We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,430)
Filter reviews
2,430 results
Traveller rating
1,452
502
236
141
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,452
502
236
141
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chop house golf course grand geneva bathroom mirror italian restaurant playboy club junior suite get away fire pit grounds are beautiful lobby bar great golf ski hill fitness center steam room from chicago the main lodge
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 2,430 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

My husband and I were looking forward to spending a weekend with friends shopping and having great dinners. We are also dog lovers so our dogs go everywhere with us. The grand Geneva stated the were a pet friendly hotel. Well when you overbook your hotel and put people who are not in tune with dogs things don't go well. We were called away two times from having a great time with friends due to people knocking on our doors making the dogs go crazy. Basically we were told they were losing money. Some how I dont think that was the case. The first time we were called back because people entered my room and set off my girls I wound up missing dinner with my friends and eating in my room. The second time we were called back we thought when we got to our room the dogs would have been going crazy. They were quite as a mouse. All I can say is I will never stay at the grand Geneva again. For a weekend that was supposed to be fun it was the most stressful time I have encountered since I do not remember. The only positive thing I can say is the food and service at both restaurants are very good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

I would like to thank you for providing your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations. We strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests and the dogs that join us, but it sounds like there were some misunderstandings during your stay. I will work with my team to see where we can make improvements in the future to ensure a better experience for our guests and the dogs. Thank you so much for staying with us. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

I had heard people rave about the Grand Geneva for years so we decided to give it a try while visiting family in the area for Thanksgiving. While the area and grounds are beautiful let’s be clear — this is not a high end hotel. The buildings and rooms are very dated and worn, the mattresses sag in the middle (probably haven’t been replaced for decades) and on a late November weekend in Wisconsin we were provided with one thin blanket per bed.
We may be relatively young snd healthy but it was an unpleasant surprise to discover that we had to pull all of our luggage up two flights of stairs — no elevators. We are Hilton diamond members and gold members at the Ritz Carlton and there are just basic amenities you would expect from a hotel that bills itself as high end and charges a resort fee — quality toiletries, robes, complimentary Starbucks or Nespresso, for example. Great that it’s a family place but the noise level of young children running and screaming through the hallways, lobby etc. at all hours of the day and night — along with their loud and inebriated parents literally bouncing off walls as they walk down the hallways trying unsuccessfully to corral their children (both nights we stayed there) would make it impossible to consider the Grand Geneva as a romantic or peaceful destination. It was even too much for our teenaged sons who were just looking to chill. But the rooms are so far from the lobby that there is no way for the front desk to monitor any of this.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank CynthiaFChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so happy you decided to give us a try. I do realize our layout is different from some of the other places that you have stayed, but we do take pride in the history of the resort and Prairie Style architecture that inspired our long layout built into the earth with different levels. I really do appreciate your feedback, and I will review it with our team to see where we can make improvements for the future. We make changes everyday based on valuable feedback from our guests like this. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

As guests of the Timber Creek Lodge, we had planned on visiting the Grand Geneva next door after the Trolley of Lights tour ended. After the tour, we were going to have a family dinner at the Grand Geneva and check out the hotel since we were thinking for our next visit to Lake Geneva we might stay at the Grand Geneva instead.

After this experience with a specific member of the staff at the Grand Geneva, we'll stick with the Timber Ridge Lodge.

I am angry about an interaction I had with your concierge "Scott". I called a couple of weeks prior to our visit to reserve our space on the Trolley of Lights. He knew we were going to be guests at Timber Ridge because he looked up our reservation. He didn't inform me during that call that we needed to meet the Trolley at Grand Geneva. Being that a trolley picks up at this hotel throughout the day at Timber Ridge, you can see how this could have been confusing and we thought that it would pick guests up here for the trolley tour.

Our reservation was for 6:00 PM. Around 5:30 PM, I called the concierge desk from my hotel room at Timber Ridge and Scott picked up. I told him we had a reservation at 6:00 PM and I wanted to confirm WHERE we needed to meet the trolley since I was calling from and staying at the Timber Ridge Lodge. He very clearly stated "meet the trolley in the lobby entrance where you sign in for the Trolley tour". I again reiterated that I was at the Timber Ridge and not Grand Geneva. He said just meet in the lobby and sign in. I have no accent, I speak English perfectly without an accent, as English as my only and primary language. I am not sure what he didn't understand about my question.

At 5:50 PM, we came down to the lobby and since there was no line forming here for the Trolley tour, I used the Trolley phone to call Scott. He said, very rudely, that I must have talked to 'another' Scott and he absolutely did not tell me that we were to meet at Timber Ridge Lodge. He was VERY disrespectful to me and in no way, should you be OK with an employee talking to guests that way. The proper thing for him to say, since me and my husband were standing in the Timber Ridge lobby with our 3-year old and 8-year old and my 70-year old mother, was that he is sorry that there was a misunderstanding. He also needs to learn compassion. He has a bit of an attitude when I made the reservation with him a couple of weeks ago, so I am sure this is not new to you. Concierge Scott needs to check his attitude when he clocks in for work.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank stefrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

I really appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us. I am so happy you enjoyed the grounds at the resort and your time at Timber Ridge, but I am so sorry for the misunderstanding about the trolley pick and the experience you had with the concierge. We strive to provide the highest level of service and it sounds like we fell short during your stay. It is through feedback like this that truly helps us to continue training and improve our service throughout the resort. I hope you were able to experience the trolley tour after all, if not please reach out and we would love to still make that happen for you. We value you as a guest and the feedback that you provide.

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We just returned from a stay at Grand Geneva for the lighting ceremony. It was the most enjoyable weekend. The resort is beautifully decorated and when you arrive you are welcomed by a friendly staff beginning with the bell staff, concierge, front desk and any other employee that is willing to assist you. We arrived about 11:30am, our rooms were ready and our special requests for rooms close to lobby and in the same wing were preassigned. After unloading luggage we proceeded to roam the resort enjoying all the lovely decorations throughout. The gingerbread houses are definitely a work of art and you can vote for your favorite. (a very difficult decision). We enjoyed a cocktail in the lobby while sitting by the fireplace and chatting with other guests. I highly recommend taking advantage of the Geneva Club. The staff is friendly and attentive. Food is plentiful. We visit 3-4 times a year and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to Grand Geneva. I am beyond excited that you enjoyed the Illumination Ceremony and the holiday decor this year. I will pass your kind words on to our team. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are already looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Steve Magnuson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

I’ve been coming here since I was a kid and now I bring my children. Christmas in the Country is pure magic and should be experienced by all at least once in their life! The resort goes above and beyond. The hotel, though reminiscent of the past is just so warm & cozy. We had a suite and I must agree with others, it is time for the hard and soft goods to be replaced. I would, however, disagree that they are outdated, just worn. The service was overall pretty decent. We will continue to return but def hope to see refurbishments in the near future. Overall a “B” experience!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LuxeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you so much for your continued visits! I am so happy to hear you are now able to experience the holiday season here with your children. We try to keep improving each year and every year we will continue to do so. Your feedback truly helps in that, and I will review all of your comments with my team. Thank you so much for choosing Grand Geneva!

Regards,
Steve Magnuson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews