We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hale 'Ohu Bed & Breakfast(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$318
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Kilauea Lodge(Volcano)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$137
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
US$454
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ainani Jade Ohana Hotel(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
93
59
25
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
59
25
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin cottagesvolcano villagetropical paradisegrounds are beautifulalanecolanaiunitsettinginnkeepersprivacywoods
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We had booked the Upstairs suite of main house, and were concerned that our coming and going through the other renters living space would invade their privacy. However, this only happened for one day of our 5 day stay, and it was a friendly family. The casual breakfasts in the lanai were a relaxing start to our day. This Rainforest hide-away so peaceful, yet just a short distance to the Volcano National Park. Bonnie & Alan have to be complemented in trying to maintain an environmentally friendly guesthouse. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EmeraldK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

A beautiful little place in the woods. Very friendly people, and cozy little stays. We stayed in one of the Twins, and it was great. Everything is provided, and it's great to spend as much or as little time as you want. A fun home away from home, we went couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

My husband and I just had such a wonderful stay at the Volcano Guest House! Allen and Bonnie are innkeepers in the truest sense of the word - gracious, kind, accommodating, warm, friendly, helpful and totally down to earth, salt of the earth. Complete with Hina, the welcome dog!

Our unit (Claudia's) was huge, impeccably clean, well furnished, comfortable - everything had been thought of and provided - even a first aid kit.

We loved the communal breakfast/lounging/hot tub area, the breakfast and snack offerings were much appreciated.

The setting could not have been more amazing - tropical paradise without being pretentious or 'manicured'. Five minutes to the gate of the Volcano National Park (go in the day AND the evening!) - lots of good eats (Ona) and other things to do nearby (rainforest hike Monday mornings, art center, Volcano Garden Arts etc).

Great price for the full meal deal - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We had our group there three years ago. Those rooms now have long-term tenants.
This time we rented the entire place, which were different buildings. Bonnie only gave an orientation to part of the group for their rooms so many of us weren’t aware of the “hot” water system. They have a solar heated water system and it is up to you to somehow know when it needs to be pre-heated 30+ minutes with electricity. It was luke-warm when I started my shower and expected the water to get hotter. After lathering up it turned ice cold. Another person almost took a cold shower and others had no shower. This could and should be remedied with a modern (LOL) sensor called a thermistor.
The breakfast lanai is a great place for a group to have dinner. The provided continental breakfast includes apple bananas and papayas plus, sometimes, limited amount of pineapple. Come early to get hard boiled eggs as they run out fast. There is also cold cereal, instant oatmeal, coffee, buns and rolls, tea, and more. It was plenty for our group to start the day before hiking in the park.
A dog was barking at 5am.
The propane Weber grill was fungus covered. We told Alan and he cleaned it and went to fill the propane tanks. We had emailed them ahead that we were going to BBQ.
There is a guest laundry, but hang dry your clothes.
Our group enjoyed their stay there as will our next group in a few years when we return to Volcano.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This is our second trip to Volcanoes National Park and we thought we would try a different accommodation.

The property is located in a housing estate just 5 mins drive outside Volcano town. It is unique from other places where it aims to be eco-friendly and sustainable. While the unit we had (Twin) was spacious, we felt that a bit let down by the fact that for a bed & breakfast, it wasn't very personalised. There was minimal interaction with the host, other than during check-in, when compared to other B&B's that were a bit more welcoming.

On a plus side, the rates were reasonable, things were generally clean & tidy, although dated. The location, amongst the rainforest, made everything quite damp & musty. Breakfast was simple but very much self-service, including cleaning up after!

Otherwise, for the price, it is a self contained unit which is great for families or small groups.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews