We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Stay 1 night before leaving Kona.
Good: The view is wonderful, the room is spacious. The place is quite, clean, close to airport.
Bad: I checked in too late, at about 8 pm, left next morning at 5 am to catch for early flight. I was not able to have taxi service to come to pick me up to go to airport, ended up with a rental car. The water was lukewarm, no chance for hot shower! The B&B is a bit difficult to find at night, with steep driveway downhill, tall bushes covering the sides, had to ask a neighbor for direction.

Room Tip: make sure you have a car to go anywhere. Unable to find taxi in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

This B&B is an excellent option if you are visiting the Kona area. It’s a short drive from the airport (8 miles) and downtown Kona (5 miles). The house sits high on the mountain away from all the noise with lovely views of the ocean. Our room was really spacious and very clean with a large bathroom and comfortable sitting area, it also had a private lanai. Ricky the owner was friendly and accommodating. Our flight was delayed and we arrived late at night, Ricky waited for us and was very accommodating. In the morning over breakfast he took the time to tell us about the best places to visit and things to do in other parts of the island. Breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent. Overall I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Hawaii Island.

One note, if you arrive at night be sure to drive to the third house on the right after you turn off the main road. It’s dark at night and it can be a little confusing, we walked into the wrong house by accident and disturbed some people sleeping (lol).

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank GabBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This was a fantastic B&B. We arrived late and in the dark, so were a bit turned around, especially because this was our first night in Hawaii. Ricky was very welcoming. The room was fantastic, well appointed bathroom and nice open lounge area. The view from the private balcony was lovely. The breakfast was one of hte best I've ever had at a hotel or B&B, understandable, since Ricky is a former chef - many of the ingredients came from the property, including the coffee. The only problem is that it is very difficult to find a free room here - I've twice tried to book again on visits, and it has always been full - a testiment to the quality!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky B, Owner at Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thanks for the kind review! and i hope that we have some availability the next time you try to book!
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We selected the place due to recommendations on this site and were not disappointed. A great location a little - but not too much - off the city, tucked away from the road and with this phantastic view across to the sea. Very spacious rooms/appartments, an exceptional breakfast spot on the lanai (in addition to the private balcony each room has!) and warm and friendly hosts made the two nights there an excellent start into exploring the island for us - and those guests in the other room that were on the end of their trip just said the same.
If the place was a little cheaper we'd stayed longer....

Room Tip: There's only two appartments and both are the same, you can't get it wrong here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sassikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the Kula room, and everything was perfect. The room was spacious & clean, the private lanai was peaceful & had a gorgeous view, and Ricky's breakfasts were the best! We loved that he grows many of the ingredients right there. We also really liked the location, which was cooler & much quieter (from cars & human noises at least; there are lots of sounds of nature) than being down in Kona, which was only ~10 min drive away. We usually avoid B&Bs because we don't enjoy breakfasting with larger groups (or with overly chatty hosts), but here there is only one other room, and Ricky was laid-back while still being totally accommodating & gracious. We could not have been happier with our stay at Hale Hualalai!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lashiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.7 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
312 reviews
5.4 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,993 reviews
2.8 km away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4968 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: $239 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha ka kou! Here at Hale Hualalai we embrace the Farm to Table movement and it shines in our gourmet breakfast and our 100% Kona Coffee farmed and served right here on the premises. We have a small upscale Bed and Breakfast with fine suites with views of the ocean, sunset and the beautiful Holualoa countryside. Please, come and enjoy a slice of Aloha here at Hale Hualalai! ~Ricky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing