We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$63
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prairie Motel(Merrill)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Super 8 by Wyndham Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stewart Inn(Wausau)
US$117
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
86
33
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
33
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorroom was cleanstrawberries and whipped creambreakfast selectionbasketball tournamentstayed herefirst floorwafflesconference roomneeded a place to staymicrowave and refrigeratornice breakfastevery morninghot breakfastrecommend this hoteldefinitely stay here againnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our stay was excellent, they had shuttles right at the front door of the hotel to take us to the Lincoln Lagers BarleyFest it was great didn't have to stand out in the rain to wait for the shuttle! They picked us back up took us back to the hotel, no probem.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank malli1198QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernie S, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Merrill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We certainly enjoyed having you and your friends as our guest . I'm happy that you enjoyed the Barleyfest. It's an local event that has continue grow every year. We hope that you will be able to attend next year and choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your business and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

When we checked in we requested a room on the first floor. We were advised there were none available, but did on the second floor. Also was advised there was no elevator, which we were inform there were renovations being done to include an elevator. After we checked in I went to the front desk to ask where the ice machine was located and was told there wasn't one on the second floor. I asked if there was an ice bucket available to get ice so I didn't have to go back upstairs and then back down again. Then the front desk attendant went to locate an ice bucket so I can get some ice. Again I made the comment that for the size of the hotel you would think there would be an elevator. The attendant again advised there was one is being installed with the renovation, which wasn't helping me at the time. She didn't even offer to help us. She wasn't very helpful. Another individual staying at the hotel was very helpful, when she saw we were struggling. The next morning when we went to check out, the new attendant was very helpful in regards to getting our luggage downstairs and she was very friendly and delightful. Why would anyone build a hotel with more than one floor and not install an elevator.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tsgts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernie S, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Merrill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm sorry that your stay was disappointing. We are excited about the new addition which will include 20 new rooms and the first elevator of any hotel currently in the town of Merrill. We are a very busy hotel and we try to accommodate as many of request as we can. Unfortunately we can't please everyone. I do hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Merrill and we do appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We have stayed here many times and since under new ownership things have started to go downhill. Cleaning staff failed to make up our room and no accommodation was made for this. Odd placement of furniture/appliances - table wedged in odd place so couldn't seat two at the table, had to move microwave in order to plug in the coffee maker. Hope that things will improve or we'll be choosing another place to stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernie S, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Merrill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our hotel has had the same owner since we opened in 2002 and we have been able to maintain the same outstanding customer service and care over the years. However, it's obvious that we aren't perfect and that's why your feedback is so helpful. I apologise that you had a disappointing stay with us. During our renovations, the furniture issues are being taken care of and we are excited about the addition of 20, much needed, rooms, elevator and fitness room. We hope that we will see you again in the near future. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

No complaints with this AmericInn hotel. Staff were friendly and courteous, room was clean and fresh, breakfast was adequate with hot items as well as waffles with strawberries and whipped cream. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank maryvQ7467DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernie S, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Merrill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Our goal is for you to relax, refresh and be comfortable during your stay with us. I'm happy that we were able to accomplish that on your recent visit. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We had three nights here on a hiking trip (as many of my reviews start). It is very easy to find, and as most of our trail heads were west on hwy 64, it worked out great. The room was very comfortable, although with the unexpected hot weather, it seemed the room and hallway air conditioning was struggling and not always keeping up. The breakfast was quite good with biscuits and gravy two of the three mornings. The staff was very pleasant, and Ernie the GM was very personable, and we saw him every day. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernie S, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Merrill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest. With the improvements being made during our renovations, I'm certain that our air conditioners will do a better job keeping everyone comfortable. Thank you for the valuable feedback, though. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews