We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, Cool, Close to Downtown”
Review of River Road Motel

River Road Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Road Motel
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Cool place for it's clean, classic, comfortable rooms. Upstairs room, quiet and comfortable.
Large double bed, not too soft or too hard, just right. Just right large flat screen TV over bed. Small but just right bathroom. Cute little table by window. Also a fridge and microwave in a room with bargain price. Short walk to food, shopping, entertainment in any weather. Slightly older property with immaculate cleanliness and upkeep. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Upper floor off-street quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2015

Stayed here for two nights over New Years. Cute little place. The room and bathroom are large. We had the end room upstairs. I loved having the end, because of the view I got from the windows. Short distance to the river walk. Across the street from a beautiful pub/ restaurant. Walking distance to downtown. The only issue I had was the room was very cold when I arrived. I turned the heater on right away. It took a little while to heat up, but once it did, it stayed very warm the entire stay. Very clean room, nothing flashy, but comfortable and clean. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Bring a small heater for the bathroom, I went and bought one. It was wonderful having a warm bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Debie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights this week at River Road Motel. We were very pleased with the newly remodeled room. Looks like the bedding and bathroom was recently refurbished. And there was a new flat screen TV. The room was spotless and owner was very pleasant at the front desk. You can't beat the location which is walking distance for all the fun downtown bars and restaurants. And you can't beat the price. We used to go to River Road Motel years before, but felt it was run down. Now it's looking good!! Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shellymust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We (2 adults and our 6 year old) stayed here for 5 nights in July 2013. We chose it because we got off the Amtrak and stumbled upon it. We made a good choice, the owner offered us a good rate (initially stayed 3 nights and extended our stay), passes to chula vista and several other local attractions. The room was spacious, had 2 double beds, en suite bathroom with bath and shower. The room had a fridge and microwave. We found the staff very helpful, they went out of their way for us, assisting us with phoning for taxi's, arranging car hire and just generally being friendly and answering our questions. We would definitely stay here again, we considered the price and location good, preferring to be off strip and in downtown. there is a fabulous pub over the road called River Walk Pub, they do good lunches and beers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a weekday evening. I was put off at first by the shabby exterior, tiny tube tv circa 1995, and lack of wifi or any other amenities. On the plus side, the room was clean and had a decent sized refrigerator and freezer...plus of course the Chula Vista passes. However, the other place we are staying is the same price with wayyyy more amenities. Not thinking I would stay here again although an thankful we managed to find a room last minute spring break week!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
426 reviews
1.3 km away
American Resort
American Resort
#37 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
40 reviews
5.7 km away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#30 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
658 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#66 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Motel

Address: 828 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1421
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $65 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Road Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your River Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing