We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
213
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened lanaibeach chairsevery morningthe big islandfresh orchidsextra towelsvolcano national parkmini fridgegreat hostsbeautiful rooma wonderful stayfruitthree nightsboth morningswe've stayeddietary restrictionsmin drive
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We wanted to spend a couple of days hiking Volcano National Park but we did not want to stay high up near the park due to the possibility of clouds and rain. The Ohia House was perfect. While in a rain forest, the rain was only at night and the days were sunny. The B&B is very clean and well maintained and Cindy and Rick were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very interesting and delicious with lots of fresh fruit and pastries. While we did not need many amenities, masks, snorkels, beach towels, mats, bags, etc. were thoughtfully available. Particularly useful was a recommendation for a wonderful restaurant in Pahoa that we would never have discovered otherwise. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Ohia House is a great spot to base your exploration of the windward side of the island. This one suite B&B is nicely set up, structurally separate from the main house, yet under the same roof, which also shelters a huge screened in private porch.

Hosts Cindy and Rick made us feel very welcome on arrival, offering advise on the local scene, as well as lots of good tips for travelling throughout the region.

The room was very clean and well looked after, and the property was very quiet during the day. At dusk, that changes to an amazing chorus of frogs and birds that last through the night. We thought this might be a problem, but in fact it is a great soundtrack to sleep.

Cindy put on a great breakfast, different for each of our three days, and generally made us feel at home. This was a great find.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our five nights at the Ohia House. Rick and Cindy are great hosts, with plenty of suggestions for things to see and do all over the island. The room itself is spacious and comfortable, with plenty of amenities. Umbrellas, beach towels and mats, snorkel gear, and a small ice chest for lunch/snacks are all there to bring on day-trips. Breakfast is certainly a highlight - Cindy obviously puts thought and care into preparing hearty, tasty meals each morning.

The location itself is quiet and isolated, great for trips to the Volcanoes National Park and up the east coast. We did spend quite a bit of time in the car when visiting the west side of the island, but it was wonderful to come home to this little oasis every night.

One word of caution - if you have a flight booked in Hilo around morning commute hours, give yourself plenty of time to get into town. We left things too late and hit really terrible traffic going into Hilo, which made us miss our flight.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

When we decided to spend two nights of our recent vacation at Ohia House on the Hilo side of Hawaii's Big Island, we were concerned about its off-the-beaten-track location. We arrived at night, and finding the house was a challenge in the dark. Once we arrived, we quickly learned that accepting the challenge had been well worth it. Our room was quiet, private, clean, and stocked with everything we might possibly need during our stay. Cindy and Rick treated us like family -- except that no member of my family (sorry, Mom) has ever treated me to such healthy, abundant, delicious breakfasts. Nor have I had any family members serve as tour and attractions guide like Cindy. After two nights, we wondered why more visitors had not discovered Cindy and Rick's charming home, and welcoming hospitality. Our biggest regret? That we did not spend at least one more day on the Hilo side, and one more night at Ohia House.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JusticeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just stayed a couple of nights in Ohia House. Whilst slightly off the beaten track for seeing some of the sights on the Hilo side of the island including the volcano, the extra mile or two you'll have to drive will be well worth it. And you'll be ideally placed to discover some of the island's best hidden treasure in terms of the fabulous countryside between Pahoa and the coast and the picturesque coastline itself along the red road.
Ohia House itself sits in the middle of this lush vegetation - It is a very comfortable place to stay a while in perfect harmony with nature, especially the nocturnal frogs with their amorous calls reminiscent of the sound of crickets in the Provence in Southern France.
Many thanks for looking after us so well, Cindy and Rick.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews