We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$169
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$145
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$162
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1,235
US$949
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$459
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
192
8
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
8
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe big islandfresh kona coffeebrought homekailua konamountain sideprivate porchworking coffee farmgourmet breakfastwinding roadspacious roomwonderful weekthe main housethree nightsmini fridgelate at nightview of the oceanricky
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2005

We've stayed at B&Bs all over the country and this was by far our best experience. Located on a coffee farm in the hills 5 miles above Kona and convenient to the airport, it was a peaceful (and pleasantly cooler) escape after long days of sightseeing.

The large rooms have a private entrance with a sitting area, refrigerator, huge bathroom and view balcony with all the comforts of home.

Chef Lonn's incredible breakfasts, warm & helpful hospitality and reasonable prices convinced us not to buy a second home there but simply book extended stays in the future.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jillstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, NV
319
Reviewed 6 November 2005

The owner (Lonn) is exceptionally friendly and provides excellent coffee grown on the property along with expertly prepared breakfasts. His two guest rooms are spacious, clean, and have excellent views. Our room was quite comfortable and provided all we needed. Lonn is great for recommedations and clearly loves having guests. The location is very quiet, cooler than the coast, and out-of-the way... This could be a bummer if you like being in the center of things but is great for relaxation. Hope to visit Lonn again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2005

Wow, where do we start? We have never experienced a B&B quite like this! Our room was great--a large suite with a lanai (porch) that had a fantastic view. The lanai was set up with a wicker couch, table, plants & candle...very romantic. The room had a king sized, very comfortable bed, TV, sitting area & wet bar with a fridge. We were also supplied with a cooler, beach mats & a boogie board. The bath had a large tiled shower & large jet tub--again, very lovely & romantic!

But then, there's the breakfast. Lonn managed to fill us up in the morning with everything from his green chili scrambled eggs, to a flaky-crusted quiche, to banana nut muffins...and a fresh fruit smoothie every morning! And you can't beat his coffee. I normally need at least some sugar, if not a flavored creamer to get my morning coffee down, but Lonn's home-grown coffee was amazing. I drank it straight with a little milk & it was so smooth!

We really appreciated Lonn's insight into activities we could do on the island along with his recommendations for restaurants--he never steered us wrong with food. We really became "foodies" on this trip!

Kona is definitely on our short list when it comes to visiting the Hawaiian islands again & we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

Had a wonderful stay with Lonn. Lonn was very friendly and helpful, not to mention a wonderful cook. A fresh smoothie greeted us each morning. Lonn's french toast is the best!! Room was very large, very clean. Great view from the deck, refrigerator, and large bathroom. Will definitely be back! Also, enjoyed Lonn's cat, Knucklehead. Very friendly and made us feel at home.

2  Thank Zip1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2005

My husband and I came to Hawaii for our honeymoon and stayed 3 nights with Lonn. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay on the Kona side. Our room was immaculate- it had a living area/mini-kitchen, king-size bed, large master bath with a jacuzzi tub, and a balcony with a great view of Lonn's 4 acres of land and the ocean. The breakfast was amazing- omelets, smoothies, french toast with sauteed apples and pecans...it doesn't get any better than his cooking! He grows his own coffee- trust me, you will have a tough time going back to regular coffee after that! He had guide books for us to borrow and great recommendations on what to do and see and where to eat. It was a great visit and we definitely hope to go back one day. Thanks Lonn for making it such a great experience, and to all of those out there that are thinking about making reservations but haven't done it- GET ON IT! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camper475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews