We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Foster City, CA
18
Reviewed 11 December 2005

We stayed at both the Four Seasons and the Hale Hualaiai B&B. While both were fantastic, the Hale Hualaiai will be a more memorable experience for years to come. Lonn's personal touch, gracious yet unassuming personality makes this feel like home. The view from each of the two rooms in this B&B is stunning and private. You can see the ocean off in the distance over the kona fields. Lonn's breakfast is delicious. The rooms are spacious and clean. If you're looking for ornate rooms and pampered service, this is not the place to come. If you want a great view, spacious room, and conversation with a genuine host, then this is the place to be.

Stayed: November 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2005

We've stayed at B&Bs all over the country and this was by far our best experience. Located on a coffee farm in the hills 5 miles above Kona and convenient to the airport, it was a peaceful (and pleasantly cooler) escape after long days of sightseeing.

The large rooms have a private entrance with a sitting area, refrigerator, huge bathroom and view balcony with all the comforts of home.

Chef Lonn's incredible breakfasts, warm & helpful hospitality and reasonable prices convinced us not to buy a second home there but simply book extended stays in the future.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jillstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, NV
319
Reviewed 6 November 2005

The owner (Lonn) is exceptionally friendly and provides excellent coffee grown on the property along with expertly prepared breakfasts. His two guest rooms are spacious, clean, and have excellent views. Our room was quite comfortable and provided all we needed. Lonn is great for recommedations and clearly loves having guests. The location is very quiet, cooler than the coast, and out-of-the way... This could be a bummer if you like being in the center of things but is great for relaxation. Hope to visit Lonn again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2005

Wow, where do we start? We have never experienced a B&B quite like this! Our room was great--a large suite with a lanai (porch) that had a fantastic view. The lanai was set up with a wicker couch, table, plants & candle...very romantic. The room had a king sized, very comfortable bed, TV, sitting area & wet bar with a fridge. We were also supplied with a cooler, beach mats & a boogie board. The bath had a large tiled shower & large jet tub--again, very lovely & romantic!

But then, there's the breakfast. Lonn managed to fill us up in the morning with everything from his green chili scrambled eggs, to a flaky-crusted quiche, to banana nut muffins...and a fresh fruit smoothie every morning! And you can't beat his coffee. I normally need at least some sugar, if not a flavored creamer to get my morning coffee down, but Lonn's home-grown coffee was amazing. I drank it straight with a little milk & it was so smooth!

We really appreciated Lonn's insight into activities we could do on the island along with his recommendations for restaurants--he never steered us wrong with food. We really became "foodies" on this trip!

Kona is definitely on our short list when it comes to visiting the Hawaiian islands again & we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

Had a wonderful stay with Lonn. Lonn was very friendly and helpful, not to mention a wonderful cook. A fresh smoothie greeted us each morning. Lonn's french toast is the best!! Room was very large, very clean. Great view from the deck, refrigerator, and large bathroom. Will definitely be back! Also, enjoyed Lonn's cat, Knucklehead. Very friendly and made us feel at home.

2  Thank Zip1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.7 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
38.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
6.9 km away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
310 reviews
2.8 km away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4968 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: $243 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha ka kou! Here at Hale Hualalai we embrace the Farm to Table movement and it shines in our gourmet breakfast and our 100% Kona Coffee farmed and served right here on the premises. We have a small upscale Bed and Breakfast with fine suites with views of the ocean, sunset and the beautiful Holualoa countryside. Please, come and enjoy a slice of Aloha here at Hale Hualalai! ~Ricky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing