We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
21
5
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
5
4
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Very nice accomodations in the national forest of Wisconsin. You have to watch for the sign for the associated restaurant on the highway. Well maintained, clean, very much a lodge feeling. The decorum was very modern and tasteful. The whole setting was very nice. We had to arrive very late but they were helpful in working with us. we wish we could have tried the restaurant but were too late. My wife said she loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

If your looking for a quiet get away, this is a great place to stay. It is small having only I believe 7 guestrooms. Seems like it use to be a home turned into a B&B style hotel. The room was clean and good sized. It is fairly quiet almost all the time. The food is good and the Sunday entertainment was a nice touch.

The location is about 7 miles from cable and around 30 minutes from Hayward. Most of the fun hiking trails and activities will take 15-30 minutes by car to get to like Copper Falls.

One thing I did notice is that there is no one around in the mornings if you need something. So just be prepared to make sure you are all stocked up with room amenities before going to bed. The rooms do come with a single cup coffee maker and fridge which is a nice touch.

Best way to describe this place is laid back and quiet.

There is not a lot to do other then hike, bike, eat or visit Cable and Hayward. So if you NEED a place to unwind and relax, this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHIP O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel, no, not hotel, bed & breakfast, is beautiful, quaint, and backwoodsy. If it's just 2 people, and no problems arise in your stay at all, you'll probably have a good time. However, when problems do happen, watch out. Travelocity booked our stay wrong (we booked over the phone). They booked for 2 people, not 3. The place is not designed for more than 2 people per room. The owner was rude, and was like, it's not his problem, and told us to take it up with travelocity. We understood that it was Travelocity's fault, but when the third person (adult) in your party is given a twin mattress, on the floor, with just a fitted sheet, pillow, and an old, stained blanket, you complain. He didn't care. At all. No sympathy. No customer service. Just, take it up with travelocity. We wanted to cancel our second night, but he wouldn't let us. It's not our fault you can't get anyone to stay in your hotel/bed & breakfast during the summer, so don't take it out on us! It took travelocity contacting him to get him to change his stance. We agreed to stay there 1 night, and he only refunded $40 of the $195. The hotel we stayed at the next night heard our story, and was so generous that we walked away praising that other hotel and its owner. You would think that any business owner would want customers going home and telling all their family, friends, anyone, and everyone about their amazing experience instead of telling all of their family, friends, coworkers, facebook, Google plus, everyone possible, and multiple hotel review sites how horrible their experience was. Apparently, this guy isn't that type of owner.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank ZiggyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, Owner at Cable Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Sometimes in this business you just have to shake your head. Cable Nature Lodge is indeed designed as a quiet getaway for couples rather than families, and that is exactly how we advertise. In this case we were expecting two people to arrive because that's what their online reservation stated, and that's also what we confirmed via email in advance (which they apparently didn't read). Instead three people showed up to stay in a room clearly designated as having just one king bed. And then proceeded to pitch a fit. She calls ME rude? All of my staff who dealt with this woman were appalled by the manner in which she went off on them. My only conversation with her was by telephone as it was my night off. The moment I answered she launched into a tirade so intense I could scarcely get a word in. In the end we gave them a second guest room at no additional charge beyond our normal rate for three people in a single room (the floor mattress we offer in such exceptional cases is quite comfortable and the bedding is very clean). Contrary to this woman's statement we did in fact cancel their second night, which is why we issued a partial refund well before Travelocity ever contacted us to apologize for their mistake. Frankly, my entire staff was very happy to see these people leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

My husband and I just returned from a delightful visit to the North Woods. We had previously owned property in Cable and were sure we would not find a place as special to stay. Were we wrong...the Cable Nature Lodge was clean, comfortable and had incredible views of nature out your window. It was quiet and supported our love of silent sports! You can snow shoe right out the door or drive a couple miles to some of the best cross country skiing and snow shoeing in the Midwest! There was a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave...and the double whirlpool tub was amazing after a day in the snow. Bill, our host was helpful but gave us our privacy. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and it was wonderful to be able to just go downstairs to the Rookery Restaurant for a fabulous dinner!

This was a great place to spend our anniversary! We will be back!

Room Tip: Check the website. There are great photos of all the rooms on line. Check for specials off season.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DTK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms! The restaurant downstairs is quite expensive! Nice dog hanging around. Not a bad price for the rooms. They recommended the Delta Diner which is an awesome place for breakfast! I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews