We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Halemalu(Captain Cook)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Vue Kona B&B(Captain Cook)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
133
127
45
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
127
45
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthird floorpork chopjapanese roomhistoric hotelold hawaiigreat bargaintatami matsprivate roomthe big islandclean roomstight budgetno elevatorfarmers marketjapanese styleclosed on mondaystofuoldest restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Oldest hitel on Big Island, family history is interesting Nd lots of original phitis etc. Basic but clean room (no tea/coffee facilities or fridge) but good vzlue. Staff are very helpful- location is great and plenty of parking. Good market across the road non Sundays

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I stayed at all types of lodging on the Big Island during my recent trip, from luxury resorts to very basic places, and for the money the Monago was the best value. Sure, there's no TV or A/C or other amenities, but somehow that's part of the charm, like stepping back in time to Old Hawaii. There's lots of places to eat close to the hotel. It's right on the highway but the rooms are away from the road so you don't get the noise. Currently the restaurant there is closed for remodeling. On the downside the bed was too firm for my liking and the walls are pretty thin. But I did enjoy the little balcony off my room where you could see some nice vegetation if not the ocean. Nice staff. If you stay on the weekend there's a great farmers' market across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

First of all we totally loved the ambiance of the hotel. Your visit will be a welcome side trip to old Hawaii or its outback at any rate. I actually loved the night sounds of frogs and 3 AM roosters BUT the thin walls permit you to hear: plumbing and the next door couple talking loudly and doing whatever ALL night long. Yet another noise issue in our room was the overhead fan that made intermittent loudish clicking noises throughout the night, unless turned off. Finally there was the extremely hard bed....We planned to stay for 2 nights but checked out the next morning. Do visit the restaurant to enjoy a good meal & lovely experience with lots of locals but the hotel itself is not a place for light sleepers or those who prefer more comfortable beds.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Junebug818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Hotel Manago is in motel style, with nice ocean view from the balcony in room. It is simply furnished with thin wooden walls. We stayed only one night, so we did not spent much time in hotel. But during the night I woke up and I saw a lot cockroaches in room. They was not in the bed, so I could sleep. In the morning, there was nothing again and my fiance didn't even realize them.
Hotel is in good location, free parking, lot of coffee farm around.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, the staff friendly, and the price very reasonable. We enjoyed the nightly frog chorus and the well-loved garden. This is an older place with a lot of history, not your resort type. So don't go here if you want the Westin, but if you like character this is your place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews