We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly and Fun!!!”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Great experience! Appears to be family owned/managed and very accommodating! Had a great pool area, fun stuff in the evening for the kids including pony rides and live music. Conveniently located. The rooms are nothing special, but they are roomy enough and clean. My entire family slept well during our stay! Will definitely stay here again if we are in the area!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

I must say I was nervous about staying here based on the reviews. However for summertime, traveling with three kids 5&under, we took a chance. We worry the most about cleanliness and the pool (got to burn energy off kids after riding in the car all day long!).

The room is basic. Two beds, shower, microwave and mini fridge. So so clean! The view is unbeatable! Looked out over the mountains! We loved it!

We had nothing but good customer service and attitudes from staff. Our boys rode the horse. They had horse and pony rides! The pool was awesome! Plus a little playground. Our kids were in heaven.

We could faintly hear the rodeo in the distance. Wish our kids were old enough we could have gone, but they were tired by 8pm when it starts. There were a ton of people at the pool, walking outside, sitting on the porches, but by 10pm it was so quiet! We felt bad for the people below us bc our kids are on east coast time and woke up at 7am and despite reminders did walk heavy and run some before we left.

I think people forget this (summer) is peak time for Cody. You will not get much more affordable than here, perhaps unless you book way in advance. I'm also not going to dock a review bc I had to plug in a lamp or two. This isn't a Hilton, it's a motel. But it's the cleanest and nicest motel I have ever been in.

The drive through coffee place, Mudd, was great, as well as Bubba's BBQ. Oh and grabbed breakfast across the street too. Great hash browns!

Thanks for a great stay! Cannot recommend this place more. Especially if you have kids. They won't want to leave! We wish we had stayed here longer than just a night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank nielmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

This was a nice little find in a busy, touristy town, at a reasonable price. We were totally pleased with everything except the bedding. The sheets on a king sized bed were meant for a queen so neither tucked in adequately. Under the bedspread, the top sheet was all rumpled. Don't know what was up with that! The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. The fridge and microwave were useful; the tv and internet reception very good. In the evening a family brought in ponies for the children to ride while a country music ensemble entertained. And there was a pool and beverages available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0njudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed on the 4th of July. the rooms are big and clean. there is a nice pool that opens 24 hours.
there is live music every evening, and we enjoyed also a free barbecue. the owners were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

2 $60 motel rooms for $154 each. Arrived mid afternoon. Upon entering the office there was no one behind the counter but there were two teen age or older girls sitting in the office. "she will be right back." After a few minutes of waiting the seated girl asked about my business. Told here I would like to check in. "OK, she'll be right back".

After a few minutes in silence, another woman entered to office with a screaming child on her hip. She blew past all of us into the back office.

At that point the girl on the sofa said "I guess that I will check you in". Nice of her to get up off of the couch. Finally the proper check in expert arriv d and all was good. Very friendly.

The first thing that we noticed on arriving in our room was a note taped to the table alerting us to the fact that "tips are appreciated" by the Housekeeper. The second and third things noticed were the flashing face of the alarm clock (not set), and that we had to move some furniture to plug in one of the necessary room lamps. We often leave tips for housekeeping, but why would you tip someone who doesn't do the job to even minimal levels? Rather insulting.

Our son and his son had other motel guests opening their door as they had been rented the same room the we had just been rented. Sometimes these kind of mistakes can have negative outcomes.

Room is ok, and what we expected for an older motel. TV is tiny, too small for the distance across the room. Given the minimal costs of TV's today, larger tv's help make for a less cheesy experience.

Nice horse rides around the parking lot for kids, cookies in the office for guests. But good service sets you apart and brings back customers, and it is free. Office and housekeeping could use some training.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a bit of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vrussela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Front Office Manager at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, we greatly appreciate our guests' feedback. We apologize for the setbacks and inconveniences that you have experienced at check-in, we are not normally that unorganized. The girl who helped you knows better than to blow off our guests and should have helped you as soon as you arrived. Even if it was not her shift she is a part of the Big Bear family and should not ignore guests at our motel. The Big Bear has been family owned and operated for nearly 14 years now, and we are always looking for ways to improve ourselves. Thank you for staying with us, we hope that your stay in Cody was an otherwise enjoyable one. We would like to welcome you back for a more enjoyable and comfortable experience in one of our newly upgraded rooms the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.2 km away
Best Western Sunset Inn
3.1 km away
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
3.8 km away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#12 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
3.8 km away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $96 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 69 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing