We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must get the poutine!”
Review of Distil

Distil
Ranked #180 of 1,630 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This was right next to the hotel so I decided to stop in after seeing poutine on the menu. The food was amazing. If you are a drinker, the menu must have had something for everyone - there was one page of food choices and like 6 for drinks! The atmosphere was great - the bartenders were cool to watch. If you're short, ask for a table - everything I saw had high tables and my feet didn't reach even the bars on the bottom of the seats (I'm 5'3").

1  Thank smb4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016

Loved this bar downtown that also serves small plates as well. Very unique cocktails are made here!! Ambiance is fantastic and the staff is a lot of fun!! Would definitely stop by and try this place out!!

1  Thank moulderkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURG_RestaurantGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Distil, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thanks so much for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with friendly and helpful staff. Not only that, but the service and cocktails were WAY above average. We traveled from Denver, and we were just shocked at how nice and welcoming everyone in this bar was! No one was pretentious or acted like we were lucky to be there. We most highly recommend this place. I cant say enough about Bill the manager or the friendly and talkative Bartenders! Thanks NIC and Bill for making us feel welcome and at home.

Thank natnordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURG_RestaurantGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Distil, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you for stopping in! We're so glad you had a great time with us and hope the rest of your trip was just as fun. Stop in and see us when you're in town again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Great food and service. Downtown dining week and it was all delicious steak cooked to perfection as well as mushroom pappardelle. Service drinks and dessert perfect.

Thank iceal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURG_RestaurantGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Distil, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you so much for the feedback! We hope you come visit us again soon to try our other menu items.

-SURG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Went here primarily due to location near Marriott Downtown & rainy weather. We were not disappointed. We came for late night drinks and bit of food. Used opentable for 9pm reservations, though probably would have not needed if just sat at the bar. Either way, glad we did as the booth was very intimate and our waitress was very attentive.

Drinks were on point. Bourbon sour was special. We got the meat/cheese platter. Real honey came with it, and the waitress brought us an extra helping of the bread when we finished ours too quickly.

The interior was very well done. Turned a high ceiling location and made it feel "smaller" in a good way. Only gripe was that there seemed to be some over serving going on, as there were at least 2-3 people blitzed. Not something I would ever truly complain about in a bar setting, but Distil seemed to try to create a more sophisticated vibe that didn't jibe with that nonsense. Either way, the complaint is rather petty and would not keep me from returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SMorovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURG_RestaurantGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Distil, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback! Sorry about the rowdy crowd, but so glad to hear you still enjoyed yourselves. Hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Distil also viewed

 

Been to Distil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing