We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort stopped ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We had to use this for a last minute decision since every other local hotel was book, and we were so tired to drive.

The room is very outdated. Didn't even have a telephone to communicate with the front desk. You had to hold the flush handle as long as its takes to be able to flush. The sheet and the comforter were darken white color with cigarette holes on them.

Having said all that, it was safe and convenient to go to the near by 7-Eleven? Dinner, Walgreens, gas station.....

For cheap stay or emergency stop when you tired, but not a comfortable stay.

BTW. They claim free WiFi......NOT.... it didn't even load...

Good luck.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

This has got to be a family owned business because not one person was friendly. I was essentially kicked out due to having a small cat, in which I disclosed and they pretended I had not. Booking online did not allow me to acknowledge the cat so I had to in person when I arrived around 2 in the morning. Instead of just letting me pay the extra, they ordered me gone as if I were a peasant and poor...Never again. The place was so run down I could hardly imagine my cat a problem...

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank babygurl20234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

After blowing through 11,000 dollars at the casino across the street I needed a place to crash for the night. I only had enough money for one night at Americas best value inn and I thought to myself why not. Turns out, I stumbled upon Charles Town's best hidden treasure! The lobby and waiting area had a very warm and welcoming decor with a lovely water fountain to give the room life and good vibe. The lady at the front desk was very nice; which was a relief after the crappy night I had! I went to my room to be welcomed by chocolates on the pillow and the towels folded in the shape of a bird! Very classy touch! I unpacked my things and noticed a fridge on the table by the tv. In it was an unopened bottle of jack Daniels and a unopened gallon of milk! You know what that means! A great end to the night and Raisin Bran for breakfast! The toilet in the bathroom had a setting on it to where it would wipe your underside for you! How considerate! The continental breakfast was complete with fresh pastries, eggs, waffles, and fresh fruit! I enjoyed my Raisin Bran but it was nice to have the option! Overall a great night even though I burned through all my sons college fund, oops.... anyways, great stay and I can say with confidence that Americas best value inn has the best value!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Bobbyballz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

i think you have a better chance not catching something if you slept in the woods.. sheets dirty, carpet dirty, walls dirty, floor dirty..smells bad, oh yea towels dirty and the worst part you will prob end up with bugs.. no bs

Room Tip: the Turf motel is only about another mile down the road..very close to casino and downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cherimarchesani6029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The staff helped earn at least one star, just barely. After an initial discourteous retort, the clerk worked to accommodate our needs, even recommending a great place for breakfast - probably because she knew the continental breakfast that would be offered by the hotel would only have a half dozen, stale looking pastries.

The room seemed to be comprised of furnishings that had long passed their usefulness at other hotels. A refrigerator (that needed cleaning but did cool) and microwave had been set in the closet area with attached hangers still attached. To make up for this overtaking of space, a wardrobe had been added. Unfortunately, no one thought to add hangers to it - or put it completely together; the back was coming off.

While an outlet did provide power, it did so only if one held the plug in oneself. Given that it was also beside the door, away from any usable surface such as a table, it would not have been useful even if the plugs did stay in! The only other option was to unplug a lamp and use that outlet. Fortunately, the device I was attempting to recharge was also self-illuminating.

Starting the hot water at least five minutes before getting into the shower allowed the water to be almost warm enough for bathing. This technique was also necessary for the water at the sink to be warm.

The bed was worn out. The mismatched pillows more so. The burn holes in the bedspread called into question when it may have been cleaned. But given that the carpet and walls also raised this question, the bedspread was used anyway because....

The heating/ac unit had two settings despite labels otherwise - cold and really cold. Not exactly the settings of choice on an already cold night.

The "free wifi", if it really existed, did not provide a strong enough signal to be used.

We stayed here because everything else was booked due to the number of large events in the area and it "beat staying in the car." Next time - I'll stay in the car.

Room Tip: For a good room, go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
3.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charles Town
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
9 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
309 reviews
13.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Dr, Charles Town, WV 25414-4440 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing