We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Winthrop Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AbbyCreek Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$99
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rio Vista(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Gardner Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chewuch Inn & Cabins(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$120
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
342
143
50
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
342
143
50
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roompatterson lakerobinson roomshorseback ridingbar grillwolf creek barmain restaurantcombo dinnerski shophiking trailsget awaytennis courtssleigh ridegames roomjacuzzi tubcornbreadeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Sun Mountain Lodge is located in a beautiful setting. The rooms are clean and average. No tv or fridge. It is fairly expensive. The food is also expensive, small portions, and limited choices. There are plenty of walking trails and wildlife that surround the lodge.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank RuthAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi RuthAnn,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us your review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful setting and rooms at Sun Mountain Lodge. We appreciate the hoenst feedback regarding our prices and we'll pass it along to our team to review. We hope you come back for another visit soon. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Just a gorgeous room with a beautiful view and a wonderful Jacuzzi bath that was perfect after a day on the trails. On our private balcony we could see a family of mule deer just feet away. There's lots to do here but I think it would be a really good place to just cocoon as well.

We were in the couples building I think.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank networkedrobotics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thanks so much for the fantastic review! We're so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Sun Mountain and we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We had two nights here and we thought it a beautiful lodge. It's situated at the top of a hill with very little in the way buildings anywhere near. We didn't really get the most of the views because of the smoke from wildfires. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped. The aircon was efficient and not overly noisy. There are lots of different areas to sit and read, play games etc. There are two pools one near the lodge main building and another near the rooms away from the main area, we sat around the latter all day with no-one else there. The lady on check in was very friendly and welcoming, most of the serving staff were efficient and friendly but a couple were rather off hand. I can understand staff getting flustered when it's busy but we had an afternoon snack when it was quiet and our server was surly. We stood at the desk waiting for a table for breakfast whilst the person at the desk ignored us and another couple until we spoke to her. We ate here both nights and at breakfast and the food was pretty good on the whole and there were local craft beers and local wines which were good. It's a real oasis of peace and tranquility set in a pretty valley. We would love to have been able to appreciate the beauty of the area without the all pervading and view obscuring yellow smoke haze.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Jonathan,

Thanks so much for giving us your great review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sun Mountain Lodge. We're sorry about the wildfire smoke during your visit and we hope you can visit us again in the future to really soak in the beautiful views of the Methow Valley. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Facilities are clean and gracious if dated. View is very beautiful. This is my fifth trip to Sun Mountain Lodge and unfortunately my last.

This trip one of the hot tubs was out which was disappointing. But the real disappointment was customer service at the restaurant. All of the guests were squeezed into a very small space evidently for ease of service. My wife and I asked for a private table for an intimate dinner. We were taken to a table in the middle of the busy room and offered that table or a cocktail table in the bar area. There was an entire room of unused tables but for some reason that was not an option. Further the woman behind the bar told me that I was not allowed in anyway with my coffee mug. We left. Gracious treatment of customers was not a priority with that staff. It soured me on the entire experience. Next trip I think I'll stay elsewhere where the staff will extend themselves to make for an enjoyable dining experience and not hassle me about a coffee mug.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick_HSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We're so sorry to hear the customer service was a let down during your visit and we'd like to try to make this right. If you could give us your email we'd like to reach out directly to address your concerns and try to make it up to you. Thanks and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is a relaxing hotel in a fantastic location. We had a room with King size bed and a view of the pool and mountains. Spent some time in the hot tub outside where the temperature was just perfect. The trails are wonderful for short, gentle walks or strenuous hikes. The staff at the front desk were unfailingly helpful, polite and friendly.

Room Tip: We liked the view of the pool and mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSunMountain, Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, Jan! We're so glad you're a fan of Sun Mountain Lodge and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews