We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crater Rim Cabin
Nearby Hotels
US$289
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilauea Lodge(Volcano)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Inn(Volcano)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Country Cottages(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
203
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenelectric blanketsfruitnational parkthe big islandliving roomwonderful hostsgas fireplacevacation rentallarge bedroomlocal informationking bedfelt like homemin drivespent three nightsmain roombreakfast food
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We had three wonderful nights at Crater Rim Cabin. The cabin is very quaint and located in a perfect setting near Volcanoes National Park (we could see the glow of Kilauea from our bed at night). The hosts are charming and very welcoming. The place was EXTREMELY clean and well appointed. The Park is amazing, with numerous sights deserving of at least one or two full days.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jmad2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraterRimCabin, Owner at Crater Rim Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review. Barry really appreciates our guests noticing the results of his super-cleaning abilities!!! That volcanic glow at night is really cool, isn't it?! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Volcano has many really fun, different and exciting lodgings, yet this one does stand out for so many reasons. Just one cabin, really big garden completely with volcanic rift and sink holes, fabulous forest and flowers. Great big bed, hot water and gas fireplace complete the ideal. This is how a vacation rental should be in your dreams. And its so close, less than 5 min from the national park gate and Volcano village with art and food fun. Of course the cabin is stocked with so much food and amenities, you might be tempted to stay in! Easy to find and the pictures shown are absolutely true to what you will experience. Friendly, engaged hosts. You can call them and book direct. Yes, yes and more yes to the hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraterRimCabin, Owner at Crater Rim Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Aloha! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is such a happy thing to receive this kind of feedback for our efforts. THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the cabin for 2 nights early January 2018 and we enjoyed the place very very much.
Jim and Barry are amazing host. They had the cabin ready with fruits, bread, honey, jam and coffee. They provide recommandation for food, visits and hikes in volcano which were all very helpful.
The cabin itself is beautiful and very comfortable even when the temperature dropped to the 50s outside.
On our next trip to the big island, we will stay there again for sure. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank SebHerzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraterRimCabin, Owner at Crater Rim Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us! Yes, we do have chilly weather at times, especially the winter months. The cabin is at just over 4000 feet elevation. Our propane fireplace and electric blankets keep you cozy on these chilly mornings. Hope you will come stay with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Went there for 2 nights end of november. The cabin is lovely, it has a lot of space, incredibly quiet and just 5 min drive from volcano park entrance and volcano city. The place was very clean and had been set up perfectly by Barry for our arrival. The surroundings are beautiful too. It’s like a cosy and warm cabin in the forest!
Barry was there for our arrival. He’s incredibly nice, full of attention and knowledgeable about things to do there. Jim came by to chat with us and give us some advice too.
Volcano park is great of course!
We loved our time there eventhough the weather was not very good.
I would highly recommand Crater Rim Cabin!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amélie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraterRimCabin, Owner at Crater Rim Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thanks for your kind review. Mother Nature doesn't always give us what we hope for, but I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here's hoping you can visit us again, and stay longer next time! Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on our honeymoon for 2 nights! It was so beautiful and secluded! The owners are very nice and their attention to the small details of your stay are remarkable! They are also very helpful in planning your visit to the park!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraterRimCabin, Owner at Crater Rim Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We always try to do our best at helping our guests get the most from their brief stay in Volcano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews