We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful, spot

Very nice, traditional styling. Beautifully decorated and surprisingly available for rent for... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
WelltraveledWV
,
Charleston, West Virginia
The guide (Royce) was excellent.

The guide (Royce) was excellent. We made a last minute reservation and he worked hard to fit us in... read more

Reviewed 1 June 2018
Bill L
,
Buffalo, New York
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
21
4
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour my spouse next door kanawha river beautiful building west virginia statehouse stately guide artifacts architecture
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Definitely worth a look while visiting the adjacent capitol building (see separate review). It's a beautiful building and I understand tours can be prearranged to visit the interior but we only saw it from the outside.
So for anyone who likes architecture or for a simple photo opportunity then do take a few minutes to see it,for those with more time and an interest in local history or interior design then definitely look into arranging a tour.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank ARodriguezP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I have been to the Governor's Mansion many times! It is very beautiful and historical. A must visit when in Charleston, our Capitol City!! Of Note: You must schedule a tour in advance of your visit.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Candi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The AAA tourist book for West Virginia stated that the Governor's Mansion is often opened for tours but you have to call for a reservation. When we got to the state capitol building , we asked our tor guide if we could visit the mansion, which is just across the street. She called and arranged for a private tour. The front porch overlooks the Kanawha River and has beautiful gardens. The inside is replete with a formal dining room and artifacts that speak to the history of the state, Thanks to Governor Jim Justice for allowing visitors to view his residence. This was an unexpected surprise for us and we wish to thank our tour guide for arranging our visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank tikvah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I grew up in Charleston and had the opportunity to tour the mansion last weekend. It is a very impressive home, with an enormous amount of history. It was beautiful both inside and out. I truly appreciated the opportunity to visit and my children loved the tour.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank grovers572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Our Governor's Mansion is very beautiful and When Jay Rockefeller was Governor Mrs. Sharon Rockefeller invited some children from Mexico that were visiting in my neighborhood for cookies and milk -the Mansion is open for visitors especially at /Christmas and they always have a beautiful tree

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews