We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hale 'Ohu Bed & Breakfast(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
US$129
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Ainani Jade Ohana Hotel(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
US$454
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
843
260
40
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
260
40
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubhale alohaplantation housemeatloafnational parkthe big islandhoneymoon suiteincluded breakfastcommon roomgas fireplaceincluded in the room ratedinner reservationstowel warmerfrench toastgrounds are beautifultwo couplestwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for one night in Pi'i Mauna - a two bedroomed 'cottage' about 5 miles away from the main lodge. Kilauea Lodge was just what we expected - a lodge dining experience (we had the same table for dinner and breakfast) far from anywhere. Our rooms were cute - reminded us of cottages back in Canada - Pi'i mauna is a little odd, each bedroom has it's own living room and bedroom, and both are linked by the hot tub deck. If you booked this as a family and expected young children to sleep in the other bedroom I think you might feel uncomfortable. We put the teenagers in the other room so it wasn't a problem. The hot tub was a lovely addition after a day of travelling. I read the other review that described it as Rustic and cold - I would agree with the Rustic but we found the heaters warmed up the place very quickly and liked the additional gas fireplace. However it was March and perhaps a bit warmer for us.
Dinner was delicious as was breakfast the next morning - nice to have it included in the price.
I would recommend this to friends who are good travellers willing to experience something different; I think Kilauea lodge fits in perfectly with its surroundings in a tropical rainforest. It is not a five star luxury resort but it doesn't pretend to be either.

Room Tip: If you don't want to drive after dinner, make sure you are staying somewhere near the main lodge. Pi'i mauna is 5 miles away on regular roads. Few street lights made travelling back after dinner a bit tricky.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in The Cottage. The decor was lovely. Beautiful stained glass window on the door and a huge stained glass window in the living room. Loved the hot towels and the coconut shampoo and lotion. The Hawaiian quilt on the bed was gorgeous. We enjoyed the kitty who slept on the porch on the wicker loveseat. The gas fireplace was so welcoming when we returned from a rainy day at the park. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We had 2 dinners there and the 2 included breakfasts. Beautiful fireplace in the restaurant, also. Wonderful staff!!! We would definitely stay here again. This is one of the nicest B & B's we have been at. Loved every minute of it!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetalthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Ola'a plantation house. We LOVED it. The place is gorgeous, each room decorated nicely, well kept, in great shape and inviting. We just wanted to "be" there. My favorite memory is my daughter curled up on a window seat with a pile of the great books from the house, my son watching a video (what can I say?) in the TV corner, and my husband and I on the couch watching the fire.
The kitchen is awesomely retro - and I love the flooring! We got to enjoy the best of everything, a totally rainy day made to stay inside, a sunny day to play outside and even 2 earthquakes - including one that woke us up at night.
The lodge itself is wonderful. The office sells really great gifts (a little pricey but to be expected, I guess). We only ate breakfast at the restaurant which was included with our stay. I wondered how this would be based on reviews that some people didn't like having a separate menu for guests but some thinking it was fine. We thought it was great. We all were more than satisfied with the choices and taste of our food. I will be forever hooked on Hawaiian papaya (with a slice of lime) in part because it is served with breakfast and was the best fruit I've ever had.
I would most definitely recommend this option. It is a different experience of Hawaii and well worth it. We were able to explore much of Volcanoes National Park plus the coastal area of Puna. We got both rainforest and beach this way. It was a splurge - close to $800 for 2 nights, but great memories!

Room Tip: Ola'a great for families
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed in Kilauea Lodge for 2 nights recently. We absolutely loved it! The grounds were beautiful, restaurant excellent, staff welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Ohia room . . . . very large with a gas fireplace .. . . a hot tub and lovely garden out back. The house it is located in is behind the restaurant and has a nice central room with a wood-burning fireplace, games, and a collection of DVD's. A visit to the volcano is a must if you are on the Big Island and this is a wonderful to stay while visiting there. We ate here and also at Kiawe in the village . . . . delicious Italian.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I just got back from my 4th stay here with my family. Volcano is a small town 3 minutes drives from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. We really enjoy staying at Kilauea Lodge. It's not the cheapest of the B&Bs in Volcano but it's extremely comfortable and welcoming. Most of the units are in the main complex, and there are a couple of more expensive standalone cottages or houses with full kitchens.

We've always found the included breakfast to be quite good. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner (which we've taken advantage of on several visits and enjoyed).

Staying here is very tranquil, and it's incredibly convenient to be so close to the National Park.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews