and we hope you can visit us again in the future to really soak in the beautiful views of the Methow Valley. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Facilities are clean and gracious if dated. View is very beautiful. This is my fifth trip to Sun Mountain Lodge and unfortunately my last.

This trip one of the hot tubs was out which was disappointing. But the real disappointment was customer service at the restaurant. All of the guests were squeezed into a very small space evidently for ease of service. My wife and I asked for a private table for an intimate dinner. We were taken to a table in the middle of the busy room and offered that table or a cocktail table in the bar area. There was an entire room of unused tables but for some reason that was not an option. Further the woman behind the bar told me that I was not allowed in anyway with my coffee mug. We left. Gracious treatment of customers was not a priority with that staff. It soured me on the entire experience. Next trip I think I'll stay elsewhere where the staff will extend themselves to make for an enjoyable dining experience and not hassle me about a coffee mug.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick_HSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We're so sorry to hear the customer service was a let down during your visit and we'd like to try to make this right. If you could give us your email we'd like to reach out directly to address your concerns and try to make it up to you. Thanks and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
5.8 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
5.5 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
489 reviews
5.9 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
332 reviews
6.3 km away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
169 reviews
6.1 km away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $177 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort For All Seasons Inspired by the enduring beauty of nature, Sun Mountain Lodge reflects harmony with its surroundings down to the last detail. Whether you’re looking for refined elegance or a rugged wilderness experience, a place to come together with the family or a romantic getaway, thrill-of-a-lifetime recreation or quiet reflection, or perhaps that rarified place where business and pleasure do mix, Sun Mountain Lodge is poised to exceed your expectations. Guestrooms feature either stunning views of the North Cascades or sweeping territorial views of the Methow Valley and the National Forest. All of our guestrooms are tastefully appointed with original artwork and hand-crafted wood furniture made by local artisans. A reverence for creating delicious food underscores every aspect of the dining experience at Sun Mountain Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing