We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacful”
Review of Vista Waikoloa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vista Waikoloa
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We have stayed here a few times now, staying in different condos each time. Never a problem each condo has been clean and ready on arrival. The pool is a great place to renew after a day out on the island. Other people are nice all enjoying the peace and quiet. We always pick the upper floor so we can see the ocean. Have recomended to many others

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aussieroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Vista Waikoloa many times, each time for 30 days. High points are 80 ft saltwater pool & quiet location. If you rent from Waikoloa Realty, you will find Peggy Kruithof is an excellent manager. This is older property so very well constructed, but units vary depending on whether current owners have updated appliances/furniture/electronics. Waikoloa gives you great access to the best beach on the island- Hapuna- but a 45 min drive to primo snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach Park. All in all- a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

My husband and I got married last week on the beach in Kona. We, and six others in our wedding, party stayed at the Vista Waikoloa condos. I selected this property and everyone who stayed there thanked me for making such a fantastic choice. We stayed in C-103 - it was absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous view of the pool. The others stayed in D-202 and B-301.

They even let us use their barbeque pavilion for our reception! No charge. Herb, the property manager, was very helpful as were the ladies who run the office. Our stay could not have been more wonderful. So close to everything - beach, shops, great yoga on the beach through "Ocean Sports" try the aqua hula - super fun! We stayed for 1 night at the Waikoloa Hilton and we thought the condos were much more luxurious - although you can't beat the grounds at the Hilton - worth a visit to look around.

We plan on returning as often as we can to the Vista Waikoloa condos - they just can't be beat.
-Ann & Craig

Room Tip: C-103 juswt beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthKohala, Manager at Vista Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Congratulations on your wedding Ann. We are so pleased that the Vista was a comfortable and luxurious location for you and your wedding guests. It's great to let everyone know that you don't have to be a hotel guest to enjoy all the beautiful sights and activities that our local hotels have to offer. The Vista condominiums are just a short walk across the street to the Hilton Waikoloa and can offer much more space and privacy than a hotel room and for a better price! We hope to host you again for an anniversary in the future. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 5 days in June in a two-bedroom condo at the Vista and had a great time. Raves to the staff who were always extremely helpful and gave great travel advice. It has a great location -- right across the street from one of Hawaii's best beaches and convenient to shopping, restaurants, etc. We had a great time. The units are super clean and you can use the photos on their Web site to pick one that matches your needs.

A word of advice -- DO NOT use their corporate discount to rent from Dollar. We had a horrible experience. To make a long story short, they refused to give us the size car we were promised -- even though they had several on the lot -- and we ended up paying 30% more than what we were quoted. It would have been cheaper to rent with Enterprise or Alamo instead. Absolutely my last time renting with Dollar, Thrifty or Hertz, their owner.

Room Tip: Use the photos on their Web site to pick the one which matches your tastes and needs. Rooms next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teric0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthKohala, Front Office Manager at Vista Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you Teric0 for your review. South Kohala Management has over 20 vacation rental units at the Vista Waikoloa for travelers to chose from and an on-site office open 7 days a week to personally serve our guests. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our local expertise and travel tips. I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience with Dollar rent-a-car. We have forwarded your comments on to the Dollar general manager for review. Mahalo and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were very pleased with our recent one week stay in unit B202. We found this unit to be very clean and quite spacious. My husband and I shared the large master suite and our friend was very comfortable in the second bedroom and had the second bathroom all to himself. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook complete meals. The lanai was huge and all the furniture - indoor and out was both attractive and comfortable. We found the location of this condo excellent with nice shops and restaurants within easy walking distance and the highway access was also close by. We also appreciated the amenities that came with the apartment including boogie boards, beach chairs and noodles. Having the pool close by was a bonus. It would have been nice to have WiFi and beach towels - but those are rather minor issues. Another amenity that we took advantage of was the large common area with very nice gas barbeques - as we had travelled for a wedding and had friends in this and other condos - it became an important gathering place for meals. We recommend this property.

Room Tip: The entire Vista Waikoloa property looks very nice from the outside but we understand from friends t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
2.2 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.4 km away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#9 of 13 in Waikoloa
248 reviews
10.3 km away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#2 of 13 in Waikoloa
826 reviews
4.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Waikoloa

Address: 69-1010 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: $327 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Waikoloa is centrally located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort and offers spacious condominiums with fairway and ocean views of beautiful Anaeho'omalu Bay. Enjoy easy walking access to shops and restaurants at the Kings' Shops and Queen's Marketplace. All guests have free use of the Vista Waikoloa Recreation Center which includes a heated lap pool, two hot tubs, a large pavilion with gas BBQ's, a business center with WIFI and a fitness room. The check-in office is located on-site open 7 days a week with staff to personally greet you when you arrive. In terms of value, location and quality, the Vista is an excellent choice for your next stay at the Waikoloa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Vista Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing