We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, pastoral, private apartment in a...”
Welcome to The Country Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Country Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Welcome to The Country Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Richfield, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Haley P
1 review
“Peaceful, pastoral, private apartment in a perfect location just outside Milwaukee”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a modern, stylish and immaculate apartment, located on a beautiful, historic farm. Super family friendly, but would be great to relax there without kids too. We enjoyed grilling out on our private deck, and quick trips to nearby hiking trails and Milwaukee attractions. There is plenty of space for a family or small group of friends to spread out and enjoy the accommodations. Laura is a very hospitable host. We hope to return again soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katechape...
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely a favorite!”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked Matt and Laura's country retreat as an alternative to the usually "Christmas Gifts" for our daughter. Instead of stuff, we opted for experiences. Last February, we stayed 5 days at this awesome farm. The space they provided us was immaculate. Everything from the number codes entry to our own parking garage space, to the fireplace in the living room. The comfortable bed. The large back deck for morning coffee. The fresh muffins in the morning and he evening night cap spent in Matt and Laura's home. Everything wa perfect!

The space is a large mother-in-law sweet attached to the home but with nothing but privacy for their guests. We were allowed to bring our older lab, who ran around the property with their dog. :)

The location is extremely close to cedarville, Wi, which was host to many amazing shops, boutiques and restaurants. It's also a 40 min drive to Milwaukee. Which we made a day trip out of.

We have talked numerous times about scheduling another trip to Matt and Laura's farm retreat. It was a great place for our family to unwind, spend time together, and just be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyJFCD
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We needed to visit my parents in Milwaukee for a few weeks this summer, but wanted our own space, and were happy to find the Country Retreat only 5 minutes away. It's a comfortable, quiet apartment in a historic farmhouse and a beautiful farmland setting. It had everything we needed to settle in: full kitchen, laundry facilities, a private deck with grill. The kitchen was stocked with a few basics, such as coffee and tea, which was appreciated. We were even able to bring our dog, and she loved exploring the farm. The two resident dogs are energetic and friendly. The house is visible from the road, but traffic is minimal, so it was very quiet, especially at night. It's also attached to the hosts' house, but we heard almost no noise from next door, even when everyone was home. The second bedroom in the basement is nice if you need extra room, and it has its own TV and washbasin. The house is an easy drive from Milwaukee (maybe 20 minutes to downtown), but it feels secluded and remote. It's also close to hiking, swimming, and boating. Pike Lake, Friess Lake, and the Ice Age Trail are all a short drive away. Matt and Laura were very helpful and responsive when we had questions, but otherwise they respected our privacy. I loved sitting out on the private back deck with my coffee in the morning, and the welcome basket of cookies was a nice touch. I would go back for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This hidden retreat is outside of Milwaukee in Germantown, Richfield area. A home away from home on a quaint farm land. So pretty and inviting. Laura and Matt are the perfect couple for hosting a bed and breakfast setting. Kind, caring, and friendly. There is a immaculate kitchen, large bathroom, big living room and bedroom for your peaceful retreat away from home. Take a stroll around the property and smell the fresh air and enjoy the peace away from the race of everyday living. We will be back for sure. Oh, and the warm chocolate chip cookies were a great touch! Thank you Laura and Matt for letting us share a bit of you with us. You won't regret your stay here and their attention to correspondence is prompt. Bring your own food to cook or eat in the area restaurants. A place you won't want to miss.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing