We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
73
68
41
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
68
41
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pittennis courtsboard gamespeninsula state parkgrills and picnic tablesdoor countywoodsy feelshort stayindoor poolremodeled roomslaminate flooringstaff was friendly and accommodatinghot tubdouble queennice weekenddorm fridgesink mirror
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We were pleased with our accommodations. Lovely setting, woodsy and beautiful. Room was recently renovated, clean... and the bed was very comfortable. We go to Door County a lot, and this hotel is now on our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SATBeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you! We're really glad you found us! We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Fish Creek!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We didn't book our hotel until the last minute because we didn't know where we wanted to stay. Thank you to all you TripAdvisor reviewers for tipping the scales for Parkwood Lodge! We chose it because it was close to where we were heading (Peninsula State Park and then Washington Island/Rock Island) and affordable compared to other hotels in Fish Creek. It also was one of the best options for a one night stay -- some of the resorts/cabins require a minimum of 2 or 3 nights!

Honestly, I was expecting it to be rundown and sketchy. I tried to get my husband to book a more expensive hotel/resort so I didn't have to hear my picky 9-year-old complain. My expectations were low, but we were pleasantly surprised! Even my 9-year-old was content and he doesn't hide when he thinks a place is gross or a potential health hazard. He's very squeamish and clean, so it was a great sign that he felt comfortable enough to take his shoes off, lay on the bed, and explore without a wrinkled nose in the air!

PRICE
By far the most affordable place to stay in the area. If they stay affordable, we'd definitely come back. The affordable price tag reflects the modest but clean rooms and sensible, no-frills amenities.

LOCATION
This hotel is literally right across from Peninsula State Park. We met a couple of ladies who said they opted to stay at the lodge instead of camping with their friends because they didn't like tents. It's a great place to stay if you want to explore the park but don't want to deal with setting up a campsite. It felt like such a short drive to everything. We also liked that after exploring the restaurants/shops and tourist traps, we could come back to the lodge which felt serene, quiet, and outdoorsy.

ROOM
We could tell our room was recently remodeled so we were quite happy. It was clean and suited all our needs and then some. Small fridge; microwave; coffee pot; hair dryer; television (which we never turned on).

The bathroom was small but clean. The toilet and shower/bath is in a separate enclosed room; the sink/mirror is in the room with the bed. It worked fine for our needs.

Beds were soft and clean.

You can open the windows for the fresh breeze or turn on the AC. There was some mechanical buzzing when we slept (my husband said it was the fridge) but we were too tired to be affected by it.

One note: Our beds weren't platform beds. Don't forget to check underneath the beds make sure your belongings didn't roll under there before check out.

POOL/HOT TUB
Despite the fact that it was a weekend, we had the pool pretty much to ourselves. There were lots of clean towels on hand and the facilities looked fine. When you go to the bathroom/arcade area you can tell that the lodge is old. The bathroom in the pool area has yet to be remodeled (as of 6/2018) so it definitely showed its age. But it was clean and usable.

My husband noted that the pool was a bit cloudy so maybe it needed more cleaning chemicals--but it wasn't anything that made us terribly nervous. There was not that oppressive smell of chlorine like some indoor pools have so that was a plus. There is also a sun deck off the pool area if you decide you want to work on your tan and/or get some fresh air.

GROUNDS
The Lodge is composed of different buildings so if you want to be close to something in particular, you should ask the front desk. We didn't mind the walk since it was such a nice weekend. For instance, the ice machine was in a separate building that required a short walk outside...that walk may be less enjoyable in the rain.

EXTRAS
Fire Pit: There was a great little fire pit outside with wooden benches around it. The front desk has matches and firestarters and even sticks for roasting marshmallows. We joined another couple at the firepit and our son had smores. It was pleasant and outdoorsy and not something you'd get at your standard motel.

Grills and Picnic Tables: There were grills and picnic tables scattered throughout the grounds. We planned to eat out at local restaurants, but it would have been equally enjoyable to grill since the accomodations were right there. Great idea.

Outdoor Chairs: There are plastic chairs outside each room in case you'd like to sit and enjoy the outdoors (and/or smoke) outside your room. It's such thoughtful touch and definitely useful.

Tennis Court: Right outside the pool sun deck are some tennis courts. We didn't use them, and we didn't see anyone else use them, but we would definitely consider it next time.

Basketball Hoop: There was a portable basketball hoop out by one of the parking spaces. I think it was less practical than the tennis courts which were enclosed with fencing. The hoop was set against some wooded area...so I imagine unless you are an amazing shot, you can expect to keep chasing your ball through the trees/bushes. Plus, you'd probably hit a car or two.

Ice Machine/Laundry Room: The ice machine is in the laundry room. It's a very modest set up. The laundry room is just one washer and dryer, but it is always helpful to know that there's something available in case there is an emergency or an accident or your swimsuit isn't drying fast enough.

Board Games: In the check in cabin, there is a whole shelf of board games. We love board games but we didn't use any this weekend.

Arcade/Pool Table: The check-in cabin contains the "arcade & pool table" as well as the "pool & hot tub". The arcade is modest and dated and we didn't see anyone using those facilities aside from a curious child or two slapping at the buttons.

Wi-Fi & Computer: The Wi-fi was usable. It was sluggish, but that's to be expected. It was fast enough to find someplace to eat on Trip Advisor but not fast enough to upload pictures and a review comfortable. I believe there was also a computer for guest use in the check-in cabin.

NO CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
There is no continental breakfast but they have coffee and hot chocolate in the check-in cabin. It's always a bit of a bummer to not have breakfast on hand, but it is easy enough to bring your own muffins for the morning.

STAFF
Staff was pleasant and helpful. The person who checked us in reminded our 9-year-old that there was no smoking and no pets allowed in the room..."So leave your cigar smoking dog in the car." My son didn't get it, but it made my husband laugh. Another guest told us that the staff opened the check-in cabin late the day before...but the staff kept their steady hours while we were there.

Room Tip: There are separate buildings on the grounds. Some rooms require outdoor stairs. Ask the staff if you require a specific location.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Guest Relations Manager at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review for us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Door County, and we are excited to see you again the next time you stay with us. We are continually striving to improve our property, and have remodeled 51 of our units, and will work on the last 8 this winter. Once our units have been completed, we have exciting ideas on improving the other aspects of the property, such as the common areas and tennis courts.

Again, we truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and we look forward to seeing you again!

-Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Situated off the main 2 lane highway right between Fish Creek and Ephraim this is a solid location if you don't mind not being right in town. It's real close to an old school Drive In Theatre which packs them in at showtime around 9pm ( get there at 8:30) and a cool looking supper club "The English Inn". The room was real quiet, We didn't hear a sound from the highway or people in the 3 nights we stayed and were there on a busy weekend.
The room was real clean and we felt very safe. There was a noticeable paint smell and the AC would not remain on, so you may want to check that if it will be hot when you are there. The pool is nice and big , clean and good hot tub, The staff was friendly and helpful with places to eat and see in the area. Would recommend and stay again

Stayed: June 2018
Thank fooofighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Guest Relations Manager at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We have been staying here for years. When we were married two years ago this is where me and my hubby and all the guests stayed. It is clean, friendly, situated on a beautiful property ( we took some wedding pics by the beautiful flowers out front). We sat by a firepit at night and enjoyed swimming in the pool and relaxing in the whirlpool. It is in a great location between Fish creek and Ephraim, but with all the trees you feel like you are way up north. Many of our wedding guests have now made this their spot to stay while in Door county!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Guest Relations Manager at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you Michelle! We are so glad you choose us when you come visit Door County, and it's always a pleasure to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great location, friendly folks at great price. The location is wooded and has a nice indoor pool. There are separated buildings instead of 1 large hotel feel. Parking was no problem and not overcrowded

Room Tip: Great location in the middle upper and lower Door
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L3324KStomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPWL, Guest Relations Manager at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope to see you again! - Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews