We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
31
19
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
19
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe kayak storm door town park for more than one night beautiful island jacuzzi tub huge bathroom king bed quiet location very nice place to stay walk in shower apostle islands great room overlooking lake superior light keepers condo fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We stayed in the Marina Point Condos, Units 501A and 504A. While the units themselves were clean, the beds were mediocre. They weren't very comfortable for a good night's sleep in either of the units, especially considering the cost of the condos. We also found the dishes in the cupboards in 501A to be dirty. We had to re-wash whatever we wanted to use. In 504A, the oven element was broken, so the oven couldn't be used. On the positive side, it was quiet, the screened in porch was a nice touch in 501A, and the units were roomy enough for a family.

Room Tip: View is of a canal with a few boat slips.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We've visited before and finally decided to stay. The little condo type of place is large, comfortable, and clean. Everyone is very friendly. There aren't any included meals, but knowing that coming in we were prepared for a dine-in breakfast with crackers, cheese, and a little wine. We came here to unplug, and this really hits the spot. There is wifi and cell reception if you need it though. There is neighbor noise, and coming during peak season means it's a bit of a zoo, but we stay out of town and it's not bad at all. Overall we're happy with it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at The Inn on Madeline Island, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review. You would probably love the fall season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We rented the Jackson house for 4 nights. The house was completely stocked with amenities for cooking, reading, watching, movies, games, camp fires, etc. The only thing you need to bring is any food items you may need. We loved the house and the quiet location, especially the private beach. We only saw 3 people our entire stay on the beach. What a fantastic location. It's about a 10-15 min drive back into La Pointe, but if you like the peace and quiet, stay here. Also, when we checked in, the lady at the front counter was super friendly and suggested all sorts of activities and restaurants for us to try and was available for anything we might need once we got to the house. I would definitely stay here again if I'm back on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank T_Mc_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at The Inn on Madeline Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

So glad you enjoyed it. It is a great house and location! Hope you can enjoy it again in the future.

Susan Hartzell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We stayed in the Marina Point Condos, 501A unit, behind the Inn with zero views of the Lake. These condos are privately owned, but managed by the Inn. While I didn't get to see any of the Inn's properties, I heard they were in far better shape. Our condo didn't warrant the $250/night rate we paid.
There was a credenza on the screen porch that had a full ashtray inside, along with pieces of broken glass. Perhaps housekeeping was too rushed to notice.
For cooking eggs, there was only one huge frypan to use. I'd baked a cake, only to discover no oven mitts either. There were only 2 steak knives (our condo is for 4). There was plenty of stemware, but no plastic glasses.
The view is of the firepit (which we did use and was nice to have) and a canal, with a dock.
The furniture needs replacing. The couch and loveseat sagged badly and there was a ripped arm on a chair. The TV is tiny.
We did enjoy the outside whirlpool, which is just down the walkway.
While staying here was convenient (we were part of a large group) to our friends/family, it simply wasn't worth what we paid. But, as my boyfriend said, because it's on Madeline Island and under the Inn's umbrella, they could get away with charging that much.
Because we were there to celebrate a special occasion, there are no plans to return. If we do, we'll check out VRBO or homeaway, to rent a place on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at The Inn on Madeline Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

I am so sorry for your disappointment. We will definitely look into all the issues. Thanks for letting us know.

Susan Hartzell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

You will find the Inn on Madeline Island a great place to spend a few days. The inn itself is well-run and the location is one of the best anywhere--right on the shore of Lake Superior. Biking and hiking, along with water activities, are the highlights of this island. The inn gives you a central location from which to explore. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable including cable TV and solid Wi-Fi internet connections.
The restaurant is housed in a separate building but only steps from your room. It is of very high quality and offers a nice menu with many choices of nicely-prepared food. It too provides a nice setting for a special meal and includes a view of the lake.
There are two parks on the island: Great Bay State Park and Great Bay Town Park. Both are very good but I'd recommend that you try the Town Park first since it is free and includes a great number of activities; camping, hiking, canoe/kayak, swimming.
Overall I would highly recommend this island and especially the inn, it's a real out-of-the-ordinary experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jjojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at The Inn on Madeline Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We hope to have you visit with us often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews