We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
51
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storehome goodssomeone else'swest virginiarelaxing weekendhidden jewelscreened in porchgracious hoststonijauntpropertyrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This weekend we stayed again at The Inn at Lost River and it was another terrific visit. The hospitality of Toni and Ted Hardy was superb in this peaceful and beautiful setting in the Lost River valley of West Virginia. The inn is tastefully furnished with a large dining room, two sitting rooms and three rooms in the main inn. Two other rooms are available in detached cottages. We stayed in one of them with a screened porch and well appointed interior. A perfect location for enjoying the evening. Breakfast was an elegant five star meal with three selections in the main dining room overlooking the front yard of the inn. I had the Belgium waffles with raspberries and blueberries and my wife had the vegetable frittata with local fresh vegetables, both preceded by an elegant fresh raspberry and peach parfait with yogurt and granola served in a martini glass. Toni and Ted also run the adjacent Lost River General Store, an authentic old country store serving breakfast and lunch including a good selection of ice cream, local gifts and wine. Lots of activities to do near by, particularly the Lost River State Park with hiking and horseback riding. We dined again in Wardensville at the Lost River Brewery and it did not disappoint. We will definitely be back and look forward to trying kayaking and canoeing in one of the nearby rivers. Toni and Ted have lots of ideas for activities and go out of their way to make it a special weekend. We would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni H, Owner at The Inn at Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We thank you for your gracious comments and look forward to sharing "Lost River Valley Hospitality" with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I have been to the Lost River area many times over the years, but my fiance and I were fortunate enough to spend our first weekend at The Inn at Lost River last weekend. The Inn was beautiful, and we really loved sleeping in the private Spring House room with a private bath and a screened patio facing the rear of the property. We spent most of our time on the property in the spring house quarters, but the main house was truly beautiful, and would be a great place to socialize if we had brought another couple or two along on the trip.

Toni and Ted, the inn keepers, were wonderfully hospitable. The breakfast was more impressive than we ever expected, and was just what we needed to fuel up for our morning hike to the vista at Cranny Crow in the nearby Lost River State Park. In observing the care that Toni and Ted take with their hospitality, it is apparent that this Inn is a labor of love for them both; it is much more than a business.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni H, Owner at The Inn at Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016


Ted and I thoroughly enjoyed having you all as our guests and your discovery of The Inn at Lost River in West Virginia’s wonderful River Valley! It was fun to learn about each of your stories and journeys.
We thank you for taking your time to share your comments with others. Look forward to future breakfasts and hikes in Lost River State Park!
Cheers,
Toni


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This was our third stay here in the past year and a half. The first stay was purely by luck, as we were referred when the motel we'd intended to stay was booked. We've known Toni for years but met her husband Ted. They are very sweet people who enjoy our visits each time. They go out of their way to ensure we enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We have been going to The Inn at Lost River for a few years now, and our experience is consistently fantastic. The breakfast is oh-so-amazing, the grounds are meticulously maintained, and the serenity is unbeatable. The beds are very comfortable and make for a great night's sleep! A relatively short drive from the hustle of DC and I can truly relax here. Ted and Toni are wonderful and ever so generous. I cannot recommend The Inn at Lost River enough.

Room Tip: We love the Spring House for the screened in patio. Great for reading and enjoying a glass of wine or coffee.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I have nothing new to add but wanted to report my experience here was every bit as nice as described by all of the other reviewers.
Highly recommended for anybody wanting a peaceful, quiet stay in a lovely part of West Virginia, just two hours from Washington DC.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike__R0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews