We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
914
402
106
66
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
402
106
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slideslazy riveracross the streetpool areasandy bottomhigh end appliancesoasis restauranttop of the linethe kitchenmountain viewpool staffkauai exclusive managementwasher dryerocean frontcleaning feethrough vrboparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
1,013 - 1,018 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

You will not be disappointed staying at the Waipouli Beach Resort. We had a one-bedroom unit on the ground floor with a private little grassy area. The unit had high end amenities and was well cared for. You can walk to Safeway and Starbucks and many great restaurants but the best restaurant was the Oasis on the Beach right at the resort. It's not a kids restaurant but all food is served tapas style and 99% is local food. Happy hour every day and music on Wednesdays.
We didn't have kids with us but the pool and the beach will keep kids happy. It's not a swimming beach but there's plenty of sand to play on and to sit by to read a book. Our one bedroom unit (G107) was rented from the owner and the cost would have been the same for a hotel room but without all of the space and amenities. The concierges were knowledgeable and very eager to help.
The location of Kapaa was great because you could get to the north and south shore easily and the airport is only 15-20 minutes away. The town is much more laid back than Poipu and there is plenty "island" shopping.
I definitely recommend this resort to anyone visiting Kauai.

Room Tip: If you are going to be gone all day, don't worry about the cost of an oceanview. The ocean is just steps away for sunrise viewing and to enjoy in the evening. If you don't want to cook breakfast, walk to Bobby V's (one block to south) for their $7.99 all you can eat breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HarvestMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I am originally from kauai and have stayed at many of the hotels here and this is one of the best on the island to me and one of the best in general (we travel a lot) We stay here every time we come home to visit in the 2 bedroom unit
The rooms are new with top of the line stainless steel appliances, a full kitchen with everything you need, washer dryer, 3 Tvs with Dvds, nice decor, comfy beds
3 lanais to enjoy the fresh island air. The Pool area is also very nice with 2 hot tubs, waterside and the ocean is just steps away. Also this is hotel is very conveniantly located across from restraints, grocery stores etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tennisfamily808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We couldn't have been more delighted when we walked into our third floor condo at The Waipouli Beach Resort. The two bedroom condo with the large, fully-equipped kitchen was more than adequate. Unlike a lot of condos on Hawaii which are "well used," this property is newer and therefore cleaner with state- of- the- art appliances, granite counter tops, well-appointed furniture, comfortable beds and a nice lanai which made a great location for breakfasts and dinners (when we cooked in!). The pool area is delightful with a meandering river stream and two great water slides that adults as well as children will love. We had no problem with the pool police and were cheerfully given towels.
The resort is very centrally located. Shop at Costco for the best prices. Prices at Safeway are very high.
I would agree with the previous reviewers that the only complaint we had was with the inconsistency of housekeeping services. One day we would get new towels and then for the next couple of days we would have to ask. One day we would get a renewed supply of shampoo, and then it would be four or five days before we would get any more.
We booked this resort through a Hawaiian Airlines vacation package. We would definitely return to this property.
A real plus for this resort is its central location. We could drive for a hike in Waimea Canyon one day, ride bikes along the Coconut Coast the next, go gallery shopping in Hanapepe the next, and snorkel at Tunnels Beach the next.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a condo on either the third or fourth floor. Be sure to ask for an oceanfront room. We had a condo in building "G" which has each unit facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I recently stayed here with my husband for 1 week in a 1 bedroom, 2 bath garden view condo. The condo was probably one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. Everything was top notch! We really enjoyed our stay and loved the location. It's right across from the grocery store, drug store, ABC, and many shops and restaurants. Plus it's a nice drive to either the north or south. The beach is not swimmable, but the pool area is amazing! It never felt crowded and you don't have to worry about saving a chair early in the morning. If you wake up early, you can catch a beautiful sunrise on the beach. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyss_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The resort was in a great location on the east side of the island near Kapaa. The beach views were awesome! The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable, all the comforts of home. The pool was very nice, even though the towel ladies tried to act like lifeguards, strictly enforcing pool rules to the extent that patrons young and old were very frustrated. The bar/grill by the pool was not owned by Outrigger; the service there was outstanding but the prices were outrageously high.
Housekeeping staff was average, at best. Our room was not vacuumed once in the 13 days we were there. They tried to do the bare minimum each and every time we observed their performance.They forgot to give us dish towels on two occasions. They weren't overly friendly and didn't seem appreciative that we were guests of the hotel, essentially helping pay their salary. The day we checked out we discovered several roaches in the room.The front desk staff was not very considerate when we asked for a late checkout. They wouldn't even grant us one hour; but they would be happy to extend our checkout until 6PM for ONLY $125. That's not customer friendly.
Overall, for the price we paid, I expected more, especially from the staff. I can't justify rating this place higher just based on the views.We would probably consider staying there again, but I would definitely shop around for a similar view with a more competitive price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipper1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews