We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
211
12
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
211
12
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback riding jackson hole fly fishing nordic skiing cross country skiing corn hole pack trip gas stove magical place the entire staff grand tetons snowmobile trip short drive the main lodge tmr aaron chalet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We stayed at two dude ranches and one Jackson Hole hotel on our long visit to Yellowstone and Grand Teton, this being the last. We were very pleased that it lived up to expectations seen on the website.

We had Cabin #3, perfectly spacious for one couple. The bathroom was a highlight, as there was actually adequate counter space and lighting, and the shower was nice, large and modern with quality shower products. Just the thing I needed to wash away the aches after days of hiking.

Bed and pillows were very comfy, and the room temperature was comfortable all day long, despite the wicked heat of the day. No AC, but the nightly temps dropped enough in July to keep the room perfectly temperate throughout the heat of the day with just a couple of cracked windows. No TV or phone, but the wifi was strong enough to Facetime family back home.

The lodge was beautiful, and the dinners were excellent. Felt like fine dining in the middle of the wilderness. Staff was very friendly, particularly the ladies at the front desk and Terrell (sp?) in the restaurant. To compare this to the more rustic / less luxurious dude ranch (Parade Rest) that we stayed at closer to Yellowstone on the same trip, the dinners were higher-end here, heartier there, breakfast was buffet style here, more stick-to-the-ribs ranching food there.

One wasn't better than the other overall, just different. This one was definitely prettier with a higher-end feel, however the other made up for that with planned, included group activities like weekend cookouts with live entertainment and horse-drawn wagon rides. So just different styles.

They say you can't drive your car to the front of most cabins here at Turpin Meadow, but don't worry if you have heavy luggage because they have the best wheeled carts, so we were able to easily tote our heavy hiking and photography gear to the front door.

Pack a good camera so you can get some gorgeous shots of the setting sun behind the horses.

Room tip: Come in on paved Buffalo Valley Road, not the unpaved Forest Rd 30050, unless you like a real adventure in the dark w/no cell signal
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Turpin Meadow Ranch is a nice little spot to escape to. The cabins aren't fancy but very comfortable. You basically book the your stay on a B&B basis and then you can add your activities a la carte - horse riding, fishing, tours, ATV's etc. There are some free activities that you can take advantage of at the ranch - mountain bikes, disc golf, archery, corn hole etc. The breakfast buffet in the morning is yummy and the lodge is a comfortable place to hang out. My only negative is their practice of adding gratuity to the bill at the end. They add based on the room rate, as well as any activities, meals etc. that you have. I have absolutely no problem tipping on items where I received service (such as meals, activities etc.) but tipping on a room rate .... really? That just seemed like a sneaky way of adding several hundred dollars to a room rate. (The daily housekeeping was minimal so certainly didn't justify the hefty gratuity). As you checkout, you're told that the gratuity is up to you, but when you're presented with a bill with a specific amount, it really doesn't feel discretionary. It just left a sour taste to an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Room tip: The two person cabins on the meadow have a great view. The bigger chalets don't have an uninterrupted view.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank belchern14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron Stiffler, General Manager at Turpin Meadow Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you for your detailed review and we are thrilled you had a great time at the ranch and enjoyed your stay.

We are however saddened that you were not understanding of our gratuity policy. Gratuities are always 100% up to the guest's discretion and are presented in pencil at the time of check-out as only a suggested gratuity. At that point, a guest is free to change the amount and leave only what they feel comfortable with.

Our gratuity policy is provided to all guests in the pre-booking descriptions and is also included in the post-booking confirmation in addition to being discussed at the time of check-in.

As customary at most higher-end guest ranches, we provide an opportunity for our entire staff even those behind the scenes to have an equal opportunity at receiving a gratuity for all their hard work. All guest gratuities are 100% split equally amongst the entire staff.

Because we want every guest to have a great experience and a positive lasting memory of their stay, we would be more than happy to refund any and all of your gratuity so you too will have a great and lasting memory of your stay at Turpin. Please feel free to contact the front desk and we will happily assist you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

We spent three nights at Turpin Meadow Ranch as a family of four. We stayed in a lovely two-room cabin on the river and spent most of our time on the ranch. We did a morning horse ride in the hills around the ranch with Samantha. We also spent a great morning fly fishing with Carter and Max. And we took a side-by-side out one afternoon. All the activities were top notch and every staff member was great. You are so well taken care of at Turpin Meadow. The food is fantastic. Even the bread is homemade! And the craft cocktails were superb. It was a perfect, relaxing end to our trip to spend the evenings enjoying a cocktail and playing corn hole and ladder golf while the sunset over the Tetons.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Ccorinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

We had a 4 hour ride with Rachel and Samantha which was outstanding. One of our group is differently abled with only one arm and it turns out that Samantha was the perfect nwrangler for her as she has a certifcation in teachng kids who are differently abled. Both wra nmglers were extremely knowledgeable about the environment and took care to point things out. The scenery was superb. I only wish we were staying at the ranch as it looked lovely.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

It was JUST the place we were looking for; the perfect mixture of authentic charm and high-end hospitality.
The location is stunning, the people are wonderful, the food is delicious, and every night when the horses gallop past, going out to pasture, it will take your breath away.
We miss you already Turpin Meadow Ranch!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank allisonmb97205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews