We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything, be aware of rooms on the first floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for business for a few days, and mostly the hotel is fine. It's very close to major roads and highways and within walking distance to the casino and horse racetrack.
I had a handicap king room on the first floor because apparently it was the last one left. The room was spacious (as it should be for ADA) and had a fridge and microwave.

The downsides were that it was right next to the gym and without the fan on, you could hear the activities going on. Also, the window looked directly out to the smoking bench, which funneled the smoking smell into my room when someone was outside.
Breakfast was great, big spread with good coffee. The gym was small, two treadmills and a bike, some weights. It wasn't too busy and I didn't have to wait to use anything.
Overall, my stay was fine except the few gripes with my particular room.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank tiedrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

I am sorry to hear that. I will definitely look into those issues for a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

We had a great stay at Holiday Inn Express at Charles Town! The staff were very friendly, the rooms were spacious and very clean, and the complimentary breakfast was awesome! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgera2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel gave us a much better rate than the similar hotels in the area. The shuttle to the casino/track ran all the time. The breakfast was on par with other holiday inn express hotels I've stayed in. The front desk employees were very friendly and always asked if they can help.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank vinnieinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I couldn't have said it better myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We were in the area visiting family, and planned on staying at this hotel. We've had nothing but good experiences here, and this trip was no different. Welcoming hosts at the front desk for check-in; room on the ground floor as requested, and a very spacious room, too! Breakfast was outstanding, as usual. My only complaint was that the wi-fi was acting up, but that's not really the hotel's fault, you know? Next time we're in Charles Town, this is where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jmmistytamplen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you so much for your understanding in this matter. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here after visit to Harpers Ferry. We were able to choose what floor we wanted and our room was immediately available. (We did have reservations). Room was clean and free of odors. Beds were comfy with nice pillows. The temperature of the room remained comfortable despite changing weather outside. We had plenty of towels which were soft. The fitness facility was a nice amenity with complimentary towels, however we were not able to use the outdoor pool due to the weather. The only potential drawback was for light, late sleepers. Our room was near the stairs and evidently near the hotel laundry. The washing machine (on the 2nd floor-I think) could be heard. It wasn't a problem for us because we were awake and going to eat breakfast (which was more than adequate!). Very friendly staff. We would stay here again and again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Etownrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.7 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
270 reviews
8.5 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
0.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charles Town
15.0 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range: $177 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing