We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scofield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Spent a long weekend in Door County and stayed at the Scofield House- great choice! The Gazebo room was nothing short of amazing, with its own private entrance and sitting porch. The bed was ultra-comfortable, and the two-person jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was a definite plus. Upon check in, Vicki offered us chocolate chip cookies and tea, and both Dan and Vicki cooked wonderful, multi-course breakfasts. It's close enough to downtown Sturgeon Bay that it's easily walkable, but it's off the main drag so it's quiet, too. It also provides easy access to local county roads, perfect for exploring Door County. A wonderful experience, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband and I decided, at the last minute, that we wanted to get away for the weekend. We selected Scofield House based on its high ranking here at Trip Advisor, and boy am I glad we did! We stayed in the Water Lily room for 2 restful and lovely nights. The gas fireplace was quite cozy, and it was wonderful to soak in the private double whirlpool with the complimentary bath salts. The breakfasts were better than anything I've ever ordered in a restaurant! The first morning was a white chocolate cherry scone, strawberries, then sausage and a baked french toast dish - I couldn't even finish it all! The second morning brought a nice apple coffee cake, melon, and an egg, ham, potato casserole. All of this came along with a selection of juices, coffee and tea. It was so much fun chatting with the other guests over breakfast, and Door County was wonderfully relaxing in this quiet season. We will absolutely be back! Oh - and before I forget - my husband, the "techie" of the family - couldn't stop talking about how fast the free wifi in the room was!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My wife and I visited the Scofield House after reading many reviews. While Sturgeon Bay has lots of B&Bs, this one was consistantly given great reviews. The deciding factor for us was a weekday special for $79/night...making it far cheaper than any other place and allowing us to extend our vacation by at least 2 nights! I cannot say enough that we are glad we picked this place!

The B&B was fantastic. We were the only ones there for the majority of our trip, so we were able to tour the other rooms. All have double whirlpools (very big for two people!) and a fair amount of space. We stayed in the Gazebo room, which has a private entrance.

I can't say enough about the B&B. The house was wonderfully restored - right down to period furniture and china sets. Dan and Vicki were very personable and fun to chat with. They gave us suggestions on fun activities to do in Door County. And the Breakfasts were HUGE and amazing - good enough we considered buying their cookbook to have at our apartment.

Definitely recommended for a relaxing vacation/get-away - you won't regret it! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kboleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frygirl56, Innkeeper/Co-owner at Scofield House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

Thank you for your kind words. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to have contributed to a positive Door County experience.

Warm regards,

Vicki Klein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Dan and Vicki are the innkeepers at Scofield House and they are just wonderful!! Anything we needed, they were on it. They keep a wide selection of movies on hand, coffee and tea anytime you want it as well as sweet treats for after dinner or middle of the night snacking. We stayed in the "Room at the Top" and it was pristine and very spacious. Bottled water and sodas were on-hand for all guests to access free of charge.

The breakfasts are to die for and come with an appetite. Generous portions and really wonderful food - every day we had a scone or muffin to start, fresh fruit, then the main dish. Great way to start the day.

Stay here if you get the chance -- you will not be sorry!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My husband and I took a trip with my parents for their anniversary and birthdays to Door County and based on the reviews for the Scofield House, we choose to stay there for the long weekend. The owners are very nice and when making the reservations, he recommended we rent the guest house since there were 4 of us rather than renting two rooms (the guest house was cheaper). The guest house was very nice and had everything you would need - a full kitchen with just about any pot/pan/utensil you would need to cook a meal. The beds were super comfy and it was very clean. The only down side is that the individual room AC units were loud and they kicked on and off throughout the night. It was cooler one of the nights and we just turned it off, but if it was a hot, humid night you may not get much sleep. It was a great home-base for exploring the rest of door county as well as heading over to Green Bay one day to tour Lambeau Field.

Also, if you're heading out to Door County, be sure to visit Whitefish Dunes State Park - it was absolutely beautiful and provided a great hiking/walking experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JME30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
39.2 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
5 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.5 km away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Foxglove Inn
The Foxglove Inn
#2 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
141 reviews
0.4 km away
White Lace Inn
White Lace Inn
#7 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
136 reviews
33.9 km away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scofield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scofield House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 908 Michigan St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $106 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing