We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back home again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

we have been staying here at the redpole ranch for years now and it just doesn't get any better than this. patty-jo has this place spotless and cozy and very comfortable, her staff works hard to maintain a great reputation and they take a lot of pride in their job. they are all very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied in your stay with them.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wapitiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

As another reviewer here stated, Miss Patty Jo was a no show. When she wouldn't answer her phone on the drive up, I had a bad feeling about it but had hoped for the best. We drove 16 hours with our 20 year old and 16 year old kids with us, only to get there and the place was a ghost town. There were several notes on her front door from other travelers from all over the world who had paid and shown up that day, only to find no one there. Repeated attempts to call her were met with voicemail.

As we waited, a group from Sweden pulled up, and Miss Patty Jo actually called one of them back... when she asked Miss Patty Jo what the deal was, she simply replied: Come back tomorrow. And hung up. And then set her phone to not taking any calls.

WHAT THE HECK were we all supposed to do!?

Afraid we'd not find a room, I was actually glad we'd taken our 3/4 ton Dodge truck with a 5th wheel hitch. I was prepared to have to buy a fifth wheel the next morning and haul it home a week later if we couldn't find a place with a vacancy. We did find a place, and while it was cramped accommodations, it was a roof over our heads.

Needless to say, I've stayed a lot of places, from Mexico to Montana, from Florida to New York, and never ever ever... ever... ever... have I ever had this sort of thing happen. I don't even recommend buyer beware. Just stay away.

Room Tip: Just stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Patty Jo was a no show. We waited from 3:30 to 5:00 in front of the office( locked up) and called dozens of times(voicemail full) with no answer. We had reservations for 2 nights. Finally left and found rooms elsewhere. Buyer beware- especially during busy season.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcHow50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Nice place to stop before entering park. About 25 miles from park right on the entry road. Owner very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, Bed comfortable, Good TV, wifi reception. Great views and pretty property.

Room Tip: If coming from the east get dinner before arrive. Restaurants are not close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for one night, while passing through. Just 30 miles from the West Entrance to Yellowstone.

Check-in was a breeze. Owner very pleasant. Each cabin had 2 guest rooms. We stayed in one with 2 queen beds (mattresses too soft for us). The beds took up most of the room. Couple wooden desk chairs to sit on, otherwise had to sit on bed. Unfortunately, it was stormy the night we stayed, so we couldn't enjoy the picnic table outside.

Bathroom was decent size. Shower enclosure seemed new. Very clean. Plenty of linens, shampoo and conditioner - smallest soaps have ever seen, but good for one night stay.

Coffee maker, fridge and microwave provided. No breakfast in morning, but provided rice Krispy treat and some dried fruit. Decaf coffee as well, which was nice.

Views were very nice!!

Overall would give 3.5 stars.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MyTravels033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
20.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
22.4 km away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
359 reviews
23.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
20.6 km away
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
#17 of 29 in Cody
206 reviews
23.3 km away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#10 of 29 in Cody
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel

Address: 574 Stagecoach Trl, Yellowstone Park Highway, Cody, WY 82414-7897
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range: S$118 - S$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the East Yellowstone Valley between Cody Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park. We specialize in overnight stays with special longer stay rates, Weddings, Family Reunions, and Memorial Services. Lofty snow-capped peaks are visible across the valley from the Ranch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schmalz`s Red Pole Ranch Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing