We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs eat food of plates is the restaurant!?!?!?”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Our Glenville team has stayed here for the past couple of years, to say that this last stay was disappointing is an understatement.
It is disgusting and unsanitary to let dogs come in to the restaurant at breakfast and eat the breakfast food off of the same plates that we eat off of.
There is no excuse, no justifiable reason that this was allowed not only to happen, but to continue while we sat in the same room. It was appalling.
When we said something to the waitress, we were told the manager said "Don't worry about it."
I felt terrible for the waitress. Not only was she as stunned as we were, but she had to come to us and say, "there's nothing I can do, the manager told me, don't worry about it."
I'd like to know where he was during this whole train wreck.
'Don't worry' about us coming back.

Room Tip: Don't eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Terasa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we did not live up to your standards. I was trying to accommodate a guest with a service dog. I an sorry you were offended. That was certainly not what was intended. I'm trying to get our staff to be more guest friendly and accommodating. I may have fell to far the other way. For that i am truly sorry. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Building is outdated, however rooms and bathrooms have been updated somewhat. spacious and clean and right off the highway. It was nice to have a restaurant on site for dinner.
Breakfast was great with real plates, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage etc.
Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank letusgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to make of the varying reviews until I stayed here, and I have decided that it was a case of getting what you pay for. This was an older property that we selected due to its' location on our travel route and the fact that it was pet friendly. Our medium sized king room was dated and showed some wear and tear. The room's configuration did not match the pictures on the website (which showed a loveseat), so I might suggest the hotel add some of their own. It had a full sized refrigerator, table, and two chairs so would work for longer stays. Although I initially felt the property was somewhat shabby (not sure where those updated rooms were), I quickly felt more at ease as I observed the cleanliness of the room. The towels were plentiful and the bed was comfortable with many pillows. I would have preferred that the blanket be double-sheeted, however. The staff was welcoming. There was an on site restaurant and bar, with decent but not great food. Still, it was nice not to have to get in the car again. We were the only customers which was a bit strange in terms of atmosphere. The breakfast was a better version of the typical Choice hotel fare because the scrambled eggs were real, and the sausage was not the preformed kind. It was also nice to eat from real plates, an advantage of a property with a real restaurant. The hotel was easy to access from Route 79, but as others have noted our GPS told us to turn left, when instead the driveway was a quick right, and then quick left, almost straight across from the exit. The sign was easy to see in the daylight, but might not be as apparent at night. Please note that there was a long, curvy, and steep driveway up to the property. If I passed through this way again, I would probably choose to pay more and stay at a more upscale property. However, if you had the right expectation this was a bargain, and definitely worth the price paid.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lkr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My wife and I had an unexpected stop over here and it was such a nice surprise. The rooms are updated, the staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very tasty! I did not expect this, as we didn't plan to stop here. So glad we had the chance to! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjt124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Clarion Fairmont. Your note was a pleasant surprise. I will certainly pass it on to the staff. It makes the work worthwhile to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again from the Clarion Fairmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff is very warm and friendly. The rooms are updated and clean. Everything is so comfortable and nice. It is so close to the University to visit my daughter. I will be coming here over and over again. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STM2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Clarion Fairmont. I will certainly pass your kind words on to our staff. We look forward to having you back with us at the Clarion Fairmont, as your daughter works toward her degree. Again, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont
7.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
255 reviews
7.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
4.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Fairmont
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
5 km away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 11 in Fairmont
233 reviews
23.9 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 930 E Grafton Rd, Fairmont, WV 26554-4499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range: $69 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing