We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Beautiful grounds and nice facilities for a family get a way. Gym and spa are a great outlet for parents and kids too. Plenty of dining options with Lake Geneva just down the road. Looking forward to playing golf here next summer.

Room Tip: Beautiful wooded grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

I love that you are already planning for golf next summer! Thank so much for staying with us and for the great feedback on your visit. I am glad you found it a great fit for parents and kids too. We look forward to having you back in the summer.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

My husband and I were looking forward to spending a weekend with friends shopping and having great dinners. We are also dog lovers so our dogs go everywhere with us. The grand Geneva stated the were a pet friendly hotel. Well when you overbook your hotel and put people who are not in tune with dogs things don't go well. We were called away two times from having a great time with friends due to people knocking on our doors making the dogs go crazy. Basically we were told they were losing money. Some how I dont think that was the case. The first time we were called back because people entered my room and set off my girls I wound up missing dinner with my friends and eating in my room. The second time we were called back we thought when we got to our room the dogs would have been going crazy. They were quite as a mouse. All I can say is I will never stay at the grand Geneva again. For a weekend that was supposed to be fun it was the most stressful time I have encountered since I do not remember. The only positive thing I can say is the food and service at both restaurants are very good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

I would like to thank you for providing your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations. We strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests and the dogs that join us, but it sounds like there were some misunderstandings during your stay. I will work with my team to see where we can make improvements in the future to ensure a better experience for our guests and the dogs. Thank you so much for staying with us. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

I had heard people rave about the Grand Geneva for years so we decided to give it a try while visiting family in the area for Thanksgiving. While the area and grounds are beautiful let’s be clear — this is not a high end hotel. The buildings and rooms are very dated and worn, the mattresses sag in the middle (probably haven’t been replaced for decades) and on a late November weekend in Wisconsin we were provided with one thin blanket per bed.
We may be relatively young snd healthy but it was an unpleasant surprise to discover that we had to pull all of our luggage up two flights of stairs — no elevators. We are Hilton diamond members and gold members at the Ritz Carlton and there are just basic amenities you would expect from a hotel that bills itself as high end and charges a resort fee — quality toiletries, robes, complimentary Starbucks or Nespresso, for example. Great that it’s a family place but the noise level of young children running and screaming through the hallways, lobby etc. at all hours of the day and night — along with their loud and inebriated parents literally bouncing off walls as they walk down the hallways trying unsuccessfully to corral their children (both nights we stayed there) would make it impossible to consider the Grand Geneva as a romantic or peaceful destination. It was even too much for our teenaged sons who were just looking to chill. But the rooms are so far from the lobby that there is no way for the front desk to monitor any of this.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank CynthiaFChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so happy you decided to give us a try. I do realize our layout is different from some of the other places that you have stayed, but we do take pride in the history of the resort and Prairie Style architecture that inspired our long layout built into the earth with different levels. I really do appreciate your feedback, and I will review it with our team to see where we can make improvements for the future. We make changes everyday based on valuable feedback from our guests like this. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

As guests of the Timber Creek Lodge, we had planned on visiting the Grand Geneva next door after the Trolley of Lights tour ended. After the tour, we were going to have a family dinner at the Grand Geneva and check out the hotel since we were thinking for our next visit to Lake Geneva we might stay at the Grand Geneva instead.

After this experience with a specific member of the staff at the Grand Geneva, we'll stick with the Timber Ridge Lodge.

I am angry about an interaction I had with your concierge "Scott". I called a couple of weeks prior to our visit to reserve our space on the Trolley of Lights. He knew we were going to be guests at Timber Ridge because he looked up our reservation. He didn't inform me during that call that we needed to meet the Trolley at Grand Geneva. Being that a trolley picks up at this hotel throughout the day at Timber Ridge, you can see how this could have been confusing and we thought that it would pick guests up here for the trolley tour.

Our reservation was for 6:00 PM. Around 5:30 PM, I called the concierge desk from my hotel room at Timber Ridge and Scott picked up. I told him we had a reservation at 6:00 PM and I wanted to confirm WHERE we needed to meet the trolley since I was calling from and staying at the Timber Ridge Lodge. He very clearly stated "meet the trolley in the lobby entrance where you sign in for the Trolley tour". I again reiterated that I was at the Timber Ridge and not Grand Geneva. He said just meet in the lobby and sign in. I have no accent, I speak English perfectly without an accent, as English as my only and primary language. I am not sure what he didn't understand about my question.

At 5:50 PM, we came down to the lobby and since there was no line forming here for the Trolley tour, I used the Trolley phone to call Scott. He said, very rudely, that I must have talked to 'another' Scott and he absolutely did not tell me that we were to meet at Timber Ridge Lodge. He was VERY disrespectful to me and in no way, should you be OK with an employee talking to guests that way. The proper thing for him to say, since me and my husband were standing in the Timber Ridge lobby with our 3-year old and 8-year old and my 70-year old mother, was that he is sorry that there was a misunderstanding. He also needs to learn compassion. He has a bit of an attitude when I made the reservation with him a couple of weeks ago, so I am sure this is not new to you. Concierge Scott needs to check his attitude when he clocks in for work.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank stefrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

I really appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us. I am so happy you enjoyed the grounds at the resort and your time at Timber Ridge, but I am so sorry for the misunderstanding about the trolley pick and the experience you had with the concierge. We strive to provide the highest level of service and it sounds like we fell short during your stay. It is through feedback like this that truly helps us to continue training and improve our service throughout the resort. I hope you were able to experience the trolley tour after all, if not please reach out and we would love to still make that happen for you. We value you as a guest and the feedback that you provide.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We just returned from a stay at Grand Geneva for the lighting ceremony. It was the most enjoyable weekend. The resort is beautifully decorated and when you arrive you are welcomed by a friendly staff beginning with the bell staff, concierge, front desk and any other employee that is willing to assist you. We arrived about 11:30am, our rooms were ready and our special requests for rooms close to lobby and in the same wing were preassigned. After unloading luggage we proceeded to roam the resort enjoying all the lovely decorations throughout. The gingerbread houses are definitely a work of art and you can vote for your favorite. (a very difficult decision). We enjoyed a cocktail in the lobby while sitting by the fireplace and chatting with other guests. I highly recommend taking advantage of the Geneva Club. The staff is friendly and attentive. Food is plentiful. We visit 3-4 times a year and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to Grand Geneva. I am beyond excited that you enjoyed the Illumination Ceremony and the holiday decor this year. I will pass your kind words on to our team. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are already looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.8 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
659 reviews
9 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
488 reviews
1 km away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
1,041 reviews
3.3 km away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
561 reviews
9.4 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $213 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing