We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th weekend train trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Ridge Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We rented the upstairs Griffin room with a queen size bed and daybed with trundle and a private bath with corner shower. The room was a nice size, very clean, with a nice counter top for luggage. One change from on-line photo, the two single chairs & end table have been moved to the common room downstairs and a single rocker is in it's place now. When we arrived, the windows were open and the ceiling fan was on for our comfort. The room did get a little warm for our taste, we like a very cold room for sleeping but was remedied by turning on the fan. Breakfast was very nice with generous portions including a meat which is very important to my carnivore hubby. I was a bit put off by the yard which was overdue for mowing, and was a little confused on which door to enter since there was no clear sidewalk from the marked guest area but was pleased with everything else and would stay here again when we visit Cass Scenic Railroad when they open their new tracks in 3-4 years. Note, no frig in room but there is a frig in common room with complimentary cold drinks and hot water and tea bags available. Paula and Larry are great hosts and are worth getting to know.

Room Tip: We choose an upstairs room for a quieter room. Area and road is very quiet so imagine any room woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaasfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

I'm a landscaper and arborist by trade, first thing was lawn hadn't been mowed in a while. The room we stayed in was the Allegheny Ridge Guest House, it was very nice inside. We thought that the taped paper on the walls for telling you what the lights go to was a little much. I'm clearly old enough to know how to find out what light I want on. There was a coffee maker in the room but the coffee was in a container were every other person has used, the spoons were the same. The nights sleep for us was very bad, the bed could had been a piece of plywood couldn't had told the different! Breakfast was good and the folks who were there with us to eat were very nice, as was the owners of the B&B. Only wish we could had got a good nights sleep!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeepers1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We loved being out of the hustle and bustle and enjoying the beautiful mountains. Easy travel to Cass Railroad and many places for casual eating. Our Hosts were outstanding. And in spite of a severe storm and loss of electricity, the automatic generator kicked right in to keep us comfortable. HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

This inn is everything I love about B&Bs -- a cozy house with creaky floors, friendly hosts, and hot, delicious breakfasts! We stayed with Larry and Paula for 3 nights in mid-February 2016 for a long weekend at Snowshoe, which is about 30 minutes away by car.

We were well-taken care of right from the start: weather forced us to delay our departure, and Larry was quite gracious to greet us so warmly at the ungodly hour of our eventual arrival. We were also given discount coupons at one of the rental shops on the mountain, which came in handy as we needed to buy extra gear. When we returned from skiing, we found a gift box of chocolates in our room - woohoo! (It was Valentine's Day weekend) Larry and Paula were also able to recommend places to eat at Snowshoe and in the area; they seem to know everyone :) and their expertise is much appreciated.

Our room was large and comfortable. We stayed in the Griffin Ridge room, which is the upstairs room with the private bathroom. Highly recommended for a couple -- that bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The views were lovely.

The breakfasts were perfect. Reading past reviews, it seems that they used to do a family-style meal with everyone around one table, and that has definitely changed -- each set of guests now sits at their own table and is served their own meal as they arrive. There was more than enough food for the two of us, and it was local, home-cooked deliciousness. We had oatmeal, peach French toast, and scrambled eggs and biscuits -- all were wonderful. I for one appreciated the Greek yogurt each morning, too.

By the way, this house is old, and the floors do creak, but it is QUIET as all get-out (which I love). We stayed at the same time as a family of 3 and two other couples and I wouldn't have known there was a child under the age of 10 in the house if we hadn't seen that family at breakfast. Maybe that's because we were upstairs, but still -- for a house as old as it is, the serene silence you get upstairs is a treasure! On that note, there is no TV in your room, though there is a small one downstairs in the sitting room next to the kitchen; there is very reliable wireless Internet, but you have to ask for the password. I find this a huge plus, as I'm on vacation to ski and get away from the daily grind of constantly being connected.

By the way, I marked "not sure" on "Is this hotel good for families?" because we don't have kids and thus don't travel with them -- though the family of 3 that stayed with us seemed quite content. So, take that as you will.

There are house animals that are adorable -- many birds in the yard, two giant fuzzy cats, and a lab/Dachsund mix, Bear, who is just the sweetest thing. Paula and Larry are wonderful hosts who listen to their guests and are constantly striving to be better innkeepers, and it shows. Overall, I loved staying here and would definitely do so again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Griffin Ridge room if you can -- it's large and the views are marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shadowflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Larry and Paula run the place. Very nice Bed and Breakfast. It's an old house that been fixed up and has 4 internal guest rooms and small house out back too. They make a hearty breakfast to start you off each day. They are about 6 miles from the Cass railroad so a good choice if your planning to ride the train and maybe explore the other things in the area.
We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. They have free Wi-Fi, but there is only a small TV in family room. There is no cell service in the area, but if you have the latest version of software for your phone most now allow phone service over Wi-Fi. This way you can get mail, make a call or text someone in the morning or evening. The rest of the time you should be out exploring the things in the area.
Highly recommend if you are staying in the area that you give them a call book a room.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePCGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chestnut Ridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Ridge Country Inn

Address: 84 Dunmore Rd, Dunmore, WV 24934-9124
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunmore
Price Range: $162 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Ridge Country Inn bed and breakfast lodging near Snowshoe Ski Resort, Cass scenic Railroad, Greenbrier River Trail and National Radio Observatory. We offer 5 large guestrooms with private baths and a cottage. We are family friendly and motorcycle friendly. We are within 6 miles of Greenbrier River Trail, National Radio Observatory and Cass Scenic Railway and 15 miles from Snowshoe Ski Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing