We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$195
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1,235
US$949
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,054/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$459
US$349
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
192
8
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
8
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe big islandfresh kona coffeebrought homekailua konamountain sideprivate porchworking coffee farmgourmet breakfastwinding roadspacious roomwonderful weekthe main housethree nightsmini fridgelate at nightview of the oceanricky
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This B&B is an excellent option if you are visiting the Kona area. It’s a short drive from the airport (8 miles) and downtown Kona (5 miles). The house sits high on the mountain away from all the noise with lovely views of the ocean. Our room was really spacious and very clean with a large bathroom and comfortable sitting area, it also had a private lanai. Ricky the owner was friendly and accommodating. Our flight was delayed and we arrived late at night, Ricky waited for us and was very accommodating. In the morning over breakfast he took the time to tell us about the best places to visit and things to do in other parts of the island. Breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent. Overall I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Hawaii Island.

One note, if you arrive at night be sure to drive to the third house on the right after you turn off the main road. It’s dark at night and it can be a little confusing, we walked into the wrong house by accident and disturbed some people sleeping (lol).

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank GabBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This was a fantastic B&B. We arrived late and in the dark, so were a bit turned around, especially because this was our first night in Hawaii. Ricky was very welcoming. The room was fantastic, well appointed bathroom and nice open lounge area. The view from the private balcony was lovely. The breakfast was one of hte best I've ever had at a hotel or B&B, understandable, since Ricky is a former chef - many of the ingredients came from the property, including the coffee. The only problem is that it is very difficult to find a free room here - I've twice tried to book again on visits, and it has always been full - a testiment to the quality!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky B, Owner at Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thanks for the kind review! and i hope that we have some availability the next time you try to book!
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We selected the place due to recommendations on this site and were not disappointed. A great location a little - but not too much - off the city, tucked away from the road and with this phantastic view across to the sea. Very spacious rooms/appartments, an exceptional breakfast spot on the lanai (in addition to the private balcony each room has!) and warm and friendly hosts made the two nights there an excellent start into exploring the island for us - and those guests in the other room that were on the end of their trip just said the same.
If the place was a little cheaper we'd stayed longer....

Room Tip: There's only two appartments and both are the same, you can't get it wrong here....
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sassikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the Kula room, and everything was perfect. The room was spacious & clean, the private lanai was peaceful & had a gorgeous view, and Ricky's breakfasts were the best! We loved that he grows many of the ingredients right there. We also really liked the location, which was cooler & much quieter (from cars & human noises at least; there are lots of sounds of nature) than being down in Kona, which was only ~10 min drive away. We usually avoid B&Bs because we don't enjoy breakfasting with larger groups (or with overly chatty hosts), but here there is only one other room, and Ricky was laid-back while still being totally accommodating & gracious. We could not have been happier with our stay at Hale Hualalai!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lashiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Our only regret was that we only stayed one night (we were touring the island). This is an extraordinary place, high up on the hillside above Kona, yet only a 15 minute drive from the "big city". Relaxation sets in the instant you set foot on the lanai, looking over the goats and the chickens to the distant sea. The breakfast was great - what's truly unique is that delicious coffee is grown on the premises.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frequenttraveller504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky B, Chef at Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Hey, this is an awesome review, thanks a lot! maybe we'll see you again one day!
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews