We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Inn(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stagecoach Motor Inn(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky Mountain Lodge(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinook Winds Motel(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$115
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
6
3
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
1
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite of the Yellowstone Cabins which according to the website sleeps six. Thinking that there would be enough space we brought our 2yo along.

Firstly the layout of the place is poor as most of the cabins are about 20 ft apart - so forget that seclusion and privacy and with enough passing cars - there goes the amenity too! We were near the dumpster and really loved that industrial bang everytime trash was place in there.

This place is more like a glorified studio and could really only sleep six midgets. Besides the double bed (which is a good size) the other double bed was in the roof up a dangerous ladder and the other 2 beds formed part of a sofa bed. It was very cramped with a poor internal layout.

The kitchen had very few utensils but thanks to the Dubois Op Shop we were able to get some much need kitchen utensils.

The place was surrounded by overgrown spiky weeds which I had to remove.

I tried the mountain bikes (most were broken and old and almost crashed due to a gear fault.

This place is very poorly maintained and we got such a better deal for the same price in West Yellowstone.

But luckily we found some space at the log fire!

Please AVOID!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed at their huge mountain top home. We had 9 people in our group and the house was very spacious for our group. The views of the mountains was grand. The house had everything we need provided even down to the laundry detergent in the laundry room. Very accommodating and highly recommend for large families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in the Family Cabin for 5 nights with my brother and his family in June (or Junuary as some of the locals in Wyoming called it..lol).. The place was extremely clean. There are two separate bedroom chambers on each side of the cabin with a loft in the general area. It was as private as a loft can be (steep climb, not for older folks or people with disabilities). The place had everything you need. The views from the porch included 12-24 mule deer while just sitting on the porch or by the firepit in the front, absolutely gorgeous mountain views. Quiet and easy to fall in love with. The place was one of the cleanest cabins i've ever stayed in.

The drive to the Tetons and Yellowstone requires going over a pass, but if there is one drive i'm not going to complain about, it is that drive. Wildlife galore and beautiful views.

The only complain i have is the directions. I would suggest the owner put mile markers in his directions. We had a hard time finding the entrance. Other than that, a wonderful place to stay. Dubois (pronounced Doo-Boyce by the locals) is only a 10 minute drive away and they have grocery stores and liquor stores and everything you would expect in a small WY town.

Overall, great place. If you want to get away this is the place to go. We went 4-wheeling (too much snow pack in June to get all the way into the Shoshone National Park, but still enough trail to have a blast (saw another dozen deer and wolf kill while 4 wheeling up the road.)

The wireless signal was non-existent the first 2 days, but then it showed up all of a sudden. But i didn't go to the sticks in Wyoming to get on the internet. Just wanted to share with friends on FB.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank russellensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed at the Plantation House, which is one of the properties rented by Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast/Yellowstone Cabins. First, I would warn anyone considering traveling to Yellowstone National Park not to stay at this location. This location is not sufficiently near Yellowstone National Park. Even if the highway to the parks was complete and not under construction, travel time to Yellowstone would be 2 hours to the southern entrance. But you have to traveler further in to experience the wonders of Yellowstone. Want to see Old Faithful? tack on another hour. Want to see Mammoth Hot Springs? tack on another 40 minutes. So to get from the room to the northern parts of Yellowstone, you will need over three hours of driving. That's 6 hours of driving in one day to get there and back. Personally, that is too much driving for a vacation for me, but everyone needs to make their own judgement. We were keen on seeing as much of Yellowstone National Park as possible, so having to drive 4+ hours round-trip each day just to get to the park would have been a bummer for us. Know what you are getting yourself into.

However, if your plans are to relax and enjoy beautiful vistas this location is very nice and highly recommended. The views are wonderful and we very much enjoyed sitting on the balcony, drinking iced tea, reading a book, or just enjoying the view.

Grand Tetons National Park is also a viable day trip, it took us 1hour 30minutes to drive there. Hopefully when the highway is done the trip will be faster.

We did a split stay where we stayed inside Yellowstone National Park for half of our vacation and then finished up at the Plantation House. I feel this approach was very good for us as we were able to see Yellowstone National Park easily, and enjoyed the relaxation of the Plantation House after several days of hiking around the Park.

As for the building itself, it is quite grand and very nice. During the drive to the house I was slightly miffed at the distance we were having to travel (construction delays/dirt road didn't help), but seeing the house and the view put a smile back on my face.

The kitchen is great. Who knew we would have so much fun cooking while on vacation. After eating out for several days in Yellowstone National Park, homecooked meals were great for the family. Plus, we didn't want to drive

The heart-shaped tub isn't cheesy as I thought it would be. The shape actually makes functional sense.

Nitpicky stuff:
The owner really should buy "real" sofas instead of futons though. I feel that the house is so grand that futons really undermine that feeling. Futons are fine for college, but in such a nice vacation home, they were very much out of place. I could accept the futons in the bedrooms as a second bed, but the futons in the living room in lieu of sofas were not comfortable.
The AV system in the living room was a nice thought, but poorly executed. They use a projector for the TV, which is fine when it is dark, but the room has many windows and windowed doors that have no shades. In the daytime, the TV in the living room was useless.
Maps. The Owner needs to describe the lay of the land with maps. He very thoughtfully provides a prose description of how to drive to the house (with pictures!), but a MAP would be very helpful. Note: As of this writing Google Maps has the location of the Cabins/Plantation House incorrect. The correct GPS coordinates of the Plantation House are: 43d 33' 59.54" N and 109d 45' 41.91" W. The owner also includes instructions for a "nice hike." We were not able to figure out the directions. A map would have been much more helpful. Also, the house notes use of 21 acres of land plus the National Forest and to stay off neighbors' private property, but fails to indicate where the boarders lie (again a map would have been very helpful). Some of the boundaries are obvious (fences and signs) be we never had a good idea of where the property was or where we could/should go.

In short:
For Yellowstone National Park - not recommended
For Relaxation and Local adventures - highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank orsino4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed at the Plantation Home in July. When we drove over the mountain and saw this place, we could not believe this huge place was only $349 a night. The views where incredible in every room. We tried staying in Jackson hole, but we had 12 people in our group. Even the Comfort INN was going to be $1250 a night!! So for $349 a night, we had great views, huge 2 story home with both levels having wrap around porches, a large kitchen, whirlpool tubs, and a very large movie theater system in the living room. WOW. Incredible value!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mountainexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews