We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveller rating
906
399
106
65
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
399
106
65
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slideslazy riveracross the streetpool areasandy bottomhigh end appliancesoasis restauranttop of the linethe kitchenmountain viewpool staffkauai exclusive managementwasher dryerocean frontthrough vrbocleaning feeparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
1,302 - 1,307 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Thank you Vadim and Mike for letting us use your 5 star condo! We found your home to be beautiful and luxurious in every way. The master bedroom is very large, the bathroom is HUGE and very thoughtfully laid out (two people can use it, in private, at the same time), a very pleasant den/eating area, a full size washer and dryer, two lanais, and a kitchen that sports the finest appliances available (my wife loves to cook...and is still talking about how much she loved your kitchen - and what we now need to change in our own!). Not surprisingly, we found the resort to be on par with your home...very helpful employees who seemed to relish their jobs. From the guys who helped our nine year old feed the Koi, to the Shave Ice gal, to the groundskeepers, everyone helped make our stay extremely pleasurable. As an added bonus, the resort is centrally located - and there is a Safeway right across the street!

In addition to Kauai, we also spent time on Maui and the Big Island. While each has its own special features, by far our favorite island was Kauai. We visited a half dozen different beaches, plus Koke'e State Park and the Smith Family Luau - and each evening looked forward to returning to H-305. Enjoying a home cooked dinner while sitting on your lanai, feeling the gentle breeze and listening to the ocean's waves was heavenly.

Many, many thanks - and warm Mahalo,
Dave & Alyson

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davej147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed in a 2 BR for one week last summer and the location cannot be beat. It is close to the airport (15-20 minutes, max) but far enough that you aren't going to hear noise from the airport. There is a large strip-mall/grocery store and a few restaraunts across the street from the resort. The condos are huge, beautiful and immaculately kept. We had a minor problem with our dishwasher which was fixed in just a few hours. The pool area is excellent and while the beach isn't great, we were able to swim a bit in July and play in the waves (there are numerous public beaches a short drive away (<5 minutes). But honestly, don't stay here if you want to trip out your door onto a big sprawling beach. The location is ideal because you can easily drive around the island north to the princeville area in 45 mins or so or south to Waimea Canyon in 90 minutes or so (it's been awhile, google it and check), but the bottom line is that you can easily survey the island and see all the major sites and always make it back to your comfy big condo without any hassle. If you do not plan on renting a car, I wouldn't stay here, though simply because you'd be missing out on too much as the city of Waipouli is nice, but not an extended stay and play type of area. If we go back to Kauai, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boo3435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We booked our stay here after comparing the rates from some of the other resorts on the island. Going with another couple this seemed ideal since it was a condo instead of a typical hotel room. From the moment we walked into the lobby and saw the coy pond we were in love. As we walked into our condo we were all even more impressed. The decor was beautiful! We had a garden view but we had a view of fthe mountain and could see the clouds drift over it and that was fine with us. Both bathrooms were HUGE and had a seperate tub and shower. The beds were very comfortable. And we all enjoyed the high end appliances in the kitchen. We took advantage of the kitchen by eating breakfast at the condo each morning. There is a grocery store across the street from the resort. There is also a Starbucks and a Coffee Beanery there too for those who need thier latte's in the morning like me.

The pool is beautiful. There are slides for the kids and waterfalls all over. There are 3 spas around the pool area...all sand bottom which was heaven on your feet after being on the beach all day. Sitting in them at night with the torches it was so relaxing.

The resort does have a restaurant. It's serves more bar food type items, like sandwhiches and appitizers, but the food was good. Service is a bit slow but it's the island so that was expected but coming from a big city it took a little getting used to...we noticed it was that way all over the island. The restaraunt patio overlooks the ocean. It was wonderful to sit there and listen to the live music and watch the waves. On our vist a hawiian munk seal was on the beach so we got to see one up close...well as close as the volunteer would let us. They say the beach right here is not a good place for swimming though but you can sit there in a lounge chair and relax all you want.

We stayed for a total of 7 days and were so sad when it was time to pack up and go home. I highly recomment this resort. It was quiet and was just what we needed before we headed back to life in the ciy. :) Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csquared123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed the first week in June in Oceanfront A304 -- if I'm remembering the number correctly. I know other reviewers got great rates through vrbo, but we booked through AAA and were very happy with the deal. Every third night was free -- we stayed 6 nights, so two nights free. Also, no booking or cleaning fees to pay. Regardless of how you book it, the property is beautiful. We would caution to try hard not to get a unit that would be too close to the Kuhio hwy and all the Kapaa traffic going by. Of course "traffic" is relative -- nothing like we have in SoCal!
The units are large, air conditioned (not all are on Kauai), and have top grade appliances, etc. We scarcely turned a tv on and never used the stove! Too many great restaurants and things to do. A little gem close to the condos is King & I Thai food, tucked into the Waipouli plaza. Order the Evil Jungle Prince -- a spicy coconut sauce really makes the dish. And Kauai had the best pancakes I've ever eaten -- especially at Kountry Kitchen in Kapaa. I had to buy a bottle of coconut syrup and unwittingly stuck it in my carry-on. Of course, it got confiscated at airport security, so no syrup for me!
One last caveat about the Waipouli Beach Resort. Since it is right in town, you don't quite get that "away from it all" feeling that you would have in a more remote spot. That being said, it's the perfect location from which to explore the rest of the island. Nothing is too far away. You can take towels from the pool area to the beach, but be sure to return the exact number you take back to the pool. They count, and will charge $25 or something if you are short a towel! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JulieDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day honeymoon at beautiful Waipouli resort and we are already missing it! Kauai is the most beautiful place we have ever been!

Condo: The condo H305 was amazing! The owners have put extra time and effort into decorating their condo and it is a step above the rest. DO NOT book through the resort!!! We found this condo on VRBO for half what it would have cost if you booked it directly through the resort! These owners are awesome to work with. When we got there we realized there was not a blender (it was broken by previous renters). I emailed the owners and they had someone bring us a new blender within a day! They also gave us a honeymoon discount:)

Resort/Location: The pool is wonderful at the resort! There is a winding lazy river along that connects to a huge pool with two waterslides. There were children at the resort but the pool area is so large you can find a spot to be alone if you wish but we had no problem with them. One concern I noticed in previous reviews was the locals. We were at the pool all day on Saturday and did not find this to be a problem at all. The location is perfect because it is on the east shore and you can get to the north and the south side of the island quickly and easily. There is also a Safeway grocery store directly across the street that we shopped at for breakfast and lunch stuff (be prepared for sticker shock! Hawaii is much more expensive than the mainland). Get a Safeway card when you first get there and you can get some deals.

Must See/Do: Ke'e Beach on the north shore was beautiful be get there early because it gets busy! Tunnels Beach on the north shore had great snorkeling. We were not impressed with Poipu beach on the south shore. It was much too crowded and the snorkeling was not that great. The Waimea Canyon was beautiful and a must see! Go all the way to the end of the road... there is a beautiful lookout! We did Smith's luau and enjoyed it. Captain Andy's rafting tour of the Na Pali coast was one of our favorite things about our trip! Definitely a must do!!! We also had a great time at Queens bath swimming and snorkeling... wear appropriate shoes though. You have a short but steep hike and I slipped wearing flip flops!

Food: We only ate dinner out but here are a few recommendations. Kauai pasta - Very inexpensive, large portions, very good! Scotty's BBQ - Beautiful oceanfront dining. Great BBQ. Large enough portions to split a meal! Hiltons king crab buffet - On Friday and Saturday nights the Hilton has an all you can eat king crab buffet for $39 a person. You could also order sushi from the waitress that was also included in the buffet price. I definitely recommend this!!! My favorite restaurant was the Tahiti Nui on the north shore. It is a small family owned restaurant but they have live music every night and great food! Also, the bar and grill at the resort was really good oceanfront dining or they would serve you at the pool if you wanted!

If your considering Kauai go for it and book through VRBO! We have been back almost a week and we are still feeling homesick for our condo in Kauai!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ljrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews